We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great..” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Furama Chiang Mai

Save Saved
You added Furama Chiang Mai to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Furama Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   54 Huay Keaw Road | Tambol Chang Puak, Muang, (formerly Grand Heritage Hotel), Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #135 of 330 hotels in Chiang Mai
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“Not great..”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

The hotel lobby is really great, however the rest of the place is very old. The room is very quaint, nothing fancy but you get what you pay for. The beds however, are extremely hard.

My partner and I wanted to explore a little and try a place outside the hotel for lunch. We asked the staff where was a place to eat and they only recommended the restaurant in the hotel. I told them we wanted to get outside of the hotel but they kept insisting on us eating in. We later discovered there was a very nice, and cheaper restaurant literally right across from the lobby doors as well as a few great places down the street. When we went to eat lunch at the hotel restaurant we waited a very long time for our food. When my partner's food finally arrived, it was then I was notified my meal was not available. Why I wasn't told that as soon as our order went to the kitchen, I do not know.

The 360 bar and grill is located on the roof and is a very nice venue. However, the food is a little over priced. The quality is good with a nice selection, but I think it's best to just have drinks, enjoy the view, and try somewhere else to eat. My partner is not from Thailand and cannot take a lot of spice, but he likes a little bit. We asked for just a little spice in his soup but when the dish came it almost made him cry it was so hot! When I looked in the soup there were so many red chilis. I am half Thai and very used to spice and even that dish was way too hot for me. We had to order something different and we were still charged for the meal we couldn't even eat. It is also very dark at the restaurant on the roof, the waiter had to constantly hold a flashlight for us in order to see the menu (which is also why we couldn't see the chilis in the soup).

I understand that sometimes it can be hard for a foreigner eating thai spices but I don't think if a dish is inedible we should still pay for it. I wouldn't say the service was terrible at this hotel, just not as great many other places I have stayed in Thailand. Location wise, I would probably stay somewhere closer to the city. The hotel is close enough for a cheap tuk tuk but I still would have liked to be walking distance to some places. We got a driver through the hotel who took us around Chiang Mai. He was really great and probably the highlight of our stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaiwat S, Front Office Manager at Furama Chiang Mai, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear smg1992 ,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking time out of your busy day to leave us a candid review. We are sorry to learn that the service was lacking. One of our priorities is to provide quality service, therefore your comments are very important to us. Your specific issues have been taken up by the heads of all concerned departments and appropriate measures will be taken to ensure performance is enhanced.

Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations. Your review will be used to reconsider improvements needed and I hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Again, thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. We look forward to welcome for your next visit and to provide you with higher quality service.

With kind regards,

Chaiwat Sachato
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    37
    34
    13
    10
See reviews for
15
49
15
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
london
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The hotel looks amazing as you walk in. The room was very spacious and comfortable had good nights sleep.A little way from the market and town centre but plenty of tuk tuk to take you anywhere that you want.The breakfast time was an absolute nightmare.No coffee cups,no butter no marmalade , no bread,asked three times for things told to wait a minute ,waited 20 minutes gave up had no breakfast. Their attitude in the breakfast room was a disgace.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaiwat S, Front Office Manager at Furama Chiang Mai, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear pebbles 123 london,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to leave us a candid review. I am also happy that you liked the room but it is disappointing to know you were not satisfied with our breakfast and our service in the restaurant of the hotel, this was soon resolved.

Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations. Your review will be used to reconsider improvements needed and I hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

We appreciate your feedback and we hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Chaiwat Sachato
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Changchun, China
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed here for three nights. Upon check-in, they were friendly to me but not to my wife, who is Thai. She was very offended by their manner and greeting to her.

Wi-fi is free in the rooms but very slow. The room is quite spacious but definitely needs some tuning up. If they spent as much time renovating the rooms as they do the lobby, then this would be a nice place to stay. Mold in the shower, hard bed, cracked ceilings and walls, and bird poop all over the balcony (disgusting - see picture attached).

The hotel is also very far from the center. You will need a motorbike or rely on taxis or sangteows to get to the night bazaar or Chiang Mai gate. There are no real good restaurants nearby - most cater to foreign tourists and are thus very overpriced. The hotel does have a service center to rent motorbikes, but it is very overpriced and they are very slow - we nearly missed our flight because we were waiting for the guy to return so we could get my passport back. Basically, this is barely a 3-star hotel. Stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaiwat S, Front Office Manager at Furama Chiang Mai, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear oxfordstu,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and taking the time to review our hotel. We are sorry to learn that the service was lacking. One of our priorities is to provide quality service. Therefore your comments are very important to us. Your specific issues will be bringing up by the heads of all concerned departments and appropriate measures will be taken to ensure performance is enhanced.

