We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a little out of the way” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection to your Saves list
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   137 Moo 5, Chiang Mai-Lampang Road | Nongpaklang, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand (Formerly Prince Khum Phaya Resort & Spa Chiang Mai)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Wi-Fi + Free ABF
Ranked #50 of 333 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bangalore
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“a little out of the way”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

lovely property but its a bit out of the way from the main activity hub of chiang mai. Personally if i wanted to be away from the hustle and bustle of chiang mai I would head to mae rim or similar areas. But having said that the resort is nice and the pool is real fun. All or most of the lower level rooms have direct access to the pool and the pool bar at night becomes your personal bar. Also you can use the pool at any time - day or night which is nice. The rooms are slightly on the smaller side as i expected it to be lager considering it is a resort and not a city hotel. MOSQUITOES - tons of them. They really need to do something about this. The people are very helpful. There is also a wonderful Thai restaurant adjacent to the property where you get to experience local cultural shows.

Room Tip: definitely go for the pool access rooms. Its worth the extra money you pay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KPCChiangMai, General Manager at Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Renil J,

Many thanks for taking your time to write your review in TripAdvisor.

We are glad to hear that you like our resort so much beside your inconvenience about the location. I am not so sure if you have used our complimentary shuttle service to downtown when you were with us. We operate shuttles at 10 am, 2 pm and 7 pm with the last pick up to return at 9 pm. As the demand has been high we are now looking into increasing the schedules soon.
Regarding the mosquitoes, we do fumigate the resort twice a week. Our beautiful landscaped garden has been a favorite ground for the breeding but we are constantly looking for their lair and also controlling all stagnant water in order for the mozzies not to increase in population.
Please do not let this deter you from coming back to stay with us and should you need further assistance please do not hesitate to contact us again.
Regards.
Jerome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    140
    59
    19
    15
See reviews for
97
194
11
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mooloolaba, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Loved loved loved this hotel!! Only a few problems: one, the mozzies defiantly take replant with you!!! Two the buffet breakfast was below average, very fatty meat and all mornings there where bugs in the fresh fruit. The hotel could deffinatly use better containers there. Three the pool bar!!!! Biggest disappointment it was closed, we sat there for over one hour one day hoping someone would come to serve us, many gardeners etc walked past and nothing. Only day there was someone there they couldn't serve us as they didn't have the ingredients and had to call the main bar where breakfast is served to make it which was a good 30min wait, ended up going to the closest 7/11 to buy drinks and just drank from the balcony. Four the shower was not cleaned properly, mildewy although I found this problem throughout Thailand. Such lovely staff though and although it could of been better if I'm ever in chiang Mai I would stay here again

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KPCChiangMai, General Manager at Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear NurseKeira,

Thank you so much for choosing Khum Phaya Centara Resort and Spa recently.
We read your posting and comments and am taking every steps to rectify our weaknesses. Our apology for the inconvenience caused during your stay.
We do fumigate very often our resort to control the population of the mosquitoes, however with the tropical climate and our full landscape I must say it is a great challenge for us. We can only assure that those mosquitoes are not the disease carrier mosquitoes.
Your comment on the buffet breakfast is very much appreciated. This morning I have shared your comment on this issue to our Chef and he will personally make sure that good quality ingredients are used and to limit the use of fatty oil.
I will personally investigate to why there was no personnel at the pool bar during your stay. Our pool staff will normally stand by from morning the the closure of the pool operation. However, you mentioned that some occasions they have to go to the main bar to fetch some raw ingredients. We are taking your comment seriously and will make sure that on daily basis enough 'mise-en-place' are available at the pool bar.
Thanks again for your comment and hope to have you back to stay with us in the near future.

Regards.
Jerome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

So we arrived at Chiang Mai, took a Cab to the Hotel..Looks nice from the Outside...And looks nice from the Inside too! But hey, why is it located so far from the Centre? One has to take a cab and ride for about 15 Minutes! And around the hotel is like nothing at all! Just empty Buildings! And, worst thing of all, none of the Drivers knew the hotel! So we stood in the nighttime at Chiang Mai-Center and didnt get back to the hotel! That was really not something i want to do again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KPCChiangMai, General Manager at Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Klaus122211211,
Thanks for your recent review in Tripadvisor.
We are glad that you enjoyed the stay but only to find that the location is far out of the City Center. It is very convenient to travel to the city either by the red public transportation, tuk tuk or taxi. However our hotel do provide complimentary shuttle bus service at 10 am, 2 pm and 7 pm with the last pick up for returning at 10 pm. For those who like to spend more time in the city, we also advise them to carry either a map which our staff will circle on the map or to take a hotel card from our desk. This is to ensure that there will be no communication breakdown with the tuk tuk or taxi drivers.
With your comment, we will educate the public even more especially the taxi drivers or tuk tuk by approaching their associations in the near future.
Klaus, let us know if you are planning to come back to stay with us. We will be more than pleased to assist you in every ways.
Regards.
Jerome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Twice during 6 months were our trip in 2012.

We stayed in first floor and we could go to pool easily (pool access).

