We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must see in Chiangmai!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Baan Tawai Village

Baan Tawai Village
90 Moo 2, Baan Tawai Village | Khun Khong, Chiang Mai 50230, Thailand
66-(0)81-882-4882
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 79 Shopping in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 stars 55 Reviews
Type: Other, Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Just about an hour outside of Chiang Mai, in Hangdong District, is Baan Tawai village, a community known for its wood sculptures. Visitors can take a look around at markets and interact with wood carvers. Crafts are available for purchase.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A must see in Chiangmai!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Super amazing !! A little overwhelming with the amount of items to look at . We only spent a few hours shopping .. You would need a full two days to visit all the zones ! Everyone was very friendly and cafes were great ! Wish we would if spent the whole day there !! Next time !

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    21
    10
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Amazing craft work and carvings - need bigger suitcases!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Some of the wood carving is truly amazing and well worth seeing, even though the items are much too big and/or delicate to put in your case and take home.
Also worth looking at Noi's Place on the way into Baan Tawai for incredible metal sculptures.
There are smaller items too, and we thought the prices were good - best bargains here, as in the Sunday Market, seem to be where the prices are actually marked. Very little pestering by the shop-holders at Baan Tawai, so you can just say hello and look around.
There are really too many stalls and shops to walk around, we just walked until our feet were too hot to carry on!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai, Thailand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Home Furnishings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

The best selection on anything and everything you might need to furnish a home as well as gifts both large and small.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
64 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
“Good place to shop for home decor, wished we had more time!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We did a quick stop at Baan Tawai on the same day when we did our trip to Doi Inthanon. The place is huge, made up of few sois (lanes). Almost anything you can think made of wood can be found there, from small home decor pieces to big furniture items.

Unfortauntely we arrived after 4pm, shops are supposed to close at 5pm but we noted some close past 5pm. Wished we had more time there!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“A bit too much mass-produced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We had a look around Baan Tawai village after a day out at Doi Inthanon National Park, to the south-west of Chiang Mai. I think our expectations were misguided, because we were slightly disappointed. Maybe it was naive, but we were hoping for small shops selling a range of handmade goods in a village that had grown around an industry of the woodworking art.

We found instead a touristy town of undercover markets, each selling the kind of mass-produced small items - elephants, back-scratchers, cloth bags etc - that you can find anywhere in Thailand. There were many of these under-cover areas, and I think you can find better products, but outside these markets.

If you have the time to wander a bit, there are more individual shops and we did see some lovely larger pieces. We would have loved to buy a set of the little chairs and table that you find in many Thai cafes but decided the shipping cost would be too much. Maybe next time... If you know what you are looking for in furniture, and have researched whether the timber goods would last in your climate back home, it is probably well worth a visit, but not for the vast number of small, touristy souvenirs that you will find here as well.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baan Tawai Village also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Baan Tawai Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baan Tawai Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.