We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Inexpensive, Great Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Junior Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Junior Guest House to your Saves list
Junior Guest House
2.0 of 5 Guest house   |   21 Soi 1 Rachapakinai Rd, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 503 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
4.5 of 5 stars 240 Reviews
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Clean, Inexpensive, Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

I emailed them to make reservations on the same day and they responded almost immediately and held a room. In fact, we asked if it would be too late to book some tours as we were getting in at 23:00 and one of the owners personally waited up to help us. The people who worked there all gave us great advice on what to do and gave us discounts on the tours they sold even though it would cut their commission. The room was clean, you can walk to bars in the area, although it would be a little difficult to find on your own. We rented a scooter for the day and drove around, it was well worth it, they will rent it too you there at the hostel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    61
    18
    4
    4
See reviews for
11
90
42
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

I came to Junior Guesthouse alone and thus had to pay a little more for my room as I expected (they only had doubles left). However, it was totally worth it. The staff is super friendly, they greet you in the morning and even remember your name after the first day.

The room was great for a guesthouse, with own bathroom and hot shower as well as (Thai) TV. It was very clean and really quiet thanks to the location (it is however still located within the old city, and as a plus, right next to beautiful Wat Chiang Man). Also, it felt really safe thanks to lockers next to the reception (bring your own padlock) and security cameras in the entrance area.

The "restaurant" has decent prices and serves nice coffee.

I would definitely recommend it to anyone travelling on a budget.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

We really can't recommend this place highly enough. It's cheap, clean, in a great location and the staff are ridiculously friendly and helpful. We stayed for 2 nights but wished we'd had more time in Chiang Mai as we would have happily stayed longer.

We arrived on the last day on Songkran and the owners (Jeff and Fine) invited us out on the back of their truck with all their staff so we could get involved in the water fight - they made us feel so welcome it was unbelievable.

They organised our trip to Laos, booked us tickets for a Muay Thai boxing match (even stopped eating their dinner to drive us to the boxing stadium). After we left I realised I'd I left my sunglasses in the room, I called them and within a day they'd popped them in the post for me.

It's in a decent location - a 5 minute walk to the Sunday walking street market, 15 minutes to the night market and there's a whole host of decent bars and restaurants nearby.

Seriously...if you're in Chiang Mai you should check this place out!

Thanks Jeff, Fine and the gang for making our stay so pleasant.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

This is the first review I've ever written on Tripadvisor but I feel so inclined to write it given the warm welcome we have received here at Junior Guest House. Great location within walking distance of everything, great quality and value food in the restaurant and the nicest people you could meet to make you feel welcome and organise tours on your behalf. Went elephant treking today and was a great experience. Basic but clean rooms. Thanks to everyone for such a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

My husband and I stayed in Junior Guest House for 6 nights during February. The location is very good, in the old city near shops and restaurants. The owners (Fine and Jeff) are a very nice and helpful young couple - They even picked us up from the bus station-. The food in the Guest house is also very recommended - specially the strawberry yogurt shake -. The rooms are clean and spacious. WIFI is also provided and works fine. The neighborhood is safe and quite.
We very much recommend this place and would definitely stay there again when we go back to Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maribor, Slovenia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Since the city is small you can walk to all major attractions from the hotel. Rooms are spacious and clean, a bathroom is a bit strange since a wash-hand basin and toilet are from plastic. The roof terace was closed during our stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012 via mobile

The staff was unbelievable. They picked us up from the airport and even helped me find a dentist to fix an emergency tooth break. Their breakfast meals were good and rooms spacious and clean. For the price, you will be hard pressed to find better accommdations in Chiang Mai.

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Junior Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Junior Guest House

Address: 21 Soi 1 Rachapakinai Rd, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 503 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Junior Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Junior Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sk House Junior Hotel Chiang Mai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Junior Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.