We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet Pun Pun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pun Pun

Pun Pun
Suthep Road (Inside Wat Suan Dok) Is Open From 9:00am-4:00pm | Suthep Road (At the Base of Doi Suthep) Is Open From 10:00am-8:00pm, Chiang Mai, Thailand
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #213 of 1,466 Restaurants in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Is inside Wat Suan Dok but is open to all. The times we visited it seemed a lot of the resident foreigners knew about this place.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Sweet Pun Pun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Great place for breakfast and brunch - the shakes and mixed drinks are really delicious and the food is produced in an ethical manner/ organic/ Veggie/ local produce - Service was a bit slow but it was very very busy so I guess it's to be expected! Worth a try.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    22
    11
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Okinawa, Japan
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Good but wouldn't go back”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

It is amazing what they can do without using any meat and presentation of the dishes was gorgeous. We had the creamy & sour avocado salad and a noodle dish, a soy chai tea, and bananas in hot coconut milk. The tea was bland, the noodles were good but not great, the avocado salad was a bit too sour,and the bananas were just ok. We stumbled on this restaurant by accident after wandering around on back roads (a bit lost) looking for a house to rent. I had been planning to come here but didn't realize it was nearby until we happened upon it. This is OK but there really are other better vegetarian choices to be had in Chiang Mai.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Best vegetarian restaurant in Chiang Mai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

We have tried many vegetarian restaurants in Chiang Mai (and written about them here: http://www.neverendingvoyage.com/chiang-mai-vegetarian-restaurants/) and Pun Pun is still our favourite. The setting is lovely, menu extensive, food always delicious and beautifully presented, and it's one of the cheapest veggie restaurants in town. Don't miss it.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Nice food, shame about the rat infestation”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We went twice to Pun Pun. The first time we loved it: great atmosphere in a shady courtyard behind the temple, friendly staff, and a really interesting menu of veggie food. We ordered a lot and it was truly delicious.

We eagerly went back and only then noticed that the washing-up hut (the restaurant is open-air and there are two huts, one for cooking and one for washing up) is crawling with rats. Literally, We saw at least six, and the floor was strewn with rat droppings. As far as we could see no food was stored there, but all the clean pots and pans are, and we saw rats scurrying all over them. The staff are surely aware of this problem and are apparently untroubled by it, which makes me worry about their attitude to hygiene and cleanliness more generally.

Now we're realistic people, this is an essentially outdoor space in Thailand and a bit of wildlife is inevitable. But rat faeces everywhere? Rats scurrying over the cooking pans? Too much.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“only ate there”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

While we didn't actually stay here we did eat there and it was delicious!!! the portions were huge for the price. you can tell all dishes right down to the spring rolls were of homemade authentic cuisine. would recommend to anyone looking for a cute get away from the busy streets if chiang mai.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pun Pun also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Pun Pun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pun Pun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.