We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel; limited sun on the pool” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   135/9 Charoenprathet Road | Changklan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 330 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Beds
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Nice hotel; limited sun on the pool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

This is a really good hotel, the staff are very friendly and helpful, the rooms are large and spacious and the breakfast is good (standard cereal, fruit, bread and cooked foods). It's about a 5 / 10 min walk to the night market and then a further 10 mins from there into the old town. Taxis can be tricky to get (you can't flag them down in the street), so we walked into town most evenings, but one night after waiting a while for a taxi the hotel gave us a lift in their vintage Merc, which was really nice! You can also borrow DVDs from reception and watch them in the room.

The ONLY downside for this hotel is they don't get much sun on the pool area. We visited in Feb 2014, and the sun shone on the pool between about 11am and 2:30pm max, when it went behind the building. This is a shame if, like us, you like to go out in the mornings and come back in the afternoon to lay around the pool and relax. We had to adjust plans, which wasn't a huge issue, but not as planned.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChairatPingNakara, Owner at Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for giving us high marks for your experience staying with us. We will convey your comments to our staff as well. On a lighter note, we can't do much about the pool location for full sun. However, as now, the season change to be mid-summer, the sun has risen in the sky and the pool area is now fully in the sun most of the day.
Kind regards,
Chairat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    447
    76
    25
    7
    1
See reviews for
80
340
37
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ubud
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

This was our second time staying at the Ping Nakara and it still managed to surpass expectations. We bought our 4 year old daughter on this occasion and she absolutely love it. The staff were wonderful to here and she couldn't have enjoyed her first visit to Thailand more. We had a great room again, this time with a hot tub and thought it great value for money. The facilities were spot on and the food was particularly impressive. What we loved most though was that it felt as relaxed and comfortable as being in your own home, just sunnier! The whole staffing team have managed to strike just the right balance between always being there when you need them but not making you feel like they are watching over your or making you feel uncomfortable. It is these subtle differences that make the best hotels and the Ping Nakara is definitely up there with the best that we have stayed at..

Room Tip: Go for the deluxe, the hot tub is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChairatPingNakara, Owner at Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Guest,
Just a short note to thank you once again for staying with us. It is very rewarding to us when the whole family of our guest really enjoys the experience of Ping Nakara.
We hope you will return in the future!
Kind regards,
Chairat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Positives;
Spacious room
Comfortable bed
Decorative building
Good pool

Negatives;
No soundproofing - very noisy from traffic and wildlife at dawn
Inattentive service - very empty - no atmosphere
When tried to extend 3 night stay by 1 night they quoted a price £50 higher than expedia - very poor as already a customer - left for extra night and went to Le Meridien - much better atmosphere and value

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChairatPingNakara, Owner at Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comment on our hotel, we will be looking into the areas that you had mentioned. Even though our staff have been continuously trained, however, we will do more training for them to be more responsive and proactive.
We are truly sorry that the special promotion you tried to find on the online travel agent was closed out and we were unable to meet that price for you.
We wish you happy travels.
Kind regards,
Chairat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bradenton florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

A wonderful find...large, well kept rooms, a lovely pool, great breakfast, and within walking distance of a number of excellent restaurants including their own on the river at the back of the property....short tuk-tuk ride to the old city.....In house travel concierge arranged excellent 1/2 day trips....choose from your own interests but the 4 of us loved our full day at Patara Elephant camp...safe travels!

Only caution....if road noise bothers you ask for a room as far from road as possible....but it quiets down at night

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Peaceful haven in a central location. Really enjoyed our weekend in Chiang Mai at this lovely hotel with great rooms and excellent breakfast options my only comment would be that the pool gets direct sunshine in the mornings only which means no sunbathing in the afternoon and the water is a little chilli if they could heat the pool it wouldn't be a issue at all!

Room Tip: I would recommend a pool view with terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

My husband and I loved our 4 night stay at the Ping Nakara. It was the perfect ending to our 3+ week vacation in SE Asia where the accommodations didn't always meet our expectations. We loved the architecture and the tasteful decor.The staff were friendly and helpful.The breakfast was comprehensive, including buffet items such as fruit, freshly-squeezed orange juice, cereal, yogurt, and pastries, including really good croissants. There were several delicious cooked-to-order items available on the menu. We loved our spacious room. It was decorated beautifully with one wall covered with hand-painted roses. We had asked for a quiet room after reading some comments about the busy street. The "rose" room was relatively quiet. It did not face the street.

The walk to the old city took us between 15 - 20 minutes. The hotel is right on the Ping river. There's an inviting cafe, the Nakara Jardin, right next door to the hotel. They serve lunch, afternoon tea, and yummy pastries. It's a lovely oasis where you can sit and enjoy views of the river. We also enjoyed dinner one night at the hotel. We hadn't planned to eat there, but the place we intended to go to was closed, so we ended up back at the hotel. The food was surprisingly good.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

The service was terrific! They were friendly, they always remembered our names. The breakfast was included and it had a great variety from the buffet to personalized menu items. The pool was cute, good size, and clean. The rooms were clean, cozy, and roomy. The bathroom had a large tub, bathroom sink had a small counter space, and the toilet had a sliding door to the shower.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa

Address: 135/9 Charoenprathet Road | Changklan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#3 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#4 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#7 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#16 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel and Spa. Set in the awe-inspiring colonial style of the early 1900’s, the Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel and Spa is located at the heart of Chiang Mai’s vibrant business centre and entertainment venues. The hotel is just a five minute walking distance from Chiang Mai’s famous Night Bazaar to the numerous riverside restaurants, while at the same time allowing guests to enjoy the peace and tranquility of the natural surroundings. The three-storey hotel with a central elevator boasts of 19 luxury guestrooms, all individually styled and elegantly furbished with the colonial charm. Complimentary Wi-Fi is available in all the rooms including a TV, DVD player and a free mini bar. The hotel's restaurant offers a wide variety of food from authentic Thai cuisine to Western dishes. Coffee and tea, soft drinks, wines and liquor are served at the Lobby Bar, and guests can enjoy their drinks in the comfort of the library or at the peaceful verandah by the outdoor pool. For holistic health and relaxation, guests can unwind and enjoy the genuine Ayurvedic treatment from the hotel’s Nakara Spa. Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel and Spa offers a broad range of services, facilities and amenities designed to provide personalized service and first class hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel Chiang Mai
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.