We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Furama Chiang Mai

Save Saved
You added Furama Chiang Mai to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Furama Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   54 Huay Keaw Road | Tambol Chang Puak, Muang, (formerly Grand Heritage Hotel), Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #134 of 330 hotels in Chiang Mai
Changchun, China
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Not the best...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed here for three nights. Upon check-in, they were friendly to me but not to my wife, who is Thai. She was very offended by their manner and greeting to her.

Wi-fi is free in the rooms but very slow. The room is quite spacious but definitely needs some tuning up. If they spent as much time renovating the rooms as they do the lobby, then this would be a nice place to stay. Mold in the shower, hard bed, cracked ceilings and walls, and bird poop all over the balcony (disgusting - see picture attached).

The hotel is also very far from the center. You will need a motorbike or rely on taxis or sangteows to get to the night bazaar or Chiang Mai gate. There are no real good restaurants nearby - most cater to foreign tourists and are thus very overpriced. The hotel does have a service center to rent motorbikes, but it is very overpriced and they are very slow - we nearly missed our flight because we were waiting for the guy to return so we could get my passport back. Basically, this is barely a 3-star hotel. Stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaiwat S, Front Office Manager at Furama Chiang Mai, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear oxfordstu,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and taking the time to review our hotel. We are sorry to learn that the service was lacking. One of our priorities is to provide quality service. Therefore your comments are very important to us. Your specific issues will be bringing up by the heads of all concerned departments and appropriate measures will be taken to ensure performance is enhanced.

Once again, Thank you for bringing us these issues and we are looking forward to your next visit and to provide you with higher quality service.

Sincerely,

Chaiwat Sachato
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    37
    34
    13
    10
See reviews for
15
49
15
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

terrible, worst place we have stayed in 4 weeks we have been in thailand. when we arrived i was asked for a deposit which i payed in cash, when i checked out they had no record that i left a deposit?. in the evening we went up to the bar/resturant area , and was waiting to be seated for 10 mins (staff standing around talking, and loads of spare space) we ended up going else where. the rooms needed lots of repair- ceilings cut out, out of date/broken furniture. would not recommend

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaiwat S, Front Office Manager at Furama Chiang Mai, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear callum a,

Greeting from Furama Chiangmai.

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to leave us a candid review. I was delighted to read that after some initial issues with the cash deposit, it is disappointing to know you were not satisfied .

The investigation shown that upon checking in procedure , our staff asked you only a credit card number to guarantee the booking as we have explained to your primary e-mail.

Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations. Your review will be used to reconsider improvements needed and I hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Again, thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. We look forward to welcome you back whenever you visit Chiang Mai again.

Sincerely,

Chaiwat Sachato
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Good customer service, large clean rooms, amazing buffet breakfast which we had included. Is located out of city centre but taxis/tuk tuks were cheap enough that this was not a problem. There is a big mall 5-10min walk away. The only thing we were disappointed in was that we booked it for the pool, several days we were there they had functions on around the pool which meant we could not access the pool.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaiwat S, Front Office Manager at Furama Chiang Mai, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Amy S,

Thank you very much for your taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor in regards to your stay at Furama Hotel Chiangmai. We happy Please accept our apologies for falling short of your expectation to hear that you are enjoyed your stay with us.

It is disappointing to know you were not satisfied cause of closing pool. Please accept our apologies for falling short of your expectations. Your review will be used to reconsider improvements needed and I hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

We appreciate your feedback and we hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,
Chaiwat Sachato
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

The hotel is hidden away down a cul de sac but accessible through an unsigned shopping mall. A nice friendly welcome with lovely lobby/foyer. The room was large with a kitchen sink, fridge and large hot water geyser. Passing through the ground-floor restaurant takes you through glass double doors and onto a polished tiled walkway which leads through a small shopping/business mall and adjoining hotel and onto the main road which eventually takes you to the city centre some 20 minute car journey away. However if you cross the road and turn left for 50 yds there is an opening between 2 car washes which opens out to reveal a selection of restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaiwat S, Front Office Manager at Furama Chiang Mai, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear ex-pc ,

Thank you very much for your taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor in regards to your stay at Furama Hotel Chiangmai. We glad to hear your feedback .

