We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“decent hotel depending on the price you pay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Furama Chiang Mai

Save Saved
You added Furama Chiang Mai to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Furama Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   54 Huay Keaw Road | Tambol Chang Puak, Muang, (formerly Grand Heritage Hotel), Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #131 of 331 hotels in Chiang Mai
Taipei, Taiwan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“decent hotel depending on the price you pay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

I stayed at this hotel as part of a tour group, so in terms of location and getting around I cannot speak to that too much. Also I didn't deal with any of the staff so I'm not too sure about service.

The hotel and standard rooms themselves are large but are quite old. The bathroom definitely needs an upgrade and they need to try an install a air-conditioner that isn't so loud.

But in terms of functionality, everything "worked" and there were no disasters. The breakfast buffet was adequate with both self-serve and also cooked to order eggs and noodle soup.

I'd say if they are offering a very low price on rooms, it's not a bad place to stay.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    37
    34
    13
    10
See reviews for
15
49
15
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Stay here for a total of 8 nights over a 1 month period. Rooms are spotlessly clean and spacious. Rooftop pool is fantastic, great way to cool off after a hectic day in Chiang Mai. Room service prices really high for Thailand. Wifi in rooms was very slow, wired internet seemed quicker. Rooftop restaurant has amazing views at night. Not really close to many things, tuk tuk required to get to the old city. Air con pretty noisy.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benowa, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

The hotel itself is nice, alright location if you don't want to be right in the heart of things. The free wifi was hopeless, would only work in our right right by the door couldnt use it more then 2 feet into the room. Cleanliness could have been better, balcony looked like it hasn't been cleaned in a very long time, tried to charge 400baht for breakfast each, nice little restaraunt 5 min walk away thats only 100baht. All in all probably wont stay there again unless it was a really good deal.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Opole, Poland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

Service not very helpful, almost no English spoken. We stayed there for two nights - all two days (roof) swimming pool was closing at 17:00 for some events. Terrible, moldy bathroom.
Nice view from the roof (if only no smog was present). Far from the center.
Shops, laundry, SPA, travel agency in the hotel lobby.
Breakfast was OK no reason to complain.
Very long waiting time to get an elevator (at the moment of our stay - half of elevators did not work).

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

We stayed at the Furama (my wife is Thai) during the water festival in April and new that the city would be busy so booked our room several months earlier on an internet web site other than the hotels. We checked in and our first room for the first night was not enjoyable due to the bathroom sink leaking and pooling on the floor, and the pigeons nesting on the airconditioner several metres from the bed. Several window were covered in pigeon poo (had not been cleaned for a long time) and the room had an appearance of "just been thrown together". However, our complaints to reception were answered the following morning and we were moved to the city view room which we had requested in our booking. This room was much cleaner and everything worked except for the white no-branded fridge. We have stayed in this hotel on approximately 7 previous occasions and have found on every occasion that the new white mini bar fridges just do not keep food cold unless they are kept closed for about a day. I would recommend that if u get one of these fridges, then asked for it to be swapped for one of the silver fridges which do actually work.
The hotel reception area is always very clean (and full of mosquitos), and the three lifts are fast and clean. Just remember to exit the lift quickly as the doors ALWAYS shut very quickly.
The hotel location just out of the city centre is excellent and is located just off Huay Keaw Road behind the Hillside Condo 4. Rooms are usually quiet ( pigeons aside on the mountain view rooms) and there is no road traffic noise, and only slight aeroplane noise.
We paid around $45 per night (no breakfast) which was excellent value considering it was during the Thai New Year. Perhaps the best thing about this hotel is the buffet lunch adjoining the reception area. I have been to many restaurants in Thailand and found this to be one of the better restaurants. For 300 Baht ($10 AU) we dined on pepper steak, orange duck, butter fish (no batter), several seafood dishes, many chicken dishes, salads, ....the list goes on. Never had an upset stomache from this restaurant and would go there again just for lunch even if we stayed in a different hotel next time.
There are two swimming pools in the hotel. The roof top pool has excellent city views although the water balance always appeared to be off (murky). I would recommend using the other swimming pool on the same level as the day spa, which was cleaned every morning and appeared to be much more inviting.
There are three levels on the roof top. 1 the pool, 2 the restaurant, 3 the 360 degree panoramic view which is accessed up a small flight of stairs past the male toilets. Look for the small signs and dont forget to duck your head as you go up the stairs. The view form the panoramic view is a must, and is very relaxing. Take your camera on sunset or sun rise.
Travel from the airport takes about 15 minutes out of peak hour traffic, and will cost about 180 baht ($6 AU) if you book through the blue and yellow airport taxi.
We probably would stay at this hotel in the future unless we found a better hotel, due to the excellent location, although would ask to view the room before checking in next time. We would also recommend the city view room with a balcony, as the mountain view becomes a little boring.

Room Tip: You will get either a city view or a mountain view room. Definitely demand a city view room with a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zürich
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

Hotel and Superior Rooms review:

1. Only the lobby, restaurant, gym and swimming pool are the 4 stars worth.
The treatment, the rooms and the cleanliness absolutely not. We had a internet offer without breakfast and we just wanted to have a drink at one of the lounge-bars. We were told that this area would be only for VIP which booked with breakfast, otherwise would be charged 800 ThaiBAht/20 Euro for area-access only (without breakfast).

2. The rooms are very poor. Although they are very big and it has a kitchen which makes absolutely no sense because it has only cabinets that contain nothing in it.. Therefore it is impossible to cook. the air-condition is a outdated model that it could not properly cooled our room, in 3 days the technician tried to fix it twice but could not do anything.. The shower door couldn’t be closed right that’s why we had always water on the floor.

3 In the room is a really nice window front with a nice view but it seems that this windows and around have not been cleaned for a year or so. Because the windows are very dirty and outside is all full with Dove excrement (Dirty dirty dirty). This area is located just above the pool. Poor person’s which go for a swim there.

Room Tip: Deluxe Rooms and up.. but check the web for good a good price.. otherwise you may get overcharged
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chiang mai
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

Was upgraded to executive because no superior rooms left, but i did catch a glimpse of superior room layout, which is similar to exec room but a wee bit smaller but quite well appointed. I must say I enjoyed it very much, especially the jacuzzi equipped bathroom (writing this in the bath) :-)
Location isn't really a problem, its accessible from hillside condotel on Huang Kaew road. The Kad Suan Kaew mall is within a 10 minute walk on said road. Tip: plenty of small restaurants just across the road from hillside condotel in a lane which opens up to a carpark.
Hotel staff seemed somewhat overwhelmed at breakfast trying to cope with hordes of elderly Korean tourists this morning...but good job nontheless!

Room Tip: I stayed on 6th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Furama Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Furama Chiang Mai

Address: 54 Huay Keaw Road | Tambol Chang Puak, Muang, (formerly Grand Heritage Hotel), Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Furama Chiang Mai 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Furama Chiang Mai is an elegant 4 –star hotel with 17–storey high located at the fringe of CBD and North of Chiang Mai. The 294 well-appointed and spacious rooms are decorated with a blend of chic and contemporary Thai, complementing the diversity culture of Chiang Mai with full amenities and facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Tingo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Furama Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Furama Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Furama Chiang Mai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.