We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best restaurant in Chang Mai.....by FAR!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pun Pun

Pun Pun
Suthep Road (Inside Wat Suan Dok) Is Open From 9:00am-4:00pm | Suthep Road (At the Base of Doi Suthep) Is Open From 10:00am-8:00pm, Chiang Mai, Thailand
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #85 of 1,289 restaurants in Chiang Mai
Cuisines: Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: Is inside Wat Suan Dok but is open to all. The times we visited it seemed a lot of the resident foreigners knew about this place.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Chang Mai.....by FAR!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Excellent vegetarian restaurant behind the Suan Dok temple. Serene location, a huge variety of healthy and tempting food to satisfy everyone's tastes, and good for people watching, too. Fabulous!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    70
    18
    7
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Dined midday here yesterday- it was fabulous. The slower pace was easily outweighed by the amazing, fresh, and bright flavors. Creative uses and blends of spices make for some truly unique and memorable (delicious!) dishes. I'll be back for sure.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Organic Thai Vegetarian at its best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I eat here often and any guest who comes to visit me is always taken to Pun Pun. A simple cafe with out door seating around and under a huge tree is nice atmosphere and cool. It restaurant is behind "Monk Chat" sits toward the rear of Wat Suan Dok. Everything is fresh and sourced locally which can some times disappoint when they've finished something. The Salad Dok Mai (a lovely mixed green salad tossed with freshly fried eatable flowers) with the pumpkin dressing is sublime. Their Banana Flower salad is wonderful. I've never had anything I didn't enjoy.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California, USA
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Excellent respite INSIDE grounds if WAT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

We had a bitif a time finding this cafe but it was worth it. Delicious and fresh, this organic vegetarian restaurant is an outdoor cafe. They have opened a second more traditional restaurant but we didn't go. These salads and curry were possibly the best food we've had in Thailand! Great on a hot day (especially if you like to avoid AC) as you sit under a canopy of trees.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing Thai food behind Wat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This is about Pun Pun situated behind Wat Suan Dok. You need to walk to the back of the wat, past "monk chat" and then turn right where all the bikes are parked. Its a bit off the beaten track but so worth it!! The food is amazing! My wife and I are not vegetarian but anyone could cheerfully turn vegetarian with this amazing food!
They use foods that are in season so the food is always fresh. We have visited a number of times and never been disappointed. Its good to be adventurous and try something that maybe doesnt sound familiar- you definitely wont be disappointed! The prices are about 50BT a dish and the drinks are really interesting as well.
The setting is outside, so it can be a bit hot and obviously no a/c. The seating and tables are basic (wooden) so if you are wanting comfort then it is not the place to go. (Need to check if they are stable as some seemed a bit wobbly!) They are arranged around a huge tree. The restrooms just around the corner are basic (they belong to the wat). You dont go to Pun Pun for the comfort but for the great food. A lot of the customers there are Thai, so it is a good indication of the amazing food.
We did visit the other Pun Pun (or Imm Aim) at Santitham Road. The food was good but more adapted to western tastes and most of the customers when we went (2 times) were non Thai.
We had some problems there both times with getting the right orders and the rice came when the food was finished! But the food was good. However the menus are different at the 2 places.
If you want more western style food then I would recommend Imm Aim but for more Thai style food go to Wat Suan Dok.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pun Pun also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Pun Pun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pun Pun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.