We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our home away from home!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tanita House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Tanita House to your Saves list
Tanita House
152 Charoenrats Road | T.Wat Kate, Muang, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 502 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Our home away from home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

For our first visit to Chiang Mai, we could not have chosen a better guesthouse! Me and my partner stayed in one of the teak cottages, which are approximately the size of a typical "double" hotel room. However, it's completely private as it is a completely separate house. But it's also just a hop and a skip away from the main building which houses the breakfast area/kitchen as well as the guesthouse office. The fridge in the breakfast area has an unlimited supply of drinking water bottles which is a nice touch (no "2 bottles per day" rule like other Thai hotels!). The daily breakfast was also very good; dishes included scrambled eggs, cereal, bread, and various fruits. There's also a free espresso/latte machine!

The owner, Aor, does a fantastic job of ensuring you are comfortable and providing assistance booking hired cars/tours and tuk-tuks. During our stay we had to ship several heavy statues back to our home country and she even had a solution for that! Since she lives on-site in the main building, she is always available to provide help. Security is also not an issue since Tanita House is located in a very safe part of Chiang Mai amidst art galleries and luxury guesthouses (15 min. walk to Old City) -- also, the cottages are located towards the back of the property, away from the main road. Lots of privacy.

The actual cottage has a comfortable double bed, a wet bathroom with modern fixtures, and several other pieces of furniture (a small table, chairs, end tables) to allow you to comfortably stay in your room if you want. Of course, it's also well air-conditioned, has strong wi-fi, and has a front porch if you want to sit outside. My only request is that a small laptop-compatible safe be added to the rooms (simply for peace of mind). I should also mention that it's cleaned every day, and new linen/towels are provided.

Tanita House was definitely our favorite hotel during our extensive SE Asia trip, and we'll definitely be coming back here for our next visit to Chiang Mai. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    23
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
121
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Liked: Tanita House is so peaceful, calm, inviting & beautiful. The teak villas are just wonderful. Each villa faces a different direction so you can sit on your large porch and you feel secluded & private. The setting is amongst beautiful gardens and a showroom full of wonderful wood piece & antiques. The breakfast included was amazing for the price of the the stay...many fresh options & the lovely girls will freshly cook up bacon, eggs & tomato if you want. There is an endless help your self supply of bottled water, great brewed coffee & many different choices of tea! ...& free wifi! Aor, the owner is fantastic....so helpful but not intrusive al all. Will help with whatever you need. The room is simple and very clean...room was serviced daily with clean fresh towels. We felt like we really were in Chiang Mai & not just another big holiday resort without the thai feeling.
You need to book through 'hostelbookers' or 'hostelworld'...do it!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

A nice option just out of the city and on the trendy side of the river. Good breakfast and advice from the owner. Air conditioning helps when the day gets too hot! Great bungalows with a little porch to relax on. A good mid-price option.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was our first visit to Chiang Mai, and staying at Tanita House made it all the more special.
Our family of 4, (kids aged 14 & 10) stayed in the converted rice barn. Upstairs are 2 en suite bedrooms with double beds. Downstairs is a dining area and lounge, and a WC too. It is set in a lovely garden, with a few smaller teak buildings which have also been converted into accommodation. On the ground level beneath the main house is a furniture and décor shop and the breakfast/dining area. With free coffee and tea facilities, a refrigerator which is always stocked, a computer and Wi-Fi.

Tanita house is across the river from the Old City, which is 15 minutes walk away. The east side of the river is a terrific quieter area, with coffee and art shops.
Beautiful teak buildings, the garden and the relaxing atmosphere would have rated it 5 stars, but in addition there is the owner, Aor. Any information you need, recommendations on where to go, arranging of transport ....she does it all with a smile.

We can't thank you enough for making Chiang Mai an even better experience ..... saving the pennies to return soon.

Room Tip: If you are a family or a group of friends, stay in the converted teak rice barn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

A nice, cozy teak architecture guesthose with very friendly and helpful darbinieki.Vieta is beautiful. Big, clean and nice rooms. There is free WiFi available in the guest house and computer, printer and free use.
Delicious breakfast, free tea and coffee in the day or night.
Very grateful hostess AOR! She helped us with advice, transport and treat me when I ill.
We were there in November 2011th Loy Krathong festival. To see what happens in an ideal location, but will not be able to sleep well during the festive fireworks :)
notes: A good location and a great hostess!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

My friend and I loved staying at Tanita House. The woman who manages the hotel is extremely friendly and helpful. She knew all about the attractions we were going to see, and was able to negotiate good prices for tuk-tuks and taxis on our behalf. The room was stayed in was actually its own separate hut, which was fun, the bed was incredibly comfortable, and the morning breakfasts were pleasant and delicious. This was one of the best hotels we stayed at during our tour around SE Asia, and I would absolutely recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We booked Tanita House for our Chiang Mai accommodation after reading all the great reviews on trip advisor AND NOW it is my turn to comment on how amazing it is. Walking off the street, down the private driveway you arrive into a beautiful, peaceful oasis with charming little teak cabins and lovely, cool, tree filled gardens. Aor, the owner, is there to greet you with a beautiful big smile and she looks after her guests very well. She is helpful with all queries, tour bookings, places to eat and her staff are very nice too. Breakfast, which is included in the price, is delicious and there is water, tea and coffee available all day. Wifi is also included. The cabins are very comfortable and private with lovely little balconies and outlook. The location is good and within walking distance to all the main attractions. The laundry service close by is run by a really nice lady and it is inexpensive with your clothes laundered perfectly! We absolutely enjoyed our week here with Aor and were quite sad when it was time to say goodbye. I highly recommend Tanita House for anyone visiting Chiang Mai!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tanita House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanita House

Address: 152 Charoenrats Road | T.Wat Kate, Muang, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 502 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Tanita House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanita House Hotel Chiang Mai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tanita House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.