We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool spot to rest your body” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lux Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chiang Mai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lux Hotel
Save
You added Lux Hotel to your Saves list
137/5 Moonmuang Rd, Chiang Mai 50200 , Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #72 of 330 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai, Thailand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Cool spot to rest your body”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

The Lux has a delightful staff, is located just a bit north of TaPae Gate in old Chiang Mai. Its quiet, has nice rooms.... a bargain. I put visiting friends there for about a week so I got to know it fairly well. Bookings in Chiang Mai are very tight during the high season but we managed to get them accomodated. My friends were able to check in and out as they took overnight trips to other cities and the staff carefully coordinated that.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    30
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
19
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Victoria BC Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

This place is fairly new and the rooms are clean and big. They have more surface space for those like us who like to lay all their stuff out in sight. Screen pation door is nice and front desk helpful and friendly. No monthly rate though. Daily rates are competitive.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

This place is a hidden gem as it is not listed on the usual websites (Agoda, Booking.com) and so we found it by walking by and noticing it was well located, but set away from the main street. It is basically located just off the north east inner moat road, just north of Kafe and Elvis' diner.

Room was fairly spacious with a large comfortable (but firm) bed, fluffy pillows, large fridge, sofa, and adequate storage space. TV works fine with a fair assortment of English-language channels. Bathroom was clean with a spacious shower. Wifi worked well throughout our stay. At first, we though the hot water wasn't hot enough, until we discovered that if we decreased the water pressure, the water would be hotter coming out of the showerhead. So, you lose on shower pressure, but you get a much hotter shower. A/C works well, and is quiet.

Location is excellent: walking distance to Riverside and the Night Bazaar, in the heart of the busiest part of the old city (which is the east/centre part of the area). Staff didn't seem friendly at first, but we realized the girl who checked us in was always working (morning, noon, night) - she must have been exhausted!

We wished we would have stayed here our entire time in Chiang Mai - it will be on our list for next time. At 700 Baht/night (no breakfast), we were very happy with the quality and location.

Since you can't find them on the hotel booking sites, here is their website: http://www.luxhotelchiangmai.com/

Room Tip: Our room was quiet - 211 - and although there was no view from the balcony, since it was facing anot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

I have stayed in many different hotels in Chiang Mai. I was recently introduced to the
Lux Hotel. The room was moderately appointed but there was a flat screen tv, refrigerator
and very adequate wifi. The location couldn't have been better. Inside the old wall
and a 2 minute walk to the Thapei gate enterence to the walled city. It is also close to
Rashadamnoem Road where the Sunday night market is held. My only negative
thoughts about this great budget hotel is the quality of coffee served in the morning.
The usual buffet breakfast is missing replaced by instant coffee and cookies. On the
flip side of this is that the area has many great coffee shops in the area. One real
delightful coffee shop is around the corner from the Lux. Ponganes Espresso served
up a great cup of coffee brewed from Chiang Mai beans roasted on premises.

To sum up; the Lux hotel is a great place to stay if you don't need a swimming pool
or gym. The fact that breakfast isn't served is an incentive to get out of the hotel and
start your day early.

Room Tip: I stayed in 2 different rooms and visited my friend in his. They are all similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

This hotel is great for a quick few night stay in Chiang Mai. It is not too far from the airport and only cost us 50 baht p/per in a song taew.

The rooms are clean and well kept. Hot showers, tv, aircon, balcony. The air conditioning was actually so cold that we had to set it to 25. The location is great as there are many restaurant options right outside your door. It was also not expensive to get to the Sunday market in a song taew which come by regularly.

We were able to book Aya service to Pai with the receptionist even though they didn't seem too eager to help.

We were asked to leave our key card at the front desk each time we left the hotel which was troublesome as they do not have a safe in the room for important documents/money. Be sure to keep your things with you when you leave the hotel.

Overall this was a good place to set up for a night or two before continuing on our travels in the North.

Room Tip: They have an elevator to get up to the top floors. Any room is a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We arrived at the Lux hotel greeted by a rude receptionist. Air conditioning was not working and when we informed the receptionist she did not even look up from the desk. Rooms are very basic. No safe to keep passport and mones. We were on a volunteer programme and we felt very unsafe and not welcome. Please be aware when booking this hotel it describes itself as a luxury hotel it is far removed from luxury.

Room Tip: Don't use it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed here for several months in 2013, central location within city moat near Ta Pae gate. Some noise, as you'd expect in the heart of town, but easy to get used to. Rooms very functional,attentive staff, good value. Recommended. Parking down Nader.

For some reason the staff stopped responding to emails beginning June 2013.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lux Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lux Hotel

Address: 137/5 Moonmuang Rd, Chiang Mai 50200 , Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 330 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Number of rooms: 44

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lux Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.