We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel M Chiang Mai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel M Chiang Mai to your Saves list
Hotel M Chiang Mai
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 - 6 Ratchadamnoen Road, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand (Formerly Montri Hotel)   |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hotel M Price 1,203 THB.
Ranked #84 of 333 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Noisy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

We had a 5th floor room (top floor). The room was clean and a good size for the price. We noticed in reception that there was a function in the restaurant and on the street that night but as it finished at 10pm we were not too concerned (Tuesday Night). Unfortunately the event was still going at 10.45 and when we contacted the manager he told us it was only going for another 5-20 minutes. There was another band playing on the Friday night that played until about 10.30. The traffic noise is consistent all through the night. There are traffic lights on the corner and motor bikes and tuk tuks change gear three times in about twenty metres. All the odd numbers rooms face the street so I would ask for an even numbered room. Breakfast is just OK. If you are late you are likely to miss out on some items as they don't restock the fruit platter and other choices are limited. The staff were very helpful and assisted with bookings. The location is excellent. It was our first visit so we wanted to be close to everything. We walked to all the Old city sites and the night bazaar and river.

Room Tip: Book an even numbered room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    84
    48
    11
    9
See reviews for
20
70
33
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

Large and comfortable rooms, no hot water was disappointing, great location and good service. Free wifi was a bonus

Room Tip: Away from restaurant to avoid band noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ไทย
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

Resonable price,good location, near Many attraction easy to walk around here, just only 15 minute walk to night Barzaa. Comfortable room, wifi was good, friendly staft

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

The rooms are super clean, it is new. Love the location, no problem with noise.
Thr internet barely works if at all. That's the only issue. Free water and cleans room daily. Don't pass up this place.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Del Rey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

This hotel had by far the worst service of any hotel I've ever stayed at. The front desk was not friendly or helpful at all unlike the other places we stayed at during our Southeast Asia vacation.

We asked the front for a taxi to get us to Tiger Kingdom and they initially quoted us 1000 baht, and I said no way - having previously looked up rates and knowing it should have been between 200-300 baht. We sat down and said we were going to find a tuk tuk and waiting for our friend at the lobby. Then the manager comes back to us and says 600 baht - we stayed firm and said no. Then another minute later, says 300 baht. We then agreed but I am appalled that a hotel as large as this one would try to scam their customers and not set up a pre-arranged agreement with taxis. We're pretty sure the taxi that arrive (was just a lady with her own personal car) was the manager's friend and they were trying to scam as much as possible out of us because we were foreigners. A similar situation happened to us when we needed a ride to the airport.

They were very unhelpful with giving directions or any help whatsover. They were not cheap either compared to other hotels in Chiang Mai.

I will NEVER stay here again and would never recommend them to anyone.

The room is very basic and the bathrooms were small and had mold.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMChiangmai, General Manager at Hotel M Chiang Mai, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
Thank you for having chosen Hotel M Chiang Mai for your accommodation during the past. With our deeply regret to hear from you that there was some unsatisfactory experience occurred with you during your stay. We do apologize for this happening. We actually have tried much to improve and expand our product lines and services to meet guest needs, but unfortunately it’s happen during your stay.
Once again, please accept my sincere apologize for the happening. I do hope for your kind understanding to the human error. We thank you for your positive comment and will more carefully to give the best services at all time in the future.
Sincerely Yours,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Top Contributor
296 reviews 296 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
310 helpful votes 310 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

Very noisy hotel, pretty poor breakfast and worst of all: first promissing to bring us to the busstation for free after our stay and when we checked out, we suddenly had to pay for that (so we took a songtauw instead).

Will never stay there again eventhough the location is great.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMChiangmai, General Manager at Hotel M Chiang Mai, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
Thank you for having chosen Hotel M Chiang Mai for your accommodation during the past. With our deeply regret to hear from you that there was some unsatisfactory experience occurred with you during your stay. We do apologize for this happening. We actually have tried much to improve and expand our product lines and services to meet guest needs, but unfortunately it’s happen during your stay.
Once again, please accept my sincere apologize for the happening. I do hope for your kind understanding to the human error. We thank you for your positive comment and will more carefully to give the best services at all time in the future.
Sincerely Yours,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

The location of this hotel is well accessible and the traffic is fine. The assigned room is big and clean. The staff in the hotel are friendly and polite and most importantly, they are ready to render their services when you need. One disadvantage is the street noise. If you are easy in sleeping then there is no problem about it. The price paid is still worthwhile and reasonable. Overall experience is good.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel M Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel M Chiang Mai

Address: 2 - 6 Ratchadamnoen Road, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand (Formerly Montri Hotel)
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 333 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel M Chiang Mai 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel M Chiang Mai is standing behind the historic Tha Phae Gate, a signature of Chiang Mai. Tha Phae Gate is a trading post which was said by past locals to have given good luck and prosperity for those who lived behind it. A mid-sized business hotel in Chiang Mai’s ‘Old City’, Hotel M is dedicated to service above all else, and is founded on the idea of “Get more than you pay for.” Hotel M Chiang Mai is decorated in a modern contemporary style, complete with modern facilities and services; yet still staying true to tradition and a friendly atmosphere with handmade antiques rich in culture spread throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel M Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel M Chiang Mai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.