We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great location for people watching” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tawa Bistro

Tawa Bistro
21 Soi 2, Ratchamanka, Moon Muang Road,Pra Sing | De Naga Hotel, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand (Formerly De Naga Cafe)
+66 53 209 030
Improve this listing
Ranked #330 of 1,244 Restaurants in Chiang Mai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Tawa Bistro offers a large selection of popular international dishes as well as a variety of Thai and local food. The service is attentive, friendly, smooth and efficient, similar to a cozy street cafe.The food is simple, but tasty and fresh and is served in an ambience that is relaxed and informal. Both indoor and outdoor seating options are available.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Great food, great location for people watching”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

The Tawa Bistro offers a great selection of food options. From Western to Asian there is something there to please any persons palette. The chefs can really cook and what was served before us was good to look at, delicious to eat and very reasonably priced. The servers knew their food and could recommend local dishes which maybe unfamiliar to the traveller. The surroundings are comfortable with an open air arrangement, quite French sitting outside or within the restaurant if you wanted to sit back from the street. Nice location watching the coming and goings of people and perfect for an aperitif or night cap.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    11
    2
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delicious food and atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

This is the second time I've dined at Tawa Bistro, and both times I have thoroughly enjoyed myself. The cocktails are lovely, and the food is delicious, if a little expensive compared to other restaurants in the area. I have been extremely satisfied with the food and the service both times I visited. Their club sandwich is beautiful, but the highlight for me is their duo bruschetta with tomatoes and sauteed mushrooms; simply divine! If you do happen to pay them a visit, be sure to say hello to the friendly waitresses, they are lovely. Patty, in particular, is a delight to talk to and spend the evening with, and she makes a great mojito!
Additionally, the music they play is lovely, ranging from 80's to modern pop and everything in between, Thai included. I had a very nice time at this restaurant and will be returning.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Ice cream”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

I went there with family for the second time. The first time I was not impressed by the coffee that tasted way too burnt. The second time we took some ice cream, and I assumed that one scoop would be about 45 baht. The ice creams came without any garnish and one of the two was mostly melted. At the end the price was 90 baht per scoop. Way overpriced with no care for presentation. I definitely won't be back there.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Service is terrible and the food soso”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Been there a few time and see the place is going down,
The service is just terrible. Have to go take menu my self, have to go to the bar to place order and the same for the check.
The food was soso and we had to return the drinks as it was not what we ordered.
The location is good but the overall experience is bad.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“A quiet dining spot on the edge of the Old City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We had a delightful evening meal at Tawa Bistro, which was only a short walk from our hotel closer to the Night Market. Located across the street from John's, it is light years away in atmosphere and class. We had delicious food, drinks and dessert, and a lovely environment for conversation and sightseeing plans.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tawa Bistro also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Tawa Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tawa Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.