We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Project” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Healing Family Foundation

Healing Family Foundation
2 Nawatket Rd., T. Watket. | A. Muang, Chiang Mai, Thailand
+66 53 244393
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 79 Shopping in Chiang Mai
Type: Shops, Shopping
Attraction details
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful Project”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

As a group from Melbourne we were so warmly welcomed by a foundation senior. His foresight and inspiration were a credit to the whole meaning of this enterprise. Everyone had the biggest smile and loved dancing with and for us, as well as watching their weaving expertise. It was fun but also a serious business giving those who worked there a sense of independence and an income. I loved all my purchases which were handled by the lovely, lovely Mai. Hello Mai, I kept my promise! xx

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    7
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chiang Mai, Thailand
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Happy proud people”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

As a group we had a wonderful experience.
The proud father who started the foundation, spoke about the centre, we watched a small presentation, while being shown their weaving.
Dancing followed, along with huge smiles, we then made some beautifully designed purchases.
It's so important to see people having a purpose in life. It's just what we all need.
Fantastic work..

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Well-designed souvenirs; buy and help a good cause”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Spotted this place totally by accident and was pleasantly surprised by lovely designs (tshirts, postcards, etc). Stop by, say hello to people who are working inside, weaving and stitching - they will be very happy to see you and gladly show their trade. And buy a few things to help a great cause - The Healing Family Foundation for people with disabilities. Seriously, it's much better than getting another boring plastic crap at another Night Bazaar. This is the real deal!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Happy faces - Happy hearts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Huge Thank's to everyone involved at the Healing Family Foundation for a delightful morning! Great weavers and Ting; an exceptional good dancer. You sure put a Big grin on our faces! A special thanks goes out to the donated Japanese weaving looms, especially designed for persons with physical challenges. ..No money can buy the heart warming feeling encountered during this visit, but any kind of donation including your time is always appreciated.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A heartwarming experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We feel so fortunate to have stopped in the Healing Hand Foundation. We met all the friendly people who work there. The Foundation employs people with intellectual disabilities. They weave cloth that is made into handbags, cute cards, adorable t-shirts and other cute souvenirs. Everyone there was super sweet and friendly, we didn't want to leave. It definitely was a uplifting experience and I hope that everyone will support the foundation so it can continue to grow.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Healing Family Foundation also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Healing Family Foundation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Healing Family Foundation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.