We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“consistently delicious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tianzi Tea House and Garden

Tianzi Tea House and Garden
119/1 Kampangdin Road, Chiang Mai, Thailand
Improve this listing
Ranked #454 of 1,288 restaurants in Chiang Mai
Cuisines: Vegetarian
Description: We found out about this place from brochure printed about dining in Chiang Mai
Restaurant details
Description: We found out about this place from brochure printed about dining in Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“consistently delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

I am a regular here, non vegetarian, but I just love the food here. The service is great, the surroundings are beautiful, and the staff a really nice. It's slow food and a laid back atmosphere. The food is consistently excellent, really tasty, nutritious and prepared well. I recommend this place highly of all vegetarian restaurants in CM.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    17
    4
    1
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Berlin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Diarrhea ”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Don't go there. I was here the first time and It is the first time that I had a really bad diarrhea in Thailand after month. After I told a friend, He said that he had the same after eating there. The food was tasty so..

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
All Over The Place :)
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Top Quality Healthy Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

I love this place. The quality is exceptional, the food is tasty and unique. I want to hire this chef! The food is consistently great - not something I can say for any of the other places I eat in Chiang Mai on a regular basis. My favorites are the squash soup and the brown rice salad, -- but then there's the grilled tofu with fresh carrots and the super-fresh high-quality salads. Whoever the chef is at Tianzi please come and work for me! :)

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Relaxing Veggie delight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Tea house was peaceful & serene with beautiful plants & comfortable seating (lounge pads). Per the other reviews-- it is a bit buggy, but shouldn't deter you as it's worth a visit.

We started with the Orchid Tea - pretty nice. And , we tried to order the vegetable dumplings & Papaya salad, but they were out.. Fail.

So, we ordered the Root Beet Salad, hash browns, spiced lentils & brown noodles with vegetables.

Beet salad was refreshing.
Hash browns were nice, but quite oily.
Spiced lentils were delicious with finely minced finger.
Brown noodles were awesome.

If we were to visit again I'd like to try the traditional tea ceremony & the veggie dumplings.

Overall, a tasty experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Veggie nirvana in Chiang Mai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We've just come back from a wonderful dinner at Tianzi this evening. We arrived late (9.25pm - it closes at 10pm) so had the place to ourselves. We sat outside, on the raised platform in the garden - underneath a roof supported by four sturdy posts. Drip drops of rain and dark verdant plants surrounding us as we sat at the low table and awaited our food. It felt like being in a film set for a Tranh Anh Hung or Wong Kar Wai film.

Tianzi is an excellent place to try unusual teas - we tried a 15 year old puerh tea from Yunnan province in China (supposed to have excellent health benefits). The food was a marvel - supremely tasty Thai soup, two huge blocks of tofu marinaded in a thick miso glaze, broccoli, carrots and mushrooms accompanied by a gorgeous paste made from tahini and miso. For dessert, we had gluten free pancakes seared with honey. We're planning to go back tomorrow.

If you are vegetarian/vegan, you owe it to yourselves to go to Tianzi if you're planning a trip to Chiang Mai.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tianzi Tea House and Garden also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Tianzi Tea House and Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tianzi Tea House and Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.