We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Furama Chiang Mai

Save Saved
You added Furama Chiang Mai to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Furama Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   54 Huay Keaw Road | Tambol Chang Puak, Muang, (formerly Grand Heritage Hotel), Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #131 of 327 hotels in Chiang Mai
Paris, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I had a great stay. The rooms were good, the staff were friendly and helpful and I enjoyed the use of the roof-top pool. The location may not be to everyone's tastes but there are some great restaurants nearby and it is only a short walk to the Nimanhaeman road with all its cool bars and restaurants. For me it was perfect as I wanted to base myself on Huay Kaew road as I was cycling and wanted to avoid all the traffic around the moat. Try eating at the food market which is set up outside of the big shopping centre from time to time. Delicious, authentic and cheap.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaiwat S, Front Office Manager at Furama Chiang Mai, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Simon K,

Thank you for the time you dedicated to write a review on TripAdvisor in regards to your stay at Furama Hotel Chiangmai .We are very proud and glad to read your feedback, it gives us great encouragement to work a lot.

We promise that we will maintain a high standard of service of our hotel with us forever.

Finally, we sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

With kind regards,
Chaiwat Sachato
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    36
    33
    13
    10
See reviews for
15
48
14
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Trang, Thailand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

When we made a booking, we wanted to have a hotel that close to restaurants district & airport for a business trip of my boyfriend so here is our choice for a trial stay. We arrived so late night and the airport representative as our driver which booked through hotel made us impressed his guiding conversation :) the airport fee is moderate price when compare with other big tourism cities in Thailand. The receptionist reconfirmed us our booking for room only. We noted this however we did not realize the hotel provide in-room dining service from 11 am to 11 pm. As we woke up late at 9.45 hrs then were rush to order breakfast at the lobby , we ordered two glasses of orange juice, one dish of club sandwich , and one dish of omelette , 3 rash of bacon, some rice, grilled tomatoes on the same dish. However , the staff who took the order not inform for their operation system, we had awaited out food almost 40 minutes, there were only juices served us. We could not wait as of out meeting time , so we cancelled our meal and paid only juice. We thought our dish were simple ingredients to prepare as we ordered while the breakfast buffet line almost finished in 10 minutes, but nobody cares or not know how to handle , finally that staff told the hotel changed the kitchen system to cook on 17th floor or upper floor & took time to await.

We would not mind if just to let us know how long we have to wait but nobody informed us.
But we were happy that the waiter for evening restaurant at the rooftop informed when they not have some dish so we ordered another to replace .

One thing I not like at the balcony, it has too much bird (pigeon) droppings , caused it was dirty always, can't stand on balcony to see nice city & mountain view .

It's good that close to Nimmanhemin road as a big restaurant district in Chiang Mai. Not far from the zoo too.

It's old hotel but the Internet was good for working. We got quiet room that was great for us to sleep.

Room Tip: Mountain view is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaiwat S, Front Office Manager at Furama Chiang Mai, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Ommyview,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking time out of your busy day to leave us a candid review. We are sorry to learn that the service was lacking. One of our priorities is to provide quality service, therefore your comments are very important to us. Your specific issues have been taken up by the heads of all concerned departments and appropriate measures will be taken to ensure performance is enhanced.

Also, we apologized for the dirt at the balcony causes by the pigeon droppings and the imprudence of the cleaning staff. We are now looking for a solution to the problem of bird droppings so this wouldn't be happened again on your next trip.

Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations. Your review will be used to reconsider improvements needed and I hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Again, thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. We look forward to welcome for your next visit and to provide you with higher quality service.

With kind regards,
Chaiwat Sachato
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Samui, Thailand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

This hotel was quite old even they had a good maintaining. The location was right in the city. It's very easy to get out and had a taxi. Room was nice, but the bathroom was out of date. Hotel interior was good. The pool was old and not very clean. Anyway i did not mind to stay there as it's convenient and not expensive. Overall it's okay and will recommend to all budget travelers.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with pool view unless you will the city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaiwat S, Front Office Manager at Furama Chiang Mai, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear MariaHicoralcove,

Thank you very much for taking time out of your busy day to leave us a candid review on TripAdvisor in regards to your stay at Furama Hotel Chiang Mai .

We glad to hear that you happy to stay with us but it is disappointing to know you were not satisfied with the bathroom and other facilities of our hotel especially the pool, which look unclean. Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations. Your review will be used to reconsider improvements needed.

Thank you again for bringing us these issues. We look forward to welcome for your next visit and to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,
Chaiwat Sachato
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This hotel definitely had it's pros and cons. The location is a short ride to the Old City (about 60 THB by tuk tuk) and around a 20 minute walk to row of restaurants (there's a mexican, japanese, tapas and thai restaurant on that row) if you exit through the *BACK* of the hotel. Walk through the hotel dining area and you'll see glass doors. Walk through it to get to the back building which is also part of the hotel, but a much older building where they have their seminar room and spaces that they rent out to businesses like car rental, laundromat, minimart, furniture shop etc. The walk through this part of the hotel is about a 3 minute walk n is fairly creepy esp at night. But it'll cut u through to the road that leads straight into the Old City. That'll save u time and money on tuk tuk.