Again, thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. We look forward to welcome you back whenever you visit Chiang Mai again.

Sincerely,

Chaiwat Sachato
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

The staff were really helpful & great to deal with the room was spacious & the bed was just right. Location was a bit far from the city centre but lots of shops & stuff not far from the hotel and it was good to get away from all the tourists anyway.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaiwat S, Front Office Manager at Furama Chiang Mai, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear Karz K,

Thank you for the time you dedicated to write a review on TripAdvisor in regards to your stay at Furama Hotel Chiangmai .We are very proud and glad to read your feedback, it gives us great encouragement to work a lot.

We promise that we will maintain a high standard of service of our hotel with us forever.

Again, thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. We look forward to welcome you back whenever you visit Chiangmai again.

With kind regards,

Chaiwat Sachato
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipoh, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The hotel is situated in a small cul de sac off the Chiang Super Highway. Don't let the description fool you, its a large street with traffic lights et al. Initially I was disappointed with the location because the tuk tuks charged 200THB, but after haggling it came to 150, being so "far" from the city. Later I realised that that the hotel is only part of 2 interconnecting buildings and if you use the back way you can get on to the main street next to the Korean Embassy and with all the restaurants, supermarket etc.

The quiet surroundings is a plus definitely. Staff very helpful and friendly and even assisted me in booking online at the check in desk so that I qualified for the 50% or so discount. Staff making sure walk-in customers got the best internet deal is rare. Even the tour operator tried to advise me about better deals that I had chosen etc.

Breakfast spread was reasonably good and the rooms are huge. Building is on the older side but amenities are sufficient.

I would stay here again but hope they will put up more signage about the walkway..

Room Tip: Ask the staff on how to get around. They will tell you about the walkway to the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaiwat S, Front Office Manager at Furama Chiang Mai, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Sychowlao,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to write a review on TripAdvisor in regards to your stay at Furama Hotel Chiangmai.

We promise that we will maintain our high standard of service and we will continuous to improve even

further, especially the direction signs about the walkway in the hotel that you recommended .

Finally, we sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Chaiwat Sachato
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

After a long trip from Bangkok, it feels really good to stay in this hotel. The lobby is beautiful. Their breakfast buffet was good. Intorn, one of the hotel staff, was very accommodating and very nice! Look for him if you need to know anything or tips to get around Chiang Mai! Though the wifi signal in the room was pretty weak and the location of the hotel was a little far from the city, overall, the experience was pretty amazing! After a long day of exploring the streets of Chiang Mai, coming home to Furama feels like a reward you deserve.

Room Tip: Standard room will do. You get to have a good view of the city especially at night. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaiwat S, Front Office Manager at Furama Chiang Mai, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Juzgalvez,

Thank you very much for taking time out of your busy day to leave us a candid review on TripAdvisor in regards to your stay at Furama Hotel Chiang Mai .
We glad to hear that you happy the decor of the hotel lobby, enjoy with our breakfast and in particular the staff of the hotel.
We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip.

With kind regards,

Chaiwat Sachato
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Furama Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Furama Chiang Mai

Address: 54 Huay Keaw Road | Tambol Chang Puak, Muang, (formerly Grand Heritage Hotel), Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Furama Chiang Mai 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Furama Chiang Mai is an elegant 4 –star hotel with 17–storey high located at the fringe of CBD and North of Chiang Mai. The 294 well-appointed and spacious rooms are decorated with a blend of chic and contemporary Thai, complementing the diversity culture of Chiang Mai with full amenities and facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Furama Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Furama Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Furama Chiang Mai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.