We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff Clean room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Furama Chiang Mai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Furama Chiang Mai to your Saves list
Furama Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   54 Huay Keaw Road | Tambol Chang Puak, Muang, (formerly Grand Heritage Hotel), Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #139 of 334 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Pattaya, Thailand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Friendly staff Clean room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

My first time at Furama Hotel ChiangMai, I'm very impress it. The clealiness of the room together with friendly staff that make 4nights was perfect. Breakfast was good, buffet lunch was perfect with a variety food, sure good quality.

Room Tip: High Floor are good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    60
    59
    27
    18
See reviews for
40
65
26
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mullumbimby, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We have seen this hotel building in many guises over the last 10 years from the frame of a rusting relic from the age of the '70s Asian financial crisis, to failed condo room development to its current state as the Furama Hotel Chiang Mai. The excessive interior design does nothing to make you feel that you are in a fully functioning hotel. Its in a terrible, no where near anything location, unless you have your own transport or taxi around all the time. The rooms are big but the one skin common walls are very thin and you can hear what ever is happening next door. The beds supper comfortable. We ordered room service twice as there are no restaurants close by. Whilst the food was ok, its expensive for what you get. The room rate through agoda represents good value. But if you are paying the walk-in rate its much too expensive. All the staff are very nice and obliging. Our most vivid memory is of the view of the bird poop that covered the dirty window.

Room Tip: Book on line, walk in rate a rip off, avoid superior rooms the beds are very old and uncomfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

I stayed at this hotel as part of a tour group, so in terms of location and getting around I cannot speak to that too much. Also I didn't deal with any of the staff so I'm not too sure about service.

The hotel and standard rooms themselves are large but are quite old. The bathroom definitely needs an upgrade and they need to try an install a air-conditioner that isn't so loud.

But in terms of functionality, everything "worked" and there were no disasters. The breakfast buffet was adequate with both self-serve and also cooked to order eggs and noodle soup.

I'd say if they are offering a very low price on rooms, it's not a bad place to stay.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Stay here for a total of 8 nights over a 1 month period. Rooms are spotlessly clean and spacious. Rooftop pool is fantastic, great way to cool off after a hectic day in Chiang Mai. Room service prices really high for Thailand. Wifi in rooms was very slow, wired internet seemed quicker. Rooftop restaurant has amazing views at night. Not really close to many things, tuk tuk required to get to the old city. Air con pretty noisy.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benowa, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

The hotel itself is nice, alright location if you don't want to be right in the heart of things. The free wifi was hopeless, would only work in our right right by the door couldnt use it more then 2 feet into the room. Cleanliness could have been better, balcony looked like it hasn't been cleaned in a very long time, tried to charge 400baht for breakfast each, nice little restaraunt 5 min walk away thats only 100baht. All in all probably wont stay there again unless it was a really good deal.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Opole, Poland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

Service not very helpful, almost no English spoken. We stayed there for two nights - all two days (roof) swimming pool was closing at 17:00 for some events. Terrible, moldy bathroom.
Nice view from the roof (if only no smog was present). Far from the center.
Shops, laundry, SPA, travel agency in the hotel lobby.
Breakfast was OK no reason to complain.
Very long waiting time to get an elevator (at the moment of our stay - half of elevators did not work).

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

We stayed at the Furama (my wife is Thai) during the water festival in April and new that the city would be busy so booked our room several months earlier on an internet web site other than the hotels. We checked in and our first room for the first night was not enjoyable due to the bathroom sink leaking and pooling on the floor, and the pigeons nesting on the airconditioner several metres from the bed. Several window were covered in pigeon poo (had not been cleaned for a long time) and the room had an appearance of "just been thrown together". However, our complaints to reception were answered the following morning and we were moved to the city view room which we had requested in our booking. This room was much cleaner and everything worked except for the white no-branded fridge. We have stayed in this hotel on approximately 7 previous occasions and have found on every occasion that the new white mini bar fridges just do not keep food cold unless they are kept closed for about a day. I would recommend that if u get one of these fridges, then asked for it to be swapped for one of the silver fridges which do actually work.
The hotel reception area is always very clean (and full of mosquitos), and the three lifts are fast and clean. Just remember to exit the lift quickly as the doors ALWAYS shut very quickly.
The hotel location just out of the city centre is excellent and is located just off Huay Keaw Road behind the Hillside Condo 4. Rooms are usually quiet ( pigeons aside on the mountain view rooms) and there is no road traffic noise, and only slight aeroplane noise.
We paid around $45 per night (no breakfast) which was excellent value considering it was during the Thai New Year. Perhaps the best thing about this hotel is the buffet lunch adjoining the reception area. I have been to many restaurants in Thailand and found this to be one of the better restaurants. For 300 Baht ($10 AU) we dined on pepper steak, orange duck, butter fish (no batter), several seafood dishes, many chicken dishes, salads, ....the list goes on. Never had an upset stomache from this restaurant and would go there again just for lunch even if we stayed in a different hotel next time.
There are two swimming pools in the hotel. The roof top pool has excellent city views although the water balance always appeared to be off (murky). I would recommend using the other swimming pool on the same level as the day spa, which was cleaned every morning and appeared to be much more inviting.
There are three levels on the roof top. 1 the pool, 2 the restaurant, 3 the 360 degree panoramic view which is accessed up a small flight of stairs past the male toilets. Look for the small signs and dont forget to duck your head as you go up the stairs. The view form the panoramic view is a must, and is very relaxing. Take your camera on sunset or sun rise.
Travel from the airport takes about 15 minutes out of peak hour traffic, and will cost about 180 baht ($6 AU) if you book through the blue and yellow airport taxi.
We probably would stay at this hotel in the future unless we found a better hotel, due to the excellent location, although would ask to view the room before checking in next time. We would also recommend the city view room with a balcony, as the mountain view becomes a little boring.

Room Tip: You will get either a city view or a mountain view room. Definitely demand a city view room with a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.4 mi away
Chiangmai Grandview Hotel
Chiangmai Grandview Hotel
#128 of 334 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 stars 52 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lotus Hotel Pang Suan Kaew
Lotus Hotel Pang Suan Kaew
#130 of 334 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 stars 294 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mercure Chiang Mai
Mercure Chiang Mai
#113 of 334 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 stars 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ayatana Hamlet & Spa, Chiang Mai
Ayatana Hamlet & Spa, Chiang Mai
#145 of 334 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 stars 178 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chiang Mai Orchid Hotel
Chiang Mai Orchid Hotel
#177 of 334 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 stars 190 reviews
2.4 mi away
Chiang Mai Plaza Hotel
Chiang Mai Plaza Hotel
#133 of 334 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 stars 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Furama Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Furama Chiang Mai

Address: 54 Huay Keaw Road | Tambol Chang Puak, Muang, (formerly Grand Heritage Hotel), Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#45 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Furama Chiang Mai 4*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Furama Chiang Mai is an elegant 4 –star hotel with 17–storey high located at the fringe of CBD and North of Chiang Mai. The 294 well-appointed and spacious rooms are decorated with a blend of chic and contemporary Thai, complementing the diversity culture of Chiang Mai with full amenities and facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Furama Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Furama Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Furama Chiang Mai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.