We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Furama Chiang Mai

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Furama Chiang Mai to your Saves list
Furama Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   54 Huay Keaw Road | Tambol Chang Puak, Muang, (formerly Grand Heritage Hotel), Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #140 of 333 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

This hotel provide me with comfortable sleep, great breakfast, and friendly customer service.
The hotel in general is clean, with a living room and a dining table.
The breakfast variety ranger from continental to western style
10 minutes walk from food center.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManlikaT, Manager at Furama Chiang Mai, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear bthereviewer ,

Thank you very much for taking time out of your busy day to leave us a candid review on Trip Advisor in regards to your stay at Furama Hotel Chiangmai . We are very proud and glad to read your feedback,it gives us great encouragement to work a lot.

We promise that we will maintain a high standard of service of our hotel with us forever.

Finally, we sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

With kind regards,

Manlika Thatsanaphak
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    54
    54
    25
    18
See reviews for
34
62
24
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

I called to make a reservation 1 day earlier with reservation. When check in I found that the reception can't see my booking then I decided to made a new booking at point of check in by inform rate with breakfast that was confirmed by reservation. Ok...staff give me a rooms with different rate and non breakfast without any explanation or any excuse. Just say today is fully booked sir........how shame!

Overall stay was very good. Large size of room but in bathtub very dirty and old.

Breakfast also good.

Nothing around hotel.



Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManlikaT, Manager at Furama Chiang Mai, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear praksa,

Thank you so much for your kind words and thorough comments about your staying with us.

The review doesn’t inform the clarified check in date so it was hard for us to retrace what really happened thus the investigation has been carried out seriously. We tried to find out by ask the department which concerned, especially reservation & reception but the answer does not meet the data acquired.

We are sorry to learn that the service was lacking. One of our priorities is to provide quality service, therefore your comments are very important and useful for us. Your specific issue has been taken up by the head department who concerned and appropriate measures will be taken to ensure performance is enhanced.

Also, we apologized for the poor service that happened with you in the front desk and the communication failure between some departments. So this wouldn't be happened again on your next visit.

Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations. Your review will be used to reconsider improvements needed and I hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done. We look forward to welcome for your next visit and to provide you with higher quality service.

With kind regards,

Ms.Manlika Thatsanaphak
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is by far not what i expect of a 4 star hotel. I cannot imagine how the rating here is that good. We ended up leaving earlier. Here are some of the reasons:
- very loud, you cannot just hear every single plane, also the functions 4floors beloware really loud and go on until late at night.
- everything seems to be some 30 years old. Old carpets everywhere
- the bathrooms are not clean. We didnt dare tryout the "whirlpool" as it looket like it has been used last time years ago

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManlikaT, Manager at Furama Chiang Mai, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Ar M,

Thank you for your detailed comment on Furama Chiangmai Hotel. We appreciate the thought and time that went into the review on Trip Advisor.

We are sorry that you were disappointed with your stay with us in case of the noise from function on that day and the staleness of carpet and the uncleanness of the bathroom. In any event, we thank you for the comments, and will be more aware of these issues in the coming days.

Finally, thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. We look forward to welcome for your next visit and to provide you with higher quality service again.

With kind regards,

Ms.Manlika Thatsanaphak
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Our family of 4 stayed in this large hotel a short ride from the airport. We booked a 2 bed room suite which was absolutely huge! It was clean and spacious with all the facilities you would expect, tv in each room with a dvd player and the lounge that had surround sound. Breakfast was adequate, but nothing to get excited about, we did not eat in the restaurant but did order room service which was good. The room was a little outdated but for the size and price we would definitely stay there again if we come back to Chiang Mai. We were disappointed with the pool, only the rooftop one was open which was freezing and very small.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManlikaT, Manager at Furama Chiang Mai, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear ChCh73,

Good day from Furama Hotel Chiangmai.

Thank you very much for taking time out of your busy day to leave us a candid review on Trip Advisor in regards to your stay at Furama Hotel Chiangmai .

Moreover, it is disappointing to know you were not satisfied with our breakfasts which are plentiful, but not significantly different each day and also the pool that provided only one area on the rooftop because of the function on the other floor.

Please accept my apologies for falling short of your exceptions.
We promised that we will improve all your comment for the best.

Thank you again for bringing us these issues and also thank you very much for your review. Your feedback is very important to us. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip.

