We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really lovely hotel in the old city walls of Chiang Mai” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sirilanna

Save Saved
You added Sirilanna to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sirilanna
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   89/3 Ratchapakinai Road | Phrasing, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 331 hotels in Chiang Mai
Swindon, UK
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Really lovely hotel in the old city walls of Chiang Mai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here over Christmas 2012 and had a lovely time. We had a business suite, my only criticism was the lack of power sockets in the room, especially near the desk. The staff are genuine and lovely. Decent breakfast. Well located with loads of bars and restaurants near by, all decent. Will definitely stay again when next in Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sirilanna755, General Manager at Sirilanna, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Sirs,

Thank you for your staying with us at The Sirilanna Hotel, Chiangmai and for taking the time to share your review on TripAdvisor.
I am pleased to know that you satisfied with the hotel and our services.

I hope we may welcome you again in the next future.

Kind Regards,
Nantana Khuanphet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    135
    53
    13
    4
    0
See reviews for
30
119
13
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

This hotel is not value for money! For a hotel charging at the rate of of 4800 baht/night, the service rendered and the lack of details are not acceptable.
First of all, the email to ask for airport transfer went unattended. After the secoend email was sent then only reply come in. No apology given.

Secondly, there were a lot of inconsistencies in serving the guests. One of the room I booked received welcoming candies while the other room not. One room had bathroom scale while the other not. Breakfast was also in a mess. There will sure be some items left out if not reminded ie continental breakfast will be served without toast or sometimes without fruits. Sometimes four set of orders placed but one of us will have to wait for ages before it was served after reminder.
Worst still was duirng last day of stay we were not allowed to choose our breakfast option as it was too 'early '( 6.45am as we need to catch an early flight ) We understand that the official hour for breakfast is 7am ( quite late for usual hotel standard ) to 10am but if courtecy to guest is their priority, a different of 15 minutes shouldn't be an issue.

Thirdly most of the staffs don't greet. They appear to be blank whenever requests made.

All in all, the lack of details for a hotel charging at a 4-5 stars rate is what disappoints me.

Room Tip: avoid rooms toward end of corridor - noisy as it is near to the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sirilanna755, General Manager at Sirilanna, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Sirs,

Thank you for your comments regarding our hotel services. Please allow us this opportunity to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay. The matters are brought to our attention. Your comment is highly appreciated. We will improve our services and facilities to best serve our guests. We look forward to serving you again in the future. We believe that you will truly satisfy the improvements of our service.

Best regard,

Nantana Khuanphet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

We were greeted with welcome drinks and then shown to our room which opened up onto the pool area which was lovely. The hotel was a bit of a haven and felt very relaxing. Breakfast was good and it was walking distance to many local sites and markets.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sirilanna755, General Manager at Sirilanna, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Ms. Catherine,

Thank you for staying with us at the Sirilanna ,Chiangmai and taking the time to share your review on TripAdvisor.
I am glad to know that you have felt our hotel like a heaven , enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere and good breakfast.
We appreciate feed back from our guests and I am pleased to know that you have found us to be resposive the same.

I hope we may welcome you again in the next future.

Kind Regards,
Nantana khuanphet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

Zero complaints. It was a wonderful place and we recommend it highly. Great food and coffee. Service was impeccable and the staff were first rate. Room 101 was a beautiful poolside room. Thanks for having us.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sirilanna755, General Manager at Sirilanna, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Dear Sirs,

Thank you very much for your good review and making the affort to you as your feedback.
Your descriptive means will assist other readers planning a stay in Sirilanna Hotel ,Chiang Mai . Thank you once again.

Kind Regards,
Nantana Khuanphet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

The hotel has a wonderful location, in the heart of the old town of Chiang Mai. It is located at walking distance of sevral attractions and really close to the night market that happens on weekends. It is very charmingly decorated; the rooms are immaculate clean, spaious and beautifully furnished. The staff is always agreable and ready to help, and most speak reasonable English. It is not a very big hotel, but maybe that's its charm as well. A wonderful stay, during your days in Ching Mai.

Room Tip: Try the rooms facing the swimming pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sirilanna755, General Manager at Sirilanna, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Daer Madam,

Thank you very much for your review.We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us as a great hotel.

We look forward to your soonest return.

Kind Regards,
Nantana Khuanphet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

This was a wonderful hotel in Chiang Mai! The rooms were very nice - had the Northern Thailand charm which was cool. The jacuzzi tub in the room was very nice as well as the balcony overlooking the pool area. The staff was very friendly and helpful to book any activities that you wanted to do. It was really easy to get around from here and walk around the city - plenty of good restaurants in the area. The pool area was nice too. The breakfast was cooked to order which was nice but there weren't very many options. All in all, we really enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sirilanna755, General Manager at Sirilanna, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Sirs,

Thank you very much for your value commments. We are pleased that you were happy and enjoyed your stay with our hotel.We do look forward to welcoming you to our hotel in the next future.
Thank you again for your reccommend our hotel to another person.

Kind Regards,
Nantana Khuanphet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

This hotel has a great location: we could walk to Tha Pae Gate. temples and restaurants within the old city in just minutes. The hotel itself is beautiful with its wood accents and unique touches throughout. The rooms are clean, comfortable and beautifully decorated. It felt like an oasis. The staff speak reasonably good English and were very helpful. We ate in the hotel restaurant only once; food was good but expensive compared to everywhere else. It was our first time in Thailand and this hotel provided us with a comfortable base to explore from.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are quiet even though they around the pool and provide great access to verandah...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sirilanna755, General Manager at Sirilanna, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Sirs,

Thank you very much for your value comments .We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with our hotel. We do look forward to welcoming you in the next future .

Kind Regards,
Nantana Khuanphet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sirilanna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sirilanna

Address: 89/3 Ratchapakinai Road | Phrasing, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#22 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#28 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sirilanna 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sirilanna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sirilanna Hotel Chiang Mai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sirilanna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.