We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hit and miss” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Pun Pun

Pun Pun
Suthep Road (Inside Wat Suan Dok) Is Open From 9:00am-4:00pm | Suthep Road (At the Base of Doi Suthep) Is Open From 10:00am-8:00pm, Chiang Mai, Thailand
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #85 of 1,289 restaurants in Chiang Mai
Cuisines: Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: Is inside Wat Suan Dok but is open to all. The times we visited it seemed a lot of the resident foreigners knew about this place.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Hit and miss”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I am not a vegetarian, but I know enough about food that it should not taste burnt (stir-fried wide rice noodle with egg, tofu, mushroom, and vegetable) as if I were eating an ashtray. Also ordered the fiddlehead fern salad which was okay. The other miss was the homemade fermented mushroom sausage with garlic, lime, onion, and ginger. It sounds fancy...it's not. For the listed prices on the menu, most of the items aren't really worth it.

Check out the monk chat at the temple.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    70
    18
    7
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

They are good, have nice selection. Veggie burger is good and the place is comfortable to be at. They are nice and good salads too

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great spot for some vegetarian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

Perfectly situated behind a Temple under a beautiful tree. Simple and wholesome vegetarian food, small portions but absolutely delicious. Amazing value, you'll feel nourished leaving.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai, Thailand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The new Pun Pun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

There is a new Pun Pun, located at the very end of Suthep Rd (about 100 meters before going up the mountain road) on the left side of the street. Menu is the same, Pleasant atmosphere. It is also a cooking school, I understand. Definitely worth a try. The ambience of this newbie is perhaps a touch under Pun Pun by the Wat, yet worth a stop...

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“a bit out of the way but delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

This place has a lot of ambiance being located in a watt and all and around a bhodi tree, I went to about 15 vegetarian restaurants when I was in Chiang Mai and this was probably the best tasting food. It's very far from the old city, a full 40 minute walk, it's not open after 4, and the dishes are small compared to some other places. But! The food was very very good. I had deep fried spring rolls, pumpkin soup, and pineapple curry. Not a lot of places have pineapple curry. That was a plus. It's quite difficult to find on the grounds of the watt. I almost gave up, but I was starving from the walk. If you want to get out of the city a little, you should definitely go! I thought prices reasonable.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pun Pun also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Pun Pun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pun Pun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.