We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so royal, but okay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Royal Guest House to your Saves list
The Royal Guest House
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kothchasarn Rd. Soi 4 T.ChangKarn | A.Muang, Chiang Mai 50100 , Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #152 of 333 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“Not so royal, but okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

Located just outside the city center moat, the seven story Royal Guest House offers rooms at different prices with different amenities. Least expensive is on top floor with fan and sans toilet paper. Our third floor air con room is dreary and the air con noisy. Wifi Internet works in the room. Small pool here. Café in the lobby. A lot of bang for your baht.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    29
    26
    13
    8
See reviews for
2
33
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

place is nice but aged. staff is nice. rates are average. cost 500 B for single room. had to pay extra for single supplement.
very basic. would stay again but there are so many other accomodations elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

I've stayed at a few cheap places in chiang mai, and this one has the best vibe about it. Sure the place is old, but the more positives than positives. no wifi about the 3rd floor, and the lower floors probably cost more than they are worth, but u can just stay on the 6th floor and take your laptop downstairs and sit by the pool. there's also a bar and restaurant downstairs. the food is slightly above average. its nice a quiet, i like it.

Room Tip: all rooms are nice and big, the more stairs you climb, the cheaper. nice view up on 6th floor. cheap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Really nice entrance place with restaurant and swimming pool, free wifi.
Big rooms but very dirty and with huge cockroaches.
Convenient location.
Luggage-storage room for hotel guests for free.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Arrived in The royal Guesthouse few days before Sonkhran. Stayed for seven night with a small rebate. The place is old and not very clean but the architecture is great and they have a nice sunny pool. This is the reason why I choose this guesthouse... The place is crowded with nice backpacker and you can expected nice meeting in the restaurant near the reception. Of course the dishes are expensive, the rooms are expensive for what you get but if you consider this place for sleeping ans have some nice rest in the pool, its a good place near everything! Talking with tourists about the city, I realised that I was paying a high price (but it's high season and don't expect good deal, Songkhran is the moment of the year in Thailand!) Overall a good place, they didn't change our sheets bed every day but the service was ok, will go again for the pool ! (always a must when its 38 degrees downtown ;)

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveling!
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

With all the options that Chiang Mai offers in terms of accommodation, staying here is not such a good idea. I spent 3 nights there mainly because of the cheap price, but after looking around, I found places that for the same price where much nicer.
The building is an old, not taken care of, hotel, which has now converted to a guesthouse.
The main no no's of the place are the cleanness (lack of), the sheets and covers are not only old but I suspect not very clean, the cleaning service is not through at all (they just put the same sheets and covers without even making the bed, so your sheets end up moping the floor), and the too basic rooms for the price they have. Yes, everything works, but that's not enough when you stay in a nice city like Chiang Mai, that will probably catch you for more than a couple of days.
For arriving in Chiang Mai, and then looking for a nicer place, The Royal works; but do remember that for the same price you can find a place so much better, it's just a matter of looking around.
The ups is a friendly staff, but that doesn't account enough for the lack of many other things.
I changed to another guesthouse after 3 nights and realize that what I was paying was overpriced compared to the commodities of other guesthouses.
Would not return.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granville Ferry, Nova Scotia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

We arrived hot and tired from a long bus trip and were greeted with a big smile and a choice of rooms in this funky crumbling hotel with seven floors and no lift. After settling for a room on the third floor that smelled the freshest, my husband realized his computer bag was nowhere to be seen. We galloped downstairs to see if it was in the lobby. No! The smiling receptionist noticed our distress, and after we explained the problem, she showed my husband the CCTV of the lobby. There we were with bags but no computer. Ergo we had left it in the songthaew from the bus station. She then put in a call to the bus station and managed to get the driver's name and number. Soon my husband was happily reunited with his machine.

So while our room had seen better days, and we would not have been surprised to see the cast of 'Hair' appear in the lobby, with young guitar playing backpackers sitting among the potted palms and by the tiny pool, the service went beyond the call of duty and the beer was ice cold.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royal Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Guest House

Address: Kothchasarn Rd. Soi 4 T.ChangKarn | A.Muang, Chiang Mai 50100 , Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #152 of 333 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Royal Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your The Royal Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Guest House Hotel Chiang Mai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.