We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chiang Mai Biking

Chiang Mai Biking
135/48, Soi 2 , Moo Baan Nai Fun 1 | Pa Daed, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
+66 53 282 055
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 291 activities in Chiang Mai
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Chiang Mai Biking is pleased to share hidden places of Chiang Mai with you during one of our recreational, cultural and educational cycling adventures.We welcome guests from all ages and have specialized private tours for groups or families with children.Our team of well-trained cycling guides is ready to show the hidden secrets of Chiang Mai to you and to answer all your questions during our cycling tours.Our tours are inclusive of water and soft drinks , snacks along the way and a delicious local lunch so you get to see, smell and taste Chiang Mai while being on a cycling excursion. We are looking forward to see you or your party on one of our fun bicycle rides. Fokke van Egmond
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“a great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

We had an absolutely great time on our cycling tour. The itinerary was very interesting and the cycling easy enough even for us untrained participants. The guide, a local young man (whose name I forgot, so sorry) very knowledgeable and considerate. We highly recommend the tour as an alternative to the usual sight seeing trips.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foek, General Manager at Chiang Mai Biking, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear catchawave_sunbeam22,

Thank you for your review of our Colors of Chiang Mai.
We are happy to read that you enjoyed our tour and we hope to see you again on one of our tours in the Land of Smiles !

Kind regards,

Fokke van Egmond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    249
    35
    4
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Excellent guide and itinerary - only a couple of quibbles”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

This trip is really worthwhile and recommended despite the two quibbles. Guide Wie was superb and very human. The positives are listed in other reviews and I fully endorse them.

My two quibbles were

with the owner - if you chose to live in Thailand and run a business using local staff, do you really think making snide racist remarks regularly enhances the visitor experience or our opinion of you?

the music accompanying the beautiful dancers at the orphanage. The visit to the orphanage and meeting the children was probably the highlight of the trip. The dancing by the young ladies in their traditional costume was lovely. But American born again christian shout out music to dance to? It seemed completely inappropriate. Perhaps an alternative american church group provides some funding - though that was not claimed anywhere. If so they do so, surely they should be sensitive to the local Buddhist culture (and costumes) and not insist on such awful music.

It is realised the music choice is not made by the tour operators and the orphanage was still the highlight of the trip.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foek, General Manager at Chiang Mai Biking, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Chris W,

Thank you for your review about our Colors of Chiang Mai cycling tour.
Let me clear a few things about your remarks.

We had a very busy morning the day that you cycled with us,. There where people not showing up or coming with less persons than booked which made us rearrange the guides schedule and therefore it took a bit longer getting everyone on the bikes.
I am sorry that you interpreted my joke about me having miss communications with my guide as me making racists remarks.
I was just trying to break the ice because everyone was so quiet and looking annoyed because of the waiting for our other customers.
I am even have miss communications with my wife after 6 years and believe me I and even she learned to live with it.
The orphanage is an extra in our tour and not always visited.
This day they did some special performance for our guests.
They are from the Mong hill-tribe which is an ethnic minority in Thailand.
These tribes are mostly Christian and helped by the church and the foundation Hill-tribe Children Asia from the Netherlands so singing about God and Jezus would be the appropriate thing to do around Christmas.
The costumes they where wearing are from there own tribe and are not traditional Thai costumes.
The music is chosen by the children , after all it is their show and they like to dance.
But i have to admit that i also prefer more slower traditional Thai music.

With kind regards,

Fokke van Egmond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Best Trip in Chaing Mai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We picked this tour as both my partner and I are sporty so it seemed to be a great way to see the city and get some exercise. Our guide Wii was incredible he was so lovely and kind. There were 5 of us in the group which was a good size to enable us to talk while cycling. We visit a leprosy village, a bakery (for fresh warm doughnuts), temples, street market and a primary school. Wii gave us so much information about the Kings, past and present and about Thailand’s history. We ended the trip with some dinner and drinks before dropping the bikes off.

We would recommend this to anyone (any level of fitness) – all you need is a camera.

Excellent tour.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foek, General Manager at Chiang Mai Biking, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Jo-Graeme,

Thank you for your splendid review! We are happy to read you enjoyed your ride through a non-tourist part of Chiang Mai and we hope you got a lot of new impressions of the amazing Rose of the North.

Best regards,

Fokke van Egmond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A great trip ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Our guide We (?unsure of spelling) was awesome and took the 10 of us on a lovely ride to a local bakery, orphanage, markets, temples etc. he bought us doughnuts, sticky rice, Thai sausage, rice crackers etc which were all tasty. The route was mainly on side streets which was great as the few busy roads we rode along were a bit scary. We went at a very comfortable pace- not at all fast. There were also no hills involved - the whole route was very flat. All in all a fantastic tour. The only down side was probably the beginning- we were told we were too early when we arrived at 730 (the time we had been told to arrive) and it was a bit hectic as there were several groups getting started at once. The owner also seemed to be a bit short with some of the young thai guides which we didn't like very much. Despite this beginning we absolutely loved the day. Thank you!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foek, General Manager at Chiang Mai Biking, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear SydLau,

Thank you for your wonderful review.
Sorry for the confusion because I don't know who told you to be at our office at 7:30 , we always say leave your hotel 30 minutes before the tour starts.
We did had a hectic day when you cycled with us , people not showing up and coming with less persons than booked made us reschedule and put 2 groups together with 2 guides leading the tour..

With kind regards,

Fokke van Egmond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sagamihara, Japan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great and very cheap expierence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We did the 1300 Colors of Chiang Mai. Wonderful experience. We went many places we would never have seen on our own. We visited a former leper colony, a school, bakery, and many temples.The views of the rice paddies were interesting and the riding was fun. Really went by fast. I did not realize it but lunch was included in our package. Tasty Thai food in a very relaxed setting. Our guide was great and very knowledgeable about the tour attractions. Highly recommended

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foek, General Manager at Chiang Mai Biking, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear Kawaiiexpress , Thank you that you took the time for leaving this 5-star review! We are glad to read you enjoyed your ride through Chiang Mai and had a great time with our guide ! We hope to welcome you again on one of our bicycle fun adventures in the Land of Smiles!

Kind regards,

Fokke van Egmond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chiang Mai Biking also viewed

 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Chiang Mai Biking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chiang Mai Biking, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Chiang Mai Biking to your Saves list