We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Want to return soon !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tanita House

Save Saved
You added Tanita House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tanita House
152 Charoenrats Road | T.Wat Kate, Muang, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Direct Booking Rates
Ranked #1 of 487 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Want to return soon !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was our first visit to Chiang Mai, and staying at Tanita House made it all the more special.
Our family of 4, (kids aged 14 & 10) stayed in the converted rice barn. Upstairs are 2 en suite bedrooms with double beds. Downstairs is a dining area and lounge, and a WC too. It is set in a lovely garden, with a few smaller teak buildings which have also been converted into accommodation. On the ground level beneath the main house is a furniture and décor shop and the breakfast/dining area. With free coffee and tea facilities, a refrigerator which is always stocked, a computer and Wi-Fi.

Tanita house is across the river from the Old City, which is 15 minutes walk away. The east side of the river is a terrific quieter area, with coffee and art shops.
Beautiful teak buildings, the garden and the relaxing atmosphere would have rated it 5 stars, but in addition there is the owner, Aor. Any information you need, recommendations on where to go, arranging of transport ....she does it all with a smile.

We can't thank you enough for making Chiang Mai an even better experience ..... saving the pennies to return soon.

Room Tip: If you are a family or a group of friends, stay in the converted teak rice barn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    181
    20
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
107
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riga, Latvia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

A nice, cozy teak architecture guesthose with very friendly and helpful darbinieki.Vieta is beautiful. Big, clean and nice rooms. There is free WiFi available in the guest house and computer, printer and free use.
Delicious breakfast, free tea and coffee in the day or night.
Very grateful hostess AOR! She helped us with advice, transport and treat me when I ill.
We were there in November 2011th Loy Krathong festival. To see what happens in an ideal location, but will not be able to sleep well during the festive fireworks :)
notes: A good location and a great hostess!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

My friend and I loved staying at Tanita House. The woman who manages the hotel is extremely friendly and helpful. She knew all about the attractions we were going to see, and was able to negotiate good prices for tuk-tuks and taxis on our behalf. The room was stayed in was actually its own separate hut, which was fun, the bed was incredibly comfortable, and the morning breakfasts were pleasant and delicious. This was one of the best hotels we stayed at during our tour around SE Asia, and I would absolutely recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We booked Tanita House for our Chiang Mai accommodation after reading all the great reviews on trip advisor AND NOW it is my turn to comment on how amazing it is. Walking off the street, down the private driveway you arrive into a beautiful, peaceful oasis with charming little teak cabins and lovely, cool, tree filled gardens. Aor, the owner, is there to greet you with a beautiful big smile and she looks after her guests very well. She is helpful with all queries, tour bookings, places to eat and her staff are very nice too. Breakfast, which is included in the price, is delicious and there is water, tea and coffee available all day. Wifi is also included. The cabins are very comfortable and private with lovely little balconies and outlook. The location is good and within walking distance to all the main attractions. The laundry service close by is run by a really nice lady and it is inexpensive with your clothes laundered perfectly! We absolutely enjoyed our week here with Aor and were quite sad when it was time to say goodbye. I highly recommend Tanita House for anyone visiting Chiang Mai!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We decided to stay here for our first anniversary - we were on a budget but wanted to do a little more fancy than a hostel - this experience exceeded our expectations. We got a lovely cottage/bungalow all to ourselves that was really charming. The best part is how serene and calm the place is around all day. Living in big bustling cities, we really relished our 3 days of uninterrupted peace and waking up to a beautiful view of trees and green outside the window. They also have only about 6 bungalows on the property, so it feels very private but not isolated. They're situated quite close to each other but you would never be able to tell because they're built that way to face away.
The location of the place itself is great - it's situated on an artsy street and you can just stroll down it an find galleries and cafes and such - lot of places to eat. We rented bikes from across the street at another hostel and riding to the town center is really easy and the roads and directions are pretty straightforward if you have a map to guide you.
Aor, the owner, was extremely nice and helpful. She helped us with anything we needed and was just so patient.
There's free breakfast every morning - nice homely spread - the scrambled eggs and bacon, freshly prepared is fantastic.
I would definitely go back here again if I'm ever in Chiang Mai!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Our family (ages 10,13) stayed at the Tanita House for four nights. What a truly special place! We reserved the converted rice barn. Wow. It had two floors, two bedrooms, and three bathrooms. It was very clean, comfortable, and well-appointed.

The guest house is located riverside in an artsy neighborhood with coffee shops, galleries, and restaurants. It's about a 30-minute walk to the Old City or a short tuk-tuk ride. There's an inexpensive laundry service just a few shops down run by an extremely nice lady.

In the morning, a free breakfast is served. You sit in the open-air common area below the owner's house. It's the kind of vibe where you can show up in your pajamas and be just fine.

In addition to being a guest house, the property has an antique and woodworking business. It really adds to the atmosphere of the place.

The only downside: the hand shower in the bathroom that gets the floor soaking wet. But really, no big deal.

The owner of Tanita House, Aor, is incredibly sweet and very helpful. She runs a real gem at an incredibly reasonable price of $75/night (family room).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Aor was soooo nice and the family house was awesome. You get your own private house for the cost of a hostel. Just make sure you close your doors and windows before dusk otherwise the mosquitoes will get in.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tanita House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanita House

Address: 152 Charoenrats Road | T.Wat Kate, Muang, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 487 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Tanita House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanita House Hotel Chiang Mai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tanita House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.