We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best reason to go to Loi Kroh road ?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lemongrass Thai Restaurant

Lemongrass Thai Restaurant
Loi Kroh Road 200 meters pass Royal Lanna Hotel towards the river., Chiang Mai, Thailand
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 1,361 Restaurants in Chiang Mai
Price range: $3 - $5
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: No View But Tasty!
Pewsey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“best reason to go to Loi Kroh road ?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Ate here not long after opening time (4pm) so nice & quiet.Finally I chose Snapper in Lemon Sauce & my companion Marinated Prawns with rice & a couple of soft drinks & a (small) ice cream bill was under 500 baht.

Service was super : quick : helpful : knowledgeable.

Food was sublime. If I'd had any room at all I'd have ordered a second snapper right away .Lemon sauce was subtle

Décor was fun : visit to see : )

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    398
    176
    58
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Peanut Sauce with Shrimps”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

As their moto says: "no view but tasty". Thai food was delicious, I had a dish of broccoli and shrimps over peanut sauce for 160 thb, plus steamed rice for 20 thb. If you order the same dish but with beef or chicken, then it's around 105.
NO WIFI, NO AIRCON, Easy to find, efficient-english speaking staff, but no ambient. I would go back for the food but it's not a place to stay and chillax after dinner.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“the raves are warranted!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

We tried this restaurant because it was close to our hotel and had rave reviews on Trip Advisor. The raves were warranted. We ordered 5 Thai dishes and they were all wonderful. Great prices and great services as well!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best meal we've had in the last three weeks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We've been traveling through Southeast Asia for the last 3.5 weeks and haven't loved a lot of the food (we are pescatarian though - veg us fish). Lemongrass might have been the best meal we've had on our trip though. It's nothing fancy, but the food is delicious and the waitstaff was very attentive. We got the steamed snapper in spicy lemon sauce (amazing), the stir fried vegetables with peanut sauce (very good) and the red curry (pretty good).

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Phi Phi Don, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing, fresh, great service!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

After trying so many restaurants and not being overly thrilled about the food or service we stumbled on lemongrass and have just finished the best meal of our holiday, do it!!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lemongrass Thai Restaurant also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Lemongrass Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lemongrass Thai Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.