We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time at La Fontana and looking forward to going back” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Fontana

La Fontana
39/7-8 Ratchamanka Rd., Muang, Chiang Mai, Thailand
+66 (0)53-283824
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #147 of 1,244 Restaurants in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai, Thailand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“First time at La Fontana and looking forward to going back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I had dinner last night here for the first time...even though I've been living in Chiang Mai for more than 2 years.

The restaurant is located on a fairly quiet street almost right in the center of Chiang Mai. The decor and atmosphere is very nice...relaxing and comfortable. The two-person staff was very friendly and courteous.

I ordered a chicken salad to start and cordon bleu with mash for dinner. The chicken salad was superb...a very nice mix of lettuce and olives and herbs and chicken slices along with a light Dijon-like salad dressing. The salad was absolutely delicious and highly recommended!

The cordon bleu was good but not great. It could have been heated up a little bit more to fully melt the cheese inside, but again it was good. The cream sauce was excellent (not too salty like many sauces that come with cordon bleu) but there was not enough of it for me. And the mashed potatoes were yummy.

I definitely want to go back...if just for another chicken salad! But there are other menu items that I also want to try!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    43
    10
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Great pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Fancied a change from Thai food on our three week tour of the country and found this place in our Lonely Planet guide book. Very good pizza, good size and generous toppings. The prices were reasonable and staff friendly. The restaurant is located in a busy area so it's hard not to miss. Good italian food done well, would recommend.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldendale, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Thoroughly Enjoyable Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I try to visit Chiang Mai each year and always join my two ex-pat friends at their favorite restaurant. The management is very personable, the menu enticing, and the food and service is great. I normally select an appetizer, a pasta dish, and something sweet accompanied with coffee. A glass of red wine is a great compliment to everything. Not cheap, but reasonably priced. I love Thai food, but this is my dinner exception. Recommend giving La Fontana a try.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Delivery through mealsonwheels4u.com”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Fantastic pizzas, nice crisp base generous toppings. Garlic bread 4 slices barely garlicky. Delivered piping hot to our hotel room door after a long day in Mae Rim.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Expect To Leave Hungry”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We came here based on the excellent reviews and were looking forward to dinner. The restaurant has a lovely setting and the service is excellent. We ordered osso bucco, pork involtine, canneloni and ravioli. The meals were very nice with good flavours but the portion size was on the extremely small side. The ravioli was served with six pieces (not the large ravioli) and what I would say is entree size. The osso bucco was the only dish that seemed to be filling. I did mention this to (I believe) the owner and he graciously offered to take the ravioli off the bill. I didn't have a problem with anything but the portion size so declined his offer. Maybe we should have just stuck with the pizza?! Needless to say, we went elsewhere after having some expensive entrees.....

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Fontana also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to La Fontana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Fontana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.