We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, service, and price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Prego Restaurant

Prego Restaurant
15/3 Sripoom Rd, Soi 1 | Muang, Chiang Mai, Thailand
+66 81 8827466
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #135 of 1,287 restaurants in Chiang Mai
Price range: $2 - $7
Cuisines: Italian, Thai, Vegetarian, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Grecia, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food, service, and price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

After having eaten nothing but Thai food for the past week, I was ready for some Italian. I had a delicious vegetarian pizza at Prego. It wasn't greasy or oily, but perfectly crunchy and flavorful. My daughter had the ravioli which she loved, and my wife adored her cashew rice pineapple dish (can't remember what it's called). For dessert, we had the chocolate mousse which was heavenly. The atmosphere was great, and the staff was attentive. All around wonderful experience.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    90
    29
    15
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I went there with my family. It is a nice little restaurant in a quiet street midtown. The staff speaks english and the restaurant only has a few tables - cool jazz music in the background.
Regarding the food everything we ordered was excellent. We had linguine with claims and prawns in a white wine sauce, Lasagne with bolognese sauce, rigatoni with home made pesto and another noodle dish with prawns. Everything came with parmesan and a very fluffy white bread. With several drinks and 2 desserts we paid 1500 Baht for four, which was really good value for money.
We will definetely go there again to try the pizza….

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Never Disappoints”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I have just returned home from a month in Thailand and 2 weeks in Chiang Mai. I ate most nights at Prego Restaurant. The food never disappoints. The Massaman Chicken is the best I have ever eaten and the new dish Banana Flower Salad is just awesome. Wee and his staff are fantastic hosts and you will go a long way to get better Thai and Italian Food.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Nice mix of Thai and Italian menus, with super owner and host Wee.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Tucked away in narrow soi off the moat road this is a gem of a place serving an extensive array of both Italian and Thai food. Mine host Wee will meet and greet and ensure you are looked after by his lovely staff.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We came across this place after having a massage by the blind(located 2 doors up on the same side) and wow what a fantastic venue, the quality of the food was amazing the staff so helpful and most important the beer was cold :) Well worth every cent and highly recommend you visit here.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prego Restaurant also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Prego Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prego Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.