We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Decent Hotel in Chiang Mai” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sakorn Residence & Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sakorn Residence & Hotel to your Saves list
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 / 2 Na Wat Kate 1, T. Wat Kate, Chiang Mai, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 330 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Pretty Decent Hotel in Chiang Mai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

My family and I stayed here for 4 nights. The staff were very helpful even though only 1 person can speak English fluently. Rooms are large and clean, spacious bathroom, big bed but kind of on the hard side, TV with some English channels, and free wifi. Location is a bit out of town, but 10 minutes walk to the closest 7-11 and some bars and restaurants. Tuk-tuk is around 80-100 Baht to the night market. Would recommend this hotel! Thank you.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    122
    27
    6
    1
See reviews for
36
144
34
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tasmania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed at the Sakorn Residence for 4 nights. We only booked one night in advance and were dismayed to find that the hotel was booked out and we couldn't stay in our room for all 4 nights. We agreed to pay for the next room up, and it was arranged that we would move the next morning to the more expensive room. As we were heading out to dinner that night, the chap on the desk called out to us and told us that there had been a cancellation and he had wangled the rooms around so that we could stay in our room for the full 4 nights.... Now that's service.

The rooms are fantastic, clean and large. The only thing I can pick on is that the corridors have a large amount of echo for some reason, so you can hear a mouse fart from the other end of the corridor. Most people are also aware of this and stay quiet and be careful closing thier doors.... others however come back at 3am singing and being rowdy and slamming doors. One phone call to reception however brought up the night supervisor to quiet things down.... once again, great service.

The residence is a little out of town, so if you don't like walking in the heat and want to avoid Tuk Tuks, then find somewhere closer. We were happy to walk it to the edge of Chiang Mai, but in 30 degree heat, that was all we could manage.

30 degree heat takes me on to the swimming pool which is amazing, and the restaurant is right next to it serving hungry swimmers all day.

Breakfast was great, there was so much we couldn't eat everything we were served.

The reception staff were all extremely friendly and eager to help book tours, arrange transport etc.

I highly recommend this place and if I return to Chiang Mai, I know where I'll be staying.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Cannot recommend this place enough, by far the best hotel my wife and I found in this price range during our two months in Thailand. Fantastic value for money.

Rooms are large and very clean, with a small balcony, very good shower, lovely big bed, TV with some English film channels, and decent wifi.

Staff are very friendly and helpful.

Breakfast is excellent and plentiful.

Pool is not massive and very cold, but is again extremely clean and nice to relax around in the afternoon.

Gym has cardio machines only but these are decent quality.

Location is great, you are about a 30mimute walk from the walled city but it's an interesting walk and there are lots of good restaurants, bars and coffee shops along the river only two minutes away.

Do visit the lovely coffee shop on site, the cold Ovaltine is delicious.

The restaurant across the road is brilliant for a cheap lunch, and I'm talking really cheap 70bht for two people. Also Just to the right out of the hotel is a great little Indian restaurant.

The Healing Family Foundation is just round the corner and is also definitely worth visiting.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Apartment style living - large room, balcony, fridge, dishes (so you can bring home your own dinner from the night market). Very clean. Front desk staff extremely helpful and very good English. One high speed internet computer for free use at front desk. Printing done for free. Good wifi. Breakfast is self serve juice, coffee (Nescafe instant) and your choice of a western (eggs/bacon) or eastern (soup or rice/vegetables). Good but still left hungry most mornings. Nice pool. Nice gym. Nice coffee store and whimsical restaurant next door. A bit pricey for the area but good coffee/food.

Room Tip: I faced the back of the building which meant my balcony faced a retainer wall that had green plants...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Picked this at short notice and weren't disappointed. Thought we needed to be in the old town but glad we opted for this place as it was a few minutes walk from a few lovely riverside restaurants and bars. Room was massive with separate living room and adjoining kitchen. No view as it was at the rear of the block. Staff very friendly. Think the food facilities could do with improving but there was a great curry house next door in a garden setting. We found that if you want sun on the pool, best wait until after lunchtime. And if you stay in during the evening they have books and DVDs. About 25 mins walk to Tha Pae Gate.

Room Tip: If you want a room with a view try the ones at the front as the rear ones just have a high wall full...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I will recommend Sakorn Residence if you accept a short transportation or walk to get to the middle of the action. The hotel is located a little out of the Old City area, but within reasonable walking distance (20-25 minutes from the city wall and somewhat shorter to the Night Bazar). The hotel may be reached from the airport by tuk-tuk for approx.. 120-140 Baht.
The residence appears relatively new and is well kept. I was greeted by a friendly receptionist at arrival, and all the staff were service-minded.
The reception is very basic.

My room faced the pool, and had a small balcony Facing northward, the balcony was not reached by the sun. The room was spacious and very clean, as the whole of the residence. The stone floor and concrete walls in the corridor made any sound easily carried, though it was disturbing during night.
Considered its location in a residential area, the traffic level in the morning was heavier than expected, which could wake up light sleepers.
WiFi was working well.

For breakfast the hotel offered a few basic prepared dishes to choose from. Though nothing special about it, I found it to fulfill its purpose.

The pool appeared clean, and was an attractive place to sit an relax in the afternoon (which was one of my reasons for choosing this hotel).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Overall pleasant stay. Very large spacious rooms, big bathrooms. We were asked to change rooms half way through stay from a double to a twin (fine by us as twins initially booked up), but it was a little inconvenient as we had to leave all our belongings in reception as the new room wasn't available until the afternoon. Quite good location, perfect as lantern festival was on when we were there so short walk to the river. Laundry not available in hotel. We had to take a 10-15min walk to the laundry they used, having an in house service would be better. Breakfast was ok, plenty to eat. Moderate range of trips available from hotel, however they have spelt their own name wrong in the front!!! Perhaps a little far from the gate of centre if u don't like walking, otherwise nice and close to some pleasant riverside bars and restaurants

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sakorn Residence & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sakorn Residence & Hotel

Address: 2 / 2 Na Wat Kate 1, T. Wat Kate, Chiang Mai, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sakorn Residence & Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sakorn Residence & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sakorn Residence Hotel Chiang Mai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sakorn Residence & Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.