Breakfast is located closed to front area with limited seats except peak with more seats outside.

Variety of foods and pastries for breakfast.

Closed to Big C Extra Hypermarket, it is vey convenience to buy anything.

Stayed February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KPCChiangMai, General Manager at Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Jimmypratya,
Thanks for your recent posting in Tripadvisor!
We are very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
Please do let us know when you next plan your trip here. We will be more than pleased to assist you.
Regards.
Jerome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

I love the service here. I love jacuzzi in room and swimming pool in front of room. Breakfast is good quality. The only thing that i dont like is the location. Although there is minimart in front of the hotel, it is not located in town. I have to rent car to town.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KPCChiangMai, General Manager at Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Thipsusi,

Thank you so much for your good comment about our facilities in the resort. We really glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us.
I am not sure if you are aware that we do provide complimentary shuttle to downtown 3 times a day i.e. at 10 am, 2 pm and 7 pm with the last return trip from downtown at 10 pm.
However, we also have a tour desk located at the lobby which charge at a reasonable price compare to local taxis outside where one has to wait. At the counter you can schedule your own time or traveling.
We do hope to see you again in this resort and please do not hesitate to contact us should you need to make future reservation.
Regards.
Jerome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bracciano
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in a Room with Pool access and it's really worth it.
Staff is really friendly. Gardens and Pools are very well kept.
If I can just give a suggestion to the Manager , I will increase the number of shuttles to downtown Chiang Mai : just one in the morning and one in the evening are not enough . I did ask the reception to call me a taxi and they said they couldn't and directed me to the Excursion desk where they asked me 300 bath one way to go downtown. And you have no choice because if you exit the property there are no Taxi driving in the Hotel area. And even coming back at 11:00 pm from the Old city was kind of difficult.

Room Tip: Take a room with Pool access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KPCChiangMai, General Manager at Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Carlotraveller,

Hope we are not too late to wish you Happy New Year 2013!

We are happy to hear that you have arrived home safely after your wonderful stay with us recently. Your positive comment really very appreciated and I will share this with the team this morning.

As for the shuttle service perhaps there was a misunderstanding. We do infact have 3 daily shuttles to the city i.e. from 10 am, 2 pm and 7 pm with the last pick up returning to the hotel at 10 pm. We also from time to time, increase the schedules should the demand is high.

Our tour desk has been appointed by the hotel to provide a greater service and also to guarantee the safety and comfort of our guests. I must agree that the hotel cost is a bit higher compare to the taxi outsides. Taxis are available outside but one needs to bargain in order to get a better deal which will be a loss of time. However, we do have public transportation outside the hotel but this kind of transportation stops every pick up points that are not even marked.

Carlotraveller, we are here all hoping to see you again soon at Khum Phaya Centara Boutique Collection. Please do not hesitate to contact us direct again should you need any help.

Regards.

Jerome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Khum Phaya in Chiang Mai for 3 nights at the end of November 2012, whilst travelling from Bangkok and before heading to Phuket. Whilst I was expecting the hotel to be good, I wasn't expecting it to be the best of the 3 that I stayed in while on this trip to Thailand. It beat the beach side resort I stayed in on Phuket hands down!

From arrival to departure I was impressed with the hotel, the staff could not do enough for you, were friendly and attentive, the grounds are well maintained and a pleasure to wander round. The open air bar is a great touch whilst breakfast and lunch in the restaurant were excellent.

I had a poolside room which was spotless and of the quality I have come to expect in Thailand. The bathroom was excellent, with the shower being one of the best I have found in a hotel. The bed was perfect for a good nights sleep after a long day sightseeing.

Some people have commented that the hotel is a bit outside the city centre; don't let that deter you, it is only a 150THB tuktuk ride away! I won't hesitate to return to Chiang Mai or indeed the Khum Phaya.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KPCChiangMai, General Manager at Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Stueygfd,
Thank you for your recent posting in Tripadvisor and we do really appreciate that.
Your comment is very important to us and I am sure all our team will be happy to read about it.
Please let us know should you plan to visit us again. We are all looking forward to welcoming you back.
Regards.

Jerome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection

Address: 137 Moo 5, Chiang Mai-Lampang Road | Nongpaklang, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand (Formerly Prince Khum Phaya Resort & Spa Chiang Mai)
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#30 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#38 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection (formerly Prince Khum Phaya Resort & Spa Chiang Mai): Chiang Mai is well-known for its extensive range of hotels, many being high rise within the city centre. Unlike others, Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection aims to deliver a friendly traditional Lanna style resort right to the heart of Chiang Mai. The design and architecture of Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection are based on Lanna (Northern-Thai) traditions and customs, distinctively for the Art of Teak Wood Carving used in the majority of the decorations including the 80-year-old teak wooden roof topping. Plus, in-room furniture and facilities are in Lanna style. The pleasant landscape, conceived from traditional Thai style, which is an assembly of Thai mythological trees and flowers, which some age more than a hundred years, make Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection an unique place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Khum Phaya Resort And Spa Centara Boutique Collection
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa Centara Boutique Collection Hotel Chiang Mai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.