We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection to your Saves list
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   137 Moo 5, Chiang Mai-Lampang Road | Nongpaklang, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand (Formerly Prince Khum Phaya Resort & Spa Chiang Mai)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Wi-Fi + Free ABF
Ranked #48 of 333 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

After leaving the hustle and bustle of Phuket, never to return, we landed in Chang Mia at this beautiful resort. I would have to say this is the most picturesque hotel/resort that I have been to in Thailand. The pool is just amazing, the rooms are unbelievable (spa in the room, shower with 8 shower heads, soft comfortable bed), staff that cannot be more helpful. Chang Mai is an amazing place without the rubbish of the tourist area of Phuket. Would highly recommend doing a couple of days in Chang Ria if time permits as it is a brilliant base to see so much.

Room Tip: Deluxe Lama Pool Side Access is worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    141
    59
    19
    15
See reviews for
97
197
11
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

There is actually not much to say, we just had a great time:
- Beautiful rooms with a great bathtub and shower
- Stunningly friendly staff
- Good breakfast
- Great pool
- Shuttle service to the airport

Only downside is the location, it is pretty far from the city. You need a taxi to get there.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

Beautiful decoration and the lake shaped pool is wonderful. It is huge with islands in the middle; it takes about 5 minutes to do a circuit. Our beautiful, comfortable room had French doors giving onto our private terrace with a table and chairs, and a step directly into the water.

The grounds are beautifully maintained, the staff helpful and the food good. Outside the hotel is a fascinating local night market with food, bars, restaurants and massage.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

Pros:
1. Private jacuzzi with good hot water system. Never run out of hot water.
2. Pool access from balcony.
3. Good range for breakfast. You can even request for breakfast box to be sent to your room if you have early departure for touring to Chiang Rai for example.
Cons:
1. No wifi in rooms, only have cable for lap top.
2. They didn't bring in the breakfast box on my last day.
3. Location is 10min drive from town, costs TBH200 each way.
Tips:
1. There is a spa right outside the resort. Above the Shabu restaurant. Only TBH200/hr for Thai massage and TBH300/hour for oil massage.
2. Night market outside resort has many stalls that sell things at incredibly low price. A pair of short khaki pants only TBH75!!!!
3. Big C supermarket walking distance with wide range of food at the food park and many fast food restaurants.

Room Tip: Get the one with pool access. If you use tablet and not lap top, you may want to request for room 31...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

I would like to confirm all the positive reviews of the hotel. Love this hotel. Stayed 6 days 6 nights (cos checked in at midnight). We could spend almost 3 whole afternoons in the hotel without going out but just using the facilities: jacuzzi in the room, gym, sauna, pool. And do not mind so for the entire stay.

Breakfast: I beg to differ on the reviewer who was not satisfied with the breakfast. The spread was more than we could fill. There's western breakfast (toasts, waffles, danishs, croissants, cakes, bacon, ham, sausages, baked beans, grilled tomatoes, baked potatoes, your choice of omelette or sunny side up cereals & even mueslis). There's the savoury ones which include fried rice, fried noodles (different everyday for up to 5/6 days), porridge, soup, local popular curries, stir fried fish/chicken,and veggies). There are also a good spread of fresh fruits and salads with a variety of dressings. It is promptly topped-up. Even after 10am (after the stipulated breakfast duration). What more could one ask for? As a saying goes, "Free lunch could be given provided one controls his/her appetite".

Pool: The pool area is so nice you could just doing nothing the whole day.The pool is very clean (cleaned everyday) and do not have any chlorine smell. Or if you like, there is also a fully equipped gym (with sauna and steam bath). Towels, drinking water and lockers are thoughtfully provided.

Service: Great service, great hospitality. The front desk receptionists and the concierge staff are very helpful. They even used their own handphone to call the numbers we got from the internet to enquire about the attractions (i.e. elephant park, flight of the gibbon). Our request to extend the checking out time to 1230 was easily granted.

