We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Furama Chiang Mai

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Furama Chiang Mai to your Saves list
Furama Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   54 Huay Keaw Road | Tambol Chang Puak, Muang, (formerly Grand Heritage Hotel), Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #160 of 353 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not bad!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

Our family of 4 stayed in this large hotel a short ride from the airport. We booked a 2 bed room suite which was absolutely huge! It was clean and spacious with all the facilities you would expect, tv in each room with a dvd player and the lounge that had surround sound. Breakfast was adequate, but nothing to get excited about, we did not eat in the restaurant but did order room service which was good. The room was a little outdated but for the size and price we would definitely stay there again if we come back to Chiang Mai. We were disappointed with the pool, only the rooftop one was open which was freezing and very small.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank ChCh73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManlikaT, Manager at Furama Chiang Mai, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear ChCh73,

Good day from Furama Hotel Chiangmai.

Thank you very much for taking time out of your busy day to leave us a candid review on Trip Advisor in regards to your stay at Furama Hotel Chiangmai .

Moreover, it is disappointing to know you were not satisfied with our breakfasts which are plentiful, but not significantly different each day and also the pool that provided only one area on the rooftop because of the function on the other floor.

Please accept my apologies for falling short of your exceptions.
We promised that we will improve all your comment for the best.

Thank you again for bringing us these issues and also thank you very much for your review. Your feedback is very important to us. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip.

With kind regards,

Ms.Manlika Thatsanaphak
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

hotel room is big, even with a sofa in the room still have plenty of space.. water heater not hot enough but at least bath tub is not too old and dirty..

nearby have a shopping still under construction, will be a good location when the mall open. when i stayed there, need to walk about 15 mins to find a local massage (hotel provide room massage but not cheap and not skillful, 2 hr 600bahts) where offer good and cheap massage 200 bahts per hour.

there are restaurant and pub on the hotel rooftop as well, quite a nice view but not many people.

breakfast choices limited and lobby mostly crowded, pick this hotel if need a big and clean room and u already have a private transport or u don't mind to walk a distance.

Room Tip: higher floor always have better view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dreamer326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManlikaT, Manager at Furama Chiang Mai, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear dreamer326,

Good day from Furama Hotel Chiangmai.

Thank you very much for taking time out of your busy day to leave us a candid review on Trip Advisor in regards to your stay at Furama Hotel Chiangmai . We are very proud and glad to know that you like spacious and cleanliness of our room, we promise that we will maintain a high standard of cleanliness of our hotel with us forever.

Also, we apologized for the variety of breakfast and area of placement and also the hot water system problem, now your specific issues have been taken up by the heads of all concerned departments, especially Engineering & F&B Departments and appropriate measures will be taken to ensure performance is enhanced.

Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations. We are now looking for a solution to the problem so this wouldn't be happened again and I hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done in the near future.

Again, thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. We look forward to welcome for your next visit and to provide you with higher quality service.

Finally, we sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you again .

With kind regards,

Manlika Thatsanaphak
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Hotel short drive from airport.
The worst aspect of the stay was the chaos at breakfast time. There were far too many people for the seats available. There were insufficent plates, cups and glasses
A clean room but towels very thin. There was a distinct smell from either the drains or the air conditioning and we were on 16th floor.
Our room was set up with a little kitchen area with sink and loads of cupboards but no crockery, cutlery or microwave!
One of the lights did not work when we got into the room but it was fixed within 5 mins when it was reported.
Room looked out over waste/marshy ground.
It is a bit out of town and although we were told you could walk in there were no pavements/sidewalks on the main road.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CB42022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaiwat S, Manager at Furama Chiang Mai, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Mr. stroller75,

Good day to you from Chiang Mai, Thailand.

I am writing to apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced as the result of lacking the equipment and facilities in the hotel. that should be provided for the value guest and make you feel unsatisfied.

There is simply no excuse for what transpired. As a hotel, we take pride in providing the efficient service. However, that is not what you experienced and for that we must apologize. Please be assured that the matter is taken very seriously and appropriate actions were taken to avoid future re-occurrence of this matter.

Once again, please accept our apologies. And please do not hesitate to contact me or my colleague if you need any future assistance.

With kind regards,

Manlika Thatsanaphak
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chiang Mai hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

I've stayed in all sorts of hotels, in ranging from the very cheap ($30/night) to the very expensive ($300/night). Furama was simply the worst of them all.

It claims to be a 4 star hotel, but it is a 2 star at best.

Good:
-Rooms are big
-Easy walk to Nimmanhaemin neighbourhood

Bad:

Check-In - We were told that they were sold out of the room we booked on Expedia, so they made us wait, then "upgraded" us to an Executive Suite.

Concierge - We asked about visiting the Doi Suthep temple. Instead of providing us options, they directed us to the Travel company they're linked to, who quoted us 400 Baht for a round trip. We did our own research online, and found out that there's a public taxi option that costs a lot less (less than 100 Baht).

Wi-Fi - They neglected to provide the wifi login/password with our room keys. I called to ask for it, I was instructed to return to the front desk. Every other hotel is capable of providing this over the phone, but Furama wants you to do some legwork! The Wifi quality is terrible. It's slow, and kicks you out every 30 minutes, requiring you to constantly log back in.

Rooms - Terrible, ugly decor, very bad lighting. This is a matter of taste, so you may like the old-fashioned look. What's unforgivable is how dirty the "Executive" suite was. There were crumbs on the couch, nasty brown stains on the table, and the slippers provided had clearly just been worn by the previous guest. The shower is utterly filthy (see pics), and the bath mat provided is just as dirty. There's some nice big windows with a mountain view, but they're caked with dirt. If you look out the window, there's pigeon poop everywhere.

