We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay here again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Furama Chiang Mai

Save Saved
You added Furama Chiang Mai to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Furama Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   54 Huay Keaw Road | Tambol Chang Puak, Muang, (formerly Grand Heritage Hotel), Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #134 of 330 hotels in Chiang Mai
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Would stay here again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Good customer service, large clean rooms, amazing buffet breakfast which we had included. Is located out of city centre but taxis/tuk tuks were cheap enough that this was not a problem. There is a big mall 5-10min walk away. The only thing we were disappointed in was that we booked it for the pool, several days we were there they had functions on around the pool which meant we could not access the pool.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaiwat S, Front Office Manager at Furama Chiang Mai, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Amy S,

Thank you very much for your taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor in regards to your stay at Furama Hotel Chiangmai. We happy Please accept our apologies for falling short of your expectation to hear that you are enjoyed your stay with us.

It is disappointing to know you were not satisfied cause of closing pool. Please accept our apologies for falling short of your expectations. Your review will be used to reconsider improvements needed and I hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

We appreciate your feedback and we hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,
Chaiwat Sachato
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    38
    34
    13
    10
See reviews for
15
50
15
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

The hotel is hidden away down a cul de sac but accessible through an unsigned shopping mall. A nice friendly welcome with lovely lobby/foyer. The room was large with a kitchen sink, fridge and large hot water geyser. Passing through the ground-floor restaurant takes you through glass double doors and onto a polished tiled walkway which leads through a small shopping/business mall and adjoining hotel and onto the main road which eventually takes you to the city centre some 20 minute car journey away. However if you cross the road and turn left for 50 yds there is an opening between 2 car washes which opens out to reveal a selection of restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaiwat S, Front Office Manager at Furama Chiang Mai, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear ex-pc ,

Thank you very much for your taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor in regards to your stay at Furama Hotel Chiangmai. We glad to hear your feedback .

Again, thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. We look forward to welcome you back whenever you visit Chiang Mai again.

Sincerely,

Chaiwat Sachato
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

The staff were really helpful & great to deal with the room was spacious & the bed was just right. Location was a bit far from the city centre but lots of shops & stuff not far from the hotel and it was good to get away from all the tourists anyway.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaiwat S, Front Office Manager at Furama Chiang Mai, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear Karz K,

Thank you for the time you dedicated to write a review on TripAdvisor in regards to your stay at Furama Hotel Chiangmai .We are very proud and glad to read your feedback, it gives us great encouragement to work a lot.

We promise that we will maintain a high standard of service of our hotel with us forever.

Again, thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. We look forward to welcome you back whenever you visit Chiangmai again.

With kind regards,

Chaiwat Sachato
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipoh, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The hotel is situated in a small cul de sac off the Chiang Super Highway. Don't let the description fool you, its a large street with traffic lights et al. Initially I was disappointed with the location because the tuk tuks charged 200THB, but after haggling it came to 150, being so "far" from the city. Later I realised that that the hotel is only part of 2 interconnecting buildings and if you use the back way you can get on to the main street next to the Korean Embassy and with all the restaurants, supermarket etc.

The quiet surroundings is a plus definitely. Staff very helpful and friendly and even assisted me in booking online at the check in desk so that I qualified for the 50% or so discount. Staff making sure walk-in customers got the best internet deal is rare. Even the tour operator tried to advise me about better deals that I had chosen etc.

Breakfast spread was reasonably good and the rooms are huge. Building is on the older side but amenities are sufficient.

I would stay here again but hope they will put up more signage about the walkway..

Room Tip: Ask the staff on how to get around. They will tell you about the walkway to the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaiwat S, Front Office Manager at Furama Chiang Mai, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Sychowlao,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to write a review on TripAdvisor in regards to your stay at Furama Hotel Chiangmai.

We promise that we will maintain our high standard of service and we will continuous to improve even

further, especially the direction signs about the walkway in the hotel that you recommended .

Finally, we sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Chaiwat Sachato
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

After a long trip from Bangkok, it feels really good to stay in this hotel. The lobby is beautiful. Their breakfast buffet was good. Intorn, one of the hotel staff, was very accommodating and very nice! Look for him if you need to know anything or tips to get around Chiang Mai! Though the wifi signal in the room was pretty weak and the location of the hotel was a little far from the city, overall, the experience was pretty amazing! After a long day of exploring the streets of Chiang Mai, coming home to Furama feels like a reward you deserve.

Room Tip: Standard room will do. You get to have a good view of the city especially at night. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaiwat S, Front Office Manager at Furama Chiang Mai, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Juzgalvez,

Thank you very much for taking time out of your busy day to leave us a candid review on TripAdvisor in regards to your stay at Furama Hotel Chiang Mai .
We glad to hear that you happy the decor of the hotel lobby, enjoy with our breakfast and in particular the staff of the hotel.
We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip.

With kind regards,

Chaiwat Sachato
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma, Italia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

For a 4 star hotel, I expected so much more! The hotel is very beautiful, the rooms are huge and clean. But the bathroom was a complete disaster! The water in the shower would not go down, and it was almost impossible to use the shower, as the water quickly would go everywhere... The tub was dirty and it was really small... I complained twice and they did nothing about it! The hotel is far from the city center and you will need a taxi or tuck tuck all the time, which could be expensive after a couple of days... So we decided to rent a motorcycle... Would not stay there again, from my experience in Thailand I learned that cheaper hotels are much better than luxury ones!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaiwat S, Front Office Manager at Furama Chiang Mai, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear cine_ana,

Thank you for sharing your first experience with us. We apologized for the dirt in the bathroom. We are now looking for a solution to the problem of sewerage system so this wouldn't be happened again on your next trip.
Thank you again for bringing us these issues and also thank you very much for your review. Your feedback is very important to us. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip.

With kind regards,

Chaiwat Sachato
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We were slightly apprehensive about this hotel at first, as it is kind of off a series of alleys, beside a highway, and beside a strange night gathering place for locals (which I was later told was an outdoor hot pot circus thing).

The room was HUGE complete with sink and full size refrigerator and freezer. The washroom had both a large shower stall and a bath tub. The room was so big that it did not have enough furniture to make it look full. Still, the staff were very nice, the room was clean, and the view from the rooftop bar was great.

The price was right as well.

All in all, a good stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaiwat S, Front Office Manager at Furama Chiang Mai, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Itam30,

Thank you for the time you dedicated to write a review on TripAdvisor in regards to your stay at Furama Chiangmai Hotel .We are very proud and glad to read your feedback, it gives us great encouragement to work a lot.
We promise that we will maintain a high standard of service of our hotel with us forever. Finally, we sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

With kind regards,

Chaiwat Sachato
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Furama Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Furama Chiang Mai

Address: 54 Huay Keaw Road | Tambol Chang Puak, Muang, (formerly Grand Heritage Hotel), Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Furama Chiang Mai 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Furama Chiang Mai is an elegant 4 –star hotel with 17–storey high located at the fringe of CBD and North of Chiang Mai. The 294 well-appointed and spacious rooms are decorated with a blend of chic and contemporary Thai, complementing the diversity culture of Chiang Mai with full amenities and facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Furama Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Furama Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Furama Chiang Mai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.