WIFI: WIFI access in the restaurant and area around it.No WIFI in the room but looks like there is a cable for internet access which we only noticed on upon checking out (which is a blessing in disguise for totally undisrupted holiday). There are 4 PCs provided in the lobby for internet access. Sufficient for most guests.

Environmental friendly: The drinking water is provided in glass bottles instead of plastic bottles and are replenished everyday. 4-5 bottles of 500 ml. We only need to buy a 5L from 7-11 for all the 6 days. Unlike in other hotels which we would need to do so every other day. Also, rattan laundry basket is provided instead of plastic bags. Most of the trees are named along the walkways.

The photos would speak for itself. There are too many photos to post that exceeds the allowable numbers so I have compiled them.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Lakes, Australia
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

We had an initial stay of six nights before going north for a few days. We enjoyed our stay so much that we decided to return for a further six nights. The first room had pool access from the room and the second was an upstairs room with a view of the very lovely pool.
The whole place has a soothering effect even down to the soft music playing through the gardens.The grounds and the pool area were very well maintained and cleaned on a daily basis. Our rooms were spacious, comfortable with a flat screen, shower jets and spa bath.

The only thing my husband felt could be improved was the small amount of tourist information available. There is a large supermarket within 5 minutes walk and also a night street market outside the Resort on a Thursday, Friday and Saturday night which has a large variety of local food and clothing. Right next door there is a Kontake Restaurant with local cultural dance performances which we enjoyed.

The Resort staff were all attentive and the meals were quite tasty and breakfast had a large selection. The Bar Manager "Tanad" was especially helpful and we would recommend anyone needing assistance with any area of communication seek his help.
Overall we loved our stay.

Room Tip: Pool access
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

We are currently at Khum Phaya as a family of 4 adults, staying in 2 lanna pool access rooms.
The hotel is a good 10 minutes by hotel taxi from the city centre, so it's not the choice for people who want to be able to walk out their door into the tourist area. The hotel has a free shuttle to the night bazaar at 7 pm, returning at 10.
The rooms are beautiful, just as depicted on the hotel website. Spacious, separate shower with massage jets and spa bath, nice toiletries, flat screen cable TV, free cable internet and a sitting area outside next to the fabulous pool.
The resort is set in extensive lovely gardens, with waterfalls and birds. Decorated in beautiful Lanna style. It is a lovely retreat from the city's hustle and bustle. I'd be happy to stay here on my honeymoon or on a quiet romantic holiday.
The buffet breakfast in pretty good, although choices are a bit limited. There are western and asian choices of hot food, eggs cooked to order,yoghurts and cereals etc. and a choice of herbal teas. It's very pleasant to eat outside on the verandahs.
Wi Fi area around the restaurant and free computers in the lobby area.
There is a Big C within a short walk, and on some evenings there is a street market on the street between the hotel and Big C. Plenty of street food available.
I booked this hotel through Agoda for about A$80 net per night (without breakfast), and I think it was a very good deal. BTW, Agoda, was very helpful when I made a last minute change to our booking.

Room Tip: pool access rooms are worth a few extra dollars, or ask for a lanna deuxe overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection

Address: 137 Moo 5, Chiang Mai-Lampang Road | Nongpaklang, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand (Formerly Prince Khum Phaya Resort & Spa Chiang Mai)
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#29 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#38 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection (formerly Prince Khum Phaya Resort & Spa Chiang Mai): Chiang Mai is well-known for its extensive range of hotels, many being high rise within the city centre. Unlike others, Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection aims to deliver a friendly traditional Lanna style resort right to the heart of Chiang Mai. The design and architecture of Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection are based on Lanna (Northern-Thai) traditions and customs, distinctively for the Art of Teak Wood Carving used in the majority of the decorations including the 80-year-old teak wooden roof topping. Plus, in-room furniture and facilities are in Lanna style. The pleasant landscape, conceived from traditional Thai style, which is an assembly of Thai mythological trees and flowers, which some age more than a hundred years, make Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection an unique place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Khum Phaya Resort And Spa Centara Boutique Collection
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa Centara Boutique Collection Hotel Chiang Mai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.