Breakfast - Decent selection, ok quality.

Check-Out - We checked out a bit early (5AM). When we arrived at the front desk, there was no one there. We asked one of the cleaners, and he had to go wake up the front desk person, who was sleeping on the couch! He was very irritated that we interrupted his nap, and was rude during the checkout process. We asked for a taxi, he said he can't get us one and that we should walk down the street and try to flag a tuk-tuk.

Just avoid this hotel at all costs. There are tons of other options in the area.

Note to the Hotel Manager - You've been commenting on Tripadvisor about fixing the issues over a year now (I went as far back as November 2012). The issues still exist. Please stop making promises, and fix the problems.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shimTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaiwat S, Manager at Furama Chiang Mai, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear shimTO,

Thanks for the time you gave to advise the hotel in this time on TripAdvisor.

On behalf of all managements and staff of Furama Chiang Mai Hotel, I would like to express my sincere apologies for the unfortunate incident you had encountered in the early morning of your last day in our hotel, thus the investigation has been carried out seriously.


We are sorry to learn that our service still was lacking and we know that these issues have come up over and over again, we really want to inform you that we did not ignore all the problems because one of our priorities is to provide quality service, therefore your comments are very important to us. Your specific issues have been taken up by the heads of all concerned departments and appropriate measures will be taken to ensure performance is enhanced.
We look forward to welcome for your next visit and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done .Please contact us directly for your next stay for providing you with higher quality service.

With kind regards,

Ms.Manlika Thatsanaphak
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

The location of the hotel is convenient, around 20 minutes taxi from airport and 15 minutes walk to the old town, 20 minutes tuk tuk to the Ping River area. One bad thing is that the washroom and the windows are not very clean. The room is spacious and with so many cupboards that we found it a bit odd. The bed is cosy and we had a room with very good city view which we could see all the lanterns at the sky during our stay. Overall a ok hotel given the location and price.

Room Tip: ask them for a higher floor, the one i had was city view which is good too
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaiwat S, Manager at Furama Chiang Mai, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Natalie C,

Thank you very much for taking time out of your busy day to leave us a candid review on TripAdvisor in regards to your stay at Furama Hotel Chiang Mai .

We glad to hear that you happy with the location and the spacious room, even though it felt strange cause of having excessive of drawer.

It is disappointing to know you were not satisfied with the bathroom and the window which look unclean. Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations. Your review will be used to reconsider improvements needed and I hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done. Thank you again for bringing us these issues.

We look forward to welcome for your next visit and to provide you with higher quality service.

Sincerely,

Ms.Manlika Tatsanaphak
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Italy
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

We booked a deluxe room for 3 nights. When we arrive we found the bathroom in bad conditions: dirty, old and decrepit.
The day after the staff cleaned the room and they forgot to leave towels, towel paper, bathmat and free drinking water!!!
We told that to the reception but they looked disappointed because our claim.
We notified the issues (decrepit bath and other) to the internet travel agency we booked the hotel and the 3rd night (the last) they upgraded to an executive room which was fine.
The hotel is too far from Chiang Mai downtown and they don't have any free shuttle at 19 to go to downtown as other reviewers said.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank esc014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaiwat S, Front Office Manager at Furama Chiang Mai, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear es014,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to leave us a candid review.

We are sorry to learn that the service was lacking. One of our priorities is to provide quality service, therefore your comments are very important to us. Your specific issues have been taken up by the heads of all concerned departments and appropriate measures will be taken to ensure performance is enhanced.

Thank you again for bringing us these issues. It is disappointing to know you were not satisfied with the room ,especially the bathroom . Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations. Your review will be used to reconsider improvements needed and I hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

We look forward to welcome for your next visit and to provide you with higher quality service.

With kind regards,

Chaiwat Sachato
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

I checked in here several times and preferred this hotel than many others around this area. Bigger lobby, bigger room. It may look a bit old but every things still in the good condition. Not easy to book a room in the hi season.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Bike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaiwat S, Front Office Manager at Furama Chiang Mai, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Bike A,

Thank you very much for taking time out of your busy day to leave us a candid review on TripAdvisor in regards to your stay at Furama Hotel Chiangmai . We are very proud and glad to read your feedback that you preferred to stay with our hotel, it gives us great encouragement to work a lot.

We promise that we will maintain a high standard of service of our hotel with us forever.

Finally, we sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

With kind regards,

Chaiwat Sachato
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.5 mi away
Lotus Hotel Pang Suan Kaew
Lotus Hotel Pang Suan Kaew
#130 of 353 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 stars 340 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chiangmai Grandview Hotel
Chiangmai Grandview Hotel
#79 of 353 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 stars 80 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mercure Chiang Mai
Mercure Chiang Mai
#113 of 353 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 stars 778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
#67 of 353 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 stars 1,199 reviews
2.4 mi away
Chiang Mai Plaza Hotel
Chiang Mai Plaza Hotel
#159 of 353 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 stars 827 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chiang Mai Orchid Hotel
Chiang Mai Orchid Hotel
#139 of 353 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 stars 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Furama Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Furama Chiang Mai

Address: 54 Huay Keaw Road | Tambol Chang Puak, Muang, (formerly Grand Heritage Hotel), Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#49 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Furama Chiang Mai 4*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Furama Chiang Mai is an elegant 4 –star hotel with 17–storey high located at the fringe of CBD and North of Chiang Mai. The 294 well-appointed and spacious rooms are decorated with a blend of chic and contemporary Thai, complementing the diversity culture of Chiang Mai with full amenities and facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Venere, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Furama Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Furama Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing