We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has-been resort” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Baan Thai Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Baan Thai Resort to your Saves list
Baan Thai Resort
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   41 / 9 See Ping Muang Rd., Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #303 of 502 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Has-been resort”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at Baan Thai Resort for 3 nights, room was OK although a little old fashioned. Pictures are outdated, it's not that great.

"Restaurant" was a real disappointment, even for serving breakfast it was below what we expected. There were tables at one end of the room and nothing at the other end. No decoration and toilets broken. Needs a big renovation.

Room was good, clean and staff members were friendly.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    1
    4
    6
    1
See reviews for
3
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Montreux, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

1- Promotional pictures are misleading
2- Installation in a bad shape; no comfort at all
3- Management kind & helpful (as the whole staff indeed), but totally incompetent
4- Breakfast not even poor - but just crazy
5- Price: cheep, but still to much!!!

Room Tip: We visited 3 rooms and finally decided to take a suite (was it really a suite???). We left the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

The promotional pictures of this 'resort' are very misleading and were surely taken years ago. This place is not a resort, it's more akin to a nice backpackers hostel. The old wooden buildings creak in pain at having been neglected for so long and the place very much has an overall feeling of somewhere that has rather been overlooked for years by management.

The staff are friendly enough and they do clean the rooms and provide clean linen, but that is just what you would expect, it's certainly not a 'plus point', yet for this tired old guest house, that does indeed count as a plus point.

It's far from the centre of town or anything you might like to see, yuk tusk and taxis becoming a significant expense if you want to go out and about. The pool is small, and the little garden probably dreams of one day meeting a good gardener!

I write fair reviews (you can check) but one needs to be fair, and in fairness you can get a whole lot better for a lot less money. If you're looking for a 'resort' then keep looking because you haven't found it yet!

Room Tip: If you don't mind being in a crap part of town a long way from everything you came to see, then...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

We stayed at the Baan Thai Resort at the end of October 2014 for five nights and regretted it from day one. First of all, the place is really out of the way, not central at all. TukTuks and Taxis mostly do not know the place and therefore charge double the price as it normally would cost. The Resort itself does not deserve the name "Resort" nor the three stars ***. The Teak Buildings must have been beautiful in the past, but have not been maintained properly and are now rather sad looking and in desperate need of renovation. We stayed in one of the villas which on the positive side was really roomy and airy with high ceilings and well functioning air-conditioning. However the bathroom was disgusting and outdated, with the shower curtain and tiles covered in mould . The floor was not tiled at all but concrete with the paint flaking all over thee place. Again on the positive: the room was cleaned daily, fresh towels and bottled water were provided. The breakfast is not worth having, there is no buffet and no option at all: one gets a plate with one fried egg, a little bacon, 2 pieces of Toast and some jam - no fruit juice - no option how you want to egg - take it or leave it. Then there is either Instant Coffee or Tea. However the staff was mostly friendly and helpful.

The gardens could be really nice with some maintenance, but unfortunately is also looking sad and neglected. There was a pile of rubble laying in front of our villa, looking very untidy, no one bothered to clean is up, even as it would have taken just five minutes to do.

Overall the place is not value for money, there are much better accommodation options available more centrally for less than half the money than we paid at the Baan Thai Resort.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

I stayed here for 5 nights with a friend.

Staff were friendly and eager to help, although English wasn't excellent (but we are in Thailand)!

Little coffee shop onsite was nice and the garden/ pool is nice also.

The building is teak wood and is quite dark but the room is nice and spacious for two people. The bathroom was good although our shower drain got a little blocked so the water took some time to drain away.

Bottled water was replenished each time we wanted our room serviced (eventually we had collected 8 bottles of water :-s)!

The only thing bad thing i would really say is that it is a bit far from the city by foot HOWEVER after speaking to some locals, we found out that a tuktuk should only cost between 40-60bht to the city even though they try to charge 100bht!

Stick to your guns when bartering with the tuktuks and if they still want to charge a high price then it is best to just wait for another tuktuk. I cannot give advice for the red songthaews which are around as we didnt get many of those but I am aware that they are more expensive than tuktuks.

After a couple of days we rented a motorbike and could drive to the city or night bazaar in 5minutes.
Baan Thai do offer a motorbike rental (which we didnt realise till the last day) which is run by an eldery English gentleman who is willing to offer good deals as his business doesnt get as many customers as it could with it being out of the way of all the hustle and bustle... So give him a chance :)!

I would stay here again and I would recommend it to others as long as they were aware of the tuktuk prices or rented a motorbike!



Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

we stayed here for one night and it was enough. I couldn't wait to leave this room in the morning. The room is wooden and it looks really old and not so pleasant. Everything that is not wooden, wasn't clean (refrigerator, telephone, electrical outlets,sink). The bathroom is together with toilet and there isn't any separation, so when you washing yourself, the water wets everything (toilet paper , toilet..). And the last surprise was the blockage in the shower. We don't recommend this hotel to anyone! Not a value for the money.

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

We stayed for two nights at Baan Thai Resort, which is a relatively quiet place amidst hectic Chiang Mai. Our rooms were big enough, with good bed and clean. I would recommend new bedding as the blankets make an unclean impression.
This hotel has been taken over by new management, it used to be called Rean Thai Resort (with less positive reviews), but we think Baan Thai Resort deserves the good reviews it gets. Breakfast (american) is a bit simple for 100 Baht, but it's not included so you can choose to eat somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Baan Thai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Thai Resort

Address: 41 / 9 See Ping Muang Rd., Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #303 of 502 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Baan Thai Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Big fun! Little price! Located near the famous Chiang Mai Saturday Walking Street and the Old City, Baan Thai Resort is a beautiful historic Thai style resort. Within lie a large private garden, unique wooden houses, a romantic cafe and swimming pool. With a perfect laid-back atmosphere, Baan Thai resort is an ideal place for travellers to hang out and explore Chiang Mai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Venere, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Baan Thai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baan Thai Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.