We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“super hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sakorn Residence & Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sakorn Residence & Hotel to your Saves list
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 / 2 Na Wat Kate 1, T. Wat Kate, Chiang Mai, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 330 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Hardinxveld-Giessendam, The Netherlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“super hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

It's a super hotel, very clean, large room and very friendly people.
There was a great service and a nice pool. Only ten minutes walking from the nightmarket, and 5 minutes walking from several nice restaurants on the riverside.
We had a great time there and when we return we stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    120
    27
    6
    1
See reviews for
35
144
34
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Balham, London
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2011

We stayed at the Sakorn for 5 nights and was very impressed with the hotel and it's location - east side of the Ping River but only a few minutes away from a cluster of superb riverside restaurants and then a short walk over the Warat or Lek bridges to reach the likes of the night bazaar. The hotel is smart, clean and has a free breakfast menu of around 5 or 6 different dishes. There is a fitness centre but no weights. WiFi access was very good.
I only have two small gripes. The first was the minimum amount of hospitality shown by the main lady on reception during our stay, bordering on indifference. A young man who covered her later shifts proved much more friendly and helpful with our enquiries and booking requests. The second was the lack of sun beds for the pool. Only half of the pool area sees sunlight during the afternoon and on two occasions there were only 4 sun beds, which were all taken. We had to sit in plastic chairs. When we asked for the situation to be rectified the lady on reception shrugged her shoulders and said there was nothing she could do.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2011

We needed a room for one night and stumbled on the Sakorn Residence. It's off the beaten path across the river from the main part of town. For us, that's a plus because it's quieter. It's near a footbridge so you could walk to the Warorot Market in a matter of minutes. There are several good restaurants nearby as well. Room options include a King Room (36 sq. Meters); a larger King Room (45 sq. Meters), a twin room, plus 3 options for small apartments. In addition, there is a beautiful pool and a small fitness room plus WiFi. Each room has a small refrigerator.

We liked our stay here so much that we'll consider coming back next January for a month!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

This is my fourth winter in Chiang Mai and the fourth place I’ve stayed. I can say without hesitation that Sakorn Residence is a superb choice in a terrific location at a great price. I’m more than halfway through my two-month rental period and I felt it’s time to write a review.

First of all, the apartment is located just across the Ping River, very close to the footbridge. If you’re looking at a map or if you are familiar with CM, Sakorn Residence is a few hundred feet behind Wat Kate. So you’re still close to everything without being in the center of all the noise. This is a residential neighborhood and incredibly peaceful at night, yet there are many restaurants, art galleries, 7-Elevens, markets, laundry services, massage services, etc. just a stone’s throw from here.

About the apartment itself, there are too many positives to mention and a few very minor areas where there’s room for improvement (nothing is perfect, right?), but I’ll try to list those that come to mind immediately:

1. My apartment is a deluxe one bedroom unit. The layout is excellent, with a large living room, kitchen area, large bedroom and a huge, double bathroom. The bathroom is double because there’s a door separating two distinct areas: One area has a sink, toilet and full bathtub; the other area has another sink, another toilet and a large glass-enclosed shower stall. Perfect arrangement for couples or families
2. All furniture and fixtures and countertops are of the highest quality wood and granite and marble; no shortcuts were taken during construction just over a year ago.
3. Tons of storage space for clothes and other incidentals including an enormous wardrobe, a desk that runs the length of the bedroom, end tables, cabinets, many bathroom counters, and more. I’ve never had the luxury of this much storage space in a hotel or short-term rental apartment.
4. Great water pressure and plenty of hot water
5. Two strong, quiet a/c units
6. Restaurant on-site that’s open 12 hours/day.
7. Air conditioned coffee shop/pastry shop on-site
8. Two night guards: One at the main gate and one in the lobby area
9. Huge, beautiful swimming pool, elegantly designed (see photo)
10. Food service at pool
11. Modern, high-tech elevator even though this building is only five stories
12. Two balconies: One outside the bedroom and one outside the living room, both with great views (see photo)
13. Caring, efficient, friendly owner who’s always on-site, with a terrific staff that goes out of their way to know your name and to greet you every time you arrive or depart.
14. Flat screen TV and DVD player
15. Dishes, cutlery, drinking glasses, cutting board, knives, microwave, water boiler
16. Maid service
17. Excellent lighting everywhere
18. Car and motorbike parking
19. Very quiet facility: Rules enforced about noise and no smoking
20. Wi-fi everywhere with multiple routers on all levels
21. Computer in lobby, including printer, for those guests without their own computers
22. Exercise room with modern equipment
23. Spotlessly clean everywhere; no bugs, too
24. Very reasonable cost: I’m paying 26,000 THB/month (approx. $28/day U.S.) for my large apartment; the smaller units are significantly less.
25. And I saved the best for last: Sakorn Residence really feels like home.

A few minor suggestions:
1. An extra towel rack in the bathroom would be nice
2. You should bring your own washcloths if you use them
3. Bring or buy kitchen sponges, dishwashing liquid and dish towels for the kitchen

Often I don’t trust many TripAdvisor reviews because the reviewers are friends of some establishments’ owners or might be the owners themselves. However at this apartment no one asked me to write a review and, in fact, I’m not sure if the owner even knows about TripAdvisor. So you can believe everything I’ve written here.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
242 reviews 242 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
201 helpful votes 201 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2010

This was a great hotel coz the air conditioner was lovely and cold. free internet, excellent staff, pool, gym and roomy rooms.

A genuinely good play to stay. Breakfast is like most thai hotels in this price range: an egg, some bacon, fruit plate and 1 slice of toast cut into half. unlimited coffee.

Rooms had a kettle in there to boail water.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2010

Unfortunatly I had already booked another Hotel in advance, but a friend of mine stayed here and I went to visit a few times and it was beautiful.... This is a really great place to stay if you want a central location but still have the need for peace and quiet. It is a new complex with beautiful furniture and very clean. The owner and its employess were very friendly and if you stay longer they make you a better offer. American or Thai Breakfast is incl. and the swimmingpool was a welcoming and peaceful place to cool off. The price is usually bewteen 1000 and 1500 THB which is a very good price for what you get.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2010

Brand new serviced apartment and hotel. The rooms are very nice with marble floors and granite counter tops. The grounds include an exercise room, pool, coffee shop, and restaurant. The staff is very friendly. The owner and her daughter always seem to be there managing the operation. The site is close to restaurants and a short walk to the famous Night Bazaar. I enjoyed my stay so much I plan on returning for 3-6 months later this year. The only negative is that a new hotel is being built next door so there is some construction noise, but this ends at 5 pm. One other item of note is that some of the rooms did not have screens, at least when I was there since they ask the long term residents to purchase them. Go to their web site at www.sakornresidence.com for more info.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sakorn Residence & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sakorn Residence & Hotel

Address: 2 / 2 Na Wat Kate 1, T. Wat Kate, Chiang Mai, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sakorn Residence & Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sakorn Residence & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sakorn Residence Hotel Chiang Mai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sakorn Residence & Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.