I got a Superior room on the 16th floor. It was much bigger than i expected and had a little kitchen. The bathroom was very spacious and had a separate shower and bathtub. The bed and room was reasonably clean. The bathroom however needed some scrubbing on the walls in the shower area. We used the bathtub shower instead. But despite the little bathroom grime, I am generally pleased with the room overall. It had a big fridge, and spacious wardrobe. For anyone thinking of adding another bed in this room, you'll have ample room.

The only problem i had with my stay that really affected my comfort was actually the noise the bed frame makes when you get on, off or whenever you toss. Loud enough to even wake the person beside you.

Some other pros and cons: the room was quiet, the housekeeping staff were efficient and quick to attend to any request, the pool looks nasty, the wifi was great, tv had a decent number of english speaking channels, room had plenty of electrical outlets (i counted: around 6 or 7) so u can charge all of your electrical gadgets at one time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaiwat S, Front Office Manager at Furama Chiang Mai, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear catspyjamaz ,

Thank you very much for taking time out of your busy day to leave us a candid review on TripAdvisor in regards to your stay at Furama Hotel Chiang Mai .

We glad to hear that you happy with the decorative style of our superior room.

It is disappointing to know you were not satisfied with the bathroom and other facilities of our hotel especially the pool which look unclean. Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations. Your review will be used to reconsider improvements needed and I hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done. Thank you again for bringing us these issues.

We look forward to welcome for your next visit and to provide you with higher quality service.

Sincerely,

Chaiwat Sachato
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

It's located on highway and huay kaew road that easy to hide away from hard traffic. The room is very big with a small kitchen, standard bedroom and bathroom, the price is acceptable, ABF is good quality. I always choose furama when stay ar Chiang Mai. Don't miss dinner at Xanadu restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaiwat S, Front Office Manager at Furama Chiang Mai, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Wichar W,

Thank you very much for taking time out of your busy day to leave us a candid review on TripAdvisor in regards to your stay at Furama Hotel Chiang Mai .

We glad to hear that you happy with the decorative style of our hotel, enjoy with our breakfast and in particular the dinner at Xanadu Restaurant.

We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip.

With kind regards,

Chaiwat Sachato
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I had a nice stay in this hotel. The staffs were friendly and help us out in all possible ways.The room was good and very clean.The hotel though now shows it's age from the outer looks, toilet and from the balconies.But my stay in Furama was great and had no problems.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaiwat S, Front Office Manager at Furama Chiang Mai, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear justin 1,

Thank you for the time you dedicated to write a review on TripAdvisor in regards to your stay at Furama Hotel Chiangmai .We are very proud and glad to read your feedback, it gives us great encouragement to work a lot.

We promise that we will maintain a high standard of service of our hotel with us forever. Finally, we sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

With kind regards,

Chaiwat Sachato
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Booked a Deluxe King room on-line and check-in was straight forward although for some reason the hotel had us booked in for 3 nights instead of 2. The hotel has been a grand building in the past but is showing its age now and things are being overlooked.

After arriving in our room, I opened the curtains to find an empty beer can sitting on the balcony, together with copious amounts of pigeon droppings. The room was comfortable although the air conditioning struggled to cool the room.

The following morning we visited the breakfast buffet, and I realize we are in Thailand, but the western breakfast really was terrible.

In summary, the hotel was satisfactory and the room comfortable, but I'm not sure I'd book in again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaiwat S, Front Office Manager at Furama Chiang Mai, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear 2TravellersAustralia,

Thank you for sharing your first experience with us. We apologized for the dirt at the balcony
causes by the pigeon droppings and the imprudence of the cleaning staff. We are now looking for a solution to the problem of bird droppings so this wouldn't be happened again on your next trip.

Moreover, it is disappointing to know you were not satisfied with our breakfast, please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations.

Thank you again for bringing us these issues and also thank you very much for your review. Your feedback is very important to us. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip.

With kind regards,

Chaiwat Sachato
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Furama Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Furama Chiang Mai

Also Known As:
Furama Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Furama Chiang Mai Hotel
Address: 54 Huay Keaw Road | Tambol Chang Puak, Muang, (formerly Grand Heritage Hotel), Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Furama Chiang Mai 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Furama Chiang Mai is an elegant 4 –star hotel with 17–storey high located at the fringe of CBD and North of Chiang Mai. The 294 well-appointed and spacious rooms are decorated with a blend of chic and contemporary Thai, complementing the diversity culture of Chiang Mai with full amenities and facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Venere, HotelTravel.com, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your Furama Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Furama Chiang Mai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.