With kind regards,

Ms.Manlika Thatsanaphak
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

hotel room is big, even with a sofa in the room still have plenty of space.. water heater not hot enough but at least bath tub is not too old and dirty..

nearby have a shopping still under construction, will be a good location when the mall open. when i stayed there, need to walk about 15 mins to find a local massage (hotel provide room massage but not cheap and not skillful, 2 hr 600bahts) where offer good and cheap massage 200 bahts per hour.

there are restaurant and pub on the hotel rooftop as well, quite a nice view but not many people.

breakfast choices limited and lobby mostly crowded, pick this hotel if need a big and clean room and u already have a private transport or u don't mind to walk a distance.

Room Tip: higher floor always have better view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManlikaT, Manager at Furama Chiang Mai, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear dreamer326,

Good day from Furama Hotel Chiangmai.

Thank you very much for taking time out of your busy day to leave us a candid review on Trip Advisor in regards to your stay at Furama Hotel Chiangmai . We are very proud and glad to know that you like spacious and cleanliness of our room, we promise that we will maintain a high standard of cleanliness of our hotel with us forever.

Also, we apologized for the variety of breakfast and area of placement and also the hot water system problem, now your specific issues have been taken up by the heads of all concerned departments, especially Engineering & F&B Departments and appropriate measures will be taken to ensure performance is enhanced.

Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations. We are now looking for a solution to the problem so this wouldn't be happened again and I hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done in the near future.

Again, thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. We look forward to welcome for your next visit and to provide you with higher quality service.

Finally, we sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you again .

With kind regards,

Manlika Thatsanaphak
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

Previously we have dined at the roof top restaurant (Xanadu) and thought the service poor, but because of the lovely location we thought we would give it another try.

Having reserved a table we were called a few hours before dinner to be told that the restaurant was very busy that evening and we would have to pre-order from a menu that they would email to us. We then received an email from the Furama's Food & Beverage Manager.

So we let the restaurant know our choices. However, when we arrived at the restaurant they denied all knowledge of the phone call and email!

As already said, the location is very nice but service is poor and the food is mediocre and expensive. A shame, as with better management this could be a lovely place to dine.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaiwat S, Manager at Furama Chiang Mai, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear 328markm328 ,

On behalf of F&B Manager ( Mr.Patpong Hongsrithong).

Thank you very much for taking time out of your busy day to leave us a candid review on Trip Advisor in regards to your dining at the roof top restaurant.

We are sorry to learn that the service was lacking. One of our priorities is to provide quality service, therefore your comments are very important and useful for us. Your specific issue has been taken up by the head department who concerned and appropriate measures will be taken to ensure performance is enhanced.

Also, we apologized for the poor service that happened with you in the restaurant and the communication failure of F&B department. So this wouldn't be happened again on your next visit.

Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations. Your review will be used to reconsider improvements needed and I hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Again, thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. We look forward to welcome for your next visit and to provide you with higher quality service.

With kind regards,

Manlika Tatsanaphak
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire Uk
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Hotel short drive from airport.
The worst aspect of the stay was the chaos at breakfast time. There were far too many people for the seats available. There were insufficent plates, cups and glasses
A clean room but towels very thin. There was a distinct smell from either the drains or the air conditioning and we were on 16th floor.
Our room was set up with a little kitchen area with sink and loads of cupboards but no crockery, cutlery or microwave!
One of the lights did not work when we got into the room but it was fixed within 5 mins when it was reported.
Room looked out over waste/marshy ground.
It is a bit out of town and although we were told you could walk in there were no pavements/sidewalks on the main road.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaiwat S, Manager at Furama Chiang Mai, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Mr. stroller75,

Good day to you from Chiang Mai, Thailand.

I am writing to apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced as the result of lacking the equipment and facilities in the hotel. that should be provided for the value guest and make you feel unsatisfied.

There is simply no excuse for what transpired. As a hotel, we take pride in providing the efficient service. However, that is not what you experienced and for that we must apologize. Please be assured that the matter is taken very seriously and appropriate actions were taken to avoid future re-occurrence of this matter.

Once again, please accept our apologies. And please do not hesitate to contact me or my colleague if you need any future assistance.

With kind regards,

Manlika Thatsanaphak
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Furama Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Furama Chiang Mai

Address: 54 Huay Keaw Road | Tambol Chang Puak, Muang, (formerly Grand Heritage Hotel), Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#46 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Furama Chiang Mai 4*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Furama Chiang Mai is an elegant 4 –star hotel with 17–storey high located at the fringe of CBD and North of Chiang Mai. The 294 well-appointed and spacious rooms are decorated with a blend of chic and contemporary Thai, complementing the diversity culture of Chiang Mai with full amenities and facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Furama Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Furama Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Furama Chiang Mai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.