Once again, Thank you for bringing us these issues and we are looking forward to your next visit and to provide you with higher quality service.

Sincerely,

Chaiwat Sachato
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

terrible, worst place we have stayed in 4 weeks we have been in thailand. when we arrived i was asked for a deposit which i payed in cash, when i checked out they had no record that i left a deposit?. in the evening we went up to the bar/resturant area , and was waiting to be seated for 10 mins (staff standing around talking, and loads of spare space) we ended up going else where. the rooms needed lots of repair- ceilings cut out, out of date/broken furniture. would not recommend

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaiwat S, Front Office Manager at Furama Chiang Mai, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear callum a,

Greeting from Furama Chiangmai.

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to leave us a candid review. I was delighted to read that after some initial issues with the cash deposit, it is disappointing to know you were not satisfied .

The investigation shown that upon checking in procedure , our staff asked you only a credit card number to guarantee the booking as we have explained to your primary e-mail.

Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations. Your review will be used to reconsider improvements needed and I hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Again, thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. We look forward to welcome you back whenever you visit Chiang Mai again.

Sincerely,

Chaiwat Sachato
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Good customer service, large clean rooms, amazing buffet breakfast which we had included. Is located out of city centre but taxis/tuk tuks were cheap enough that this was not a problem. There is a big mall 5-10min walk away. The only thing we were disappointed in was that we booked it for the pool, several days we were there they had functions on around the pool which meant we could not access the pool.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaiwat S, Front Office Manager at Furama Chiang Mai, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Amy S,

Thank you very much for your taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor in regards to your stay at Furama Hotel Chiangmai. We happy Please accept our apologies for falling short of your expectation to hear that you are enjoyed your stay with us.

It is disappointing to know you were not satisfied cause of closing pool. Please accept our apologies for falling short of your expectations. Your review will be used to reconsider improvements needed and I hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

We appreciate your feedback and we hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,
Chaiwat Sachato
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

The hotel is hidden away down a cul de sac but accessible through an unsigned shopping mall. A nice friendly welcome with lovely lobby/foyer. The room was large with a kitchen sink, fridge and large hot water geyser. Passing through the ground-floor restaurant takes you through glass double doors and onto a polished tiled walkway which leads through a small shopping/business mall and adjoining hotel and onto the main road which eventually takes you to the city centre some 20 minute car journey away. However if you cross the road and turn left for 50 yds there is an opening between 2 car washes which opens out to reveal a selection of restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaiwat S, Front Office Manager at Furama Chiang Mai, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear ex-pc ,

Thank you very much for your taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor in regards to your stay at Furama Hotel Chiangmai. We glad to hear your feedback .

Again, thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. We look forward to welcome you back whenever you visit Chiang Mai again.

Sincerely,

Chaiwat Sachato
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

The staff were really helpful & great to deal with the room was spacious & the bed was just right. Location was a bit far from the city centre but lots of shops & stuff not far from the hotel and it was good to get away from all the tourists anyway.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaiwat S, Front Office Manager at Furama Chiang Mai, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear Karz K,

Thank you for the time you dedicated to write a review on TripAdvisor in regards to your stay at Furama Hotel Chiangmai .We are very proud and glad to read your feedback, it gives us great encouragement to work a lot.

We promise that we will maintain a high standard of service of our hotel with us forever.

Again, thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. We look forward to welcome you back whenever you visit Chiangmai again.

With kind regards,

Chaiwat Sachato
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Furama Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Furama Chiang Mai

Address: 54 Huay Keaw Road | Tambol Chang Puak, Muang, (formerly Grand Heritage Hotel), Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Furama Chiang Mai 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Furama Chiang Mai is an elegant 4 –star hotel with 17–storey high located at the fringe of CBD and North of Chiang Mai. The 294 well-appointed and spacious rooms are decorated with a blend of chic and contemporary Thai, complementing the diversity culture of Chiang Mai with full amenities and facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Furama Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Furama Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Furama Chiang Mai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.