We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rainforest Boutique

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Rainforest Boutique to your Saves list
Rainforest Boutique
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   23/1 Charoenmuang Rd. | Soi 5 T.Tasala A.Muang, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 330 Hotels in Chiang Mai
lincoln
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“nice place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

we booked this on line and paid extra for a pool view room however when we were showed to our room we had an awful view.we complained and were moved to a lovely junior suite so we were very happy. The staff at this hotel are wonderful totaly top notch they couldnt do enough for you.The pool area was lovely and the restaurant food excelent and very good value. The only downside with this place ( apart from the rock hard bed ) is its location it it away from the road and attractions but they do do a free shuttle bus to the night market at 7oclock every night. I must say staying here you forgot your in a city as it felt just like a lovely beach resort.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    199
    68
    30
    15
See reviews for
77
183
28
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Milano
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2010

We booked first for three days but then stayed for a week. Everything was excellent for the price: the room, restaurant, pool, staff. The only reason why we then left, was the distance from the city center. You have to use a transport ( even if we often walked back in late evening). The hotel as a shuttle to the city at 7 pm.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2010

Wonderful little hotel about 5-10mins drive from the main area of Chiang Mai. The staff all very friendly and helpful and the room we stayed in was just spot on. Very spacious and clean. Added bonus is the free wi-fi. Breakfast selection varied on the amount of guests but was good quality. Wonderful pool and gardens.
We were only going to stay 2 nights but ended up extending our stay here. Would highly recommend this hotel, especially when you compare it to the more overpriced ones in the city centre.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2010

We enjoyed our stay at Rainforest. The room was lovely. The pool was lovely. The restaurant was lovely. It is out of the city a bit but at least you can breathe the air. It's easy to get everywhere by tuk-tuk or taxi. Ther is a free tuk-tuk to te night markets at 7pm. Close to the railway station but don't try to walk there.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff,Wales
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2010 via mobile

Rain forest boutique:

The hotel was a short 10 minute taxi ride, from chiang mai airport. Its hidden away down a small but long street. Ok,  the first room we were put in, the air conditioning leaked and had burst water all over the floor, So We called reception they said ok and that we should wait for housekeeping to come to our room. We waited 2 hours (tired after days of travel). We then called reception again , told them that we had been waiting and they just seemed not bothered. Anyway They moved us to a differnt room. The hotels staff, what a joke, Very poor English at reception, Only restaurent manager had well spoken English.We feel tht  The reception staff had been very rude and false for the week we stayed. Reasons are, we had booked our own day tours,hired scooter ourselves, Not eaten at there restaurent, not touched the rooms mini bar etc. Breakfast is mearley ok, fruit & salad left uncovered , hence covered in small flies , bugs etc. Hence why we refused to eat at the restaurent. The Pool is nice, the reception is clean. They have hotel security in the evening as well.  Upon leaving the hotel after a 7 night stay, we asked reception  for a taxi to the airport. They called our room and told us some stupid inflated price. I said "no we pay on taxi meter" so she told us no and to get our own taxi, and put the phone down on us. How very rude! What's difficult they call a taxi, we jump in, we pay what's on meter. So after vacating our room, we went to reception handed keys over and went to hail a taxi cab, however the porter of the hotel snuck over and offered us a tuktuk to airport. He told us not to tell reception staff lol. I would not recomend this hotel to anyone, based on staffs falseness, and poor comunication skills. As you  could find a zbetter location, ( location wasnt bad, 50 minute walk to old city, night bazzar etc, or 10 min tuktuk drive) and better facilities closer to the city. 

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2010

Stayed here for 3 weeks in Jan 2010 and for the price it was a very nice hotel. However, the room position will greatly influence your stay. Those rooms situated in the main hotel block with odd numbers, especially ground, first, second and third floors can get a lot of noise from the restaurant, especially 5 am in the morning when the staff start preparing breakfast. Hotel staff are aware of this situation and no problems encountered when asking for room change. Thankfully not a lot of hotel guests use the swimming pool as there is a shortage of poolside beds. Courtesy bus to Night Bazaar every evening at 7 pm but make your own way back. Its about a 30-40 min walk from the hotel over the Nawarat Bridge up the main Tae Phae Road to the Gate, passing the Flower Market on your right as you've gone over the bridge. So not a bad position and quiet location for the hotel. Hotel staff extremely pleasant and helpful. Breakfast plentiful. Rooms cleaned every day with fresh towels and clean bed linen.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rainforest Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainforest Boutique

Address: 23/1 Charoenmuang Rd. | Soi 5 T.Tasala A.Muang, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Best Value Hotel in Chiang Mai
#29 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rainforest Boutique 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rainforest Boutique Hotel is perfectly situated in a serene area just off the main road and less than half a kilometer from the Railway Station.Our hotel allows you to take in the beauty and sounds of nature, offering a relaxing and tranquil environment, while still delivering all the amenities and facilities of larger hotels in town.Stay with us and enjoy peace and tranquility away from the noise and traffic fumes while still remaining quite close to the hustle and bustle of vibrant Chiang Mai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, EasyToBook, Agoda, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Rainforest Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainforest Boutique Hotel Chiang Mai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rainforest Boutique, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.