We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scrumptious Educational Day” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thai Orchid Cookery School

Thai Orchid Cookery School
1/1 Soi 8 Prapokkloa Rd. Prasing Chiangmai Thailand, Chiang Mai, Thailand
+66 80 499 8090
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 292 activities in Chiang Mai
Type: Classes/Workshops
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Courses at the Thai Orchid Cooking School are based on the philosophy that a meal should be a beautiful thing, made with love and shared with love. The school was started by "A" and her family who have the same dream of sharing their love of Thai cooking with those who desire to learn how to cook delicious Thai food but also to experience the culture and poetry of Thai cuisine.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Wheelchair access
USA
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Scrumptious Educational Day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

The instructors, Kong and his sister, were so patient, postive and gave detailed explanations. They also mentioned alternative ingredients you can use if you are unable to get some of the original ingredients. I enjoyed the small class size, we were only 5 in our class, which allowed for some personalized attention and for us to get to know our classmates better and sample the food they made as well. We were given time between courses to eat the food we had cooked. Very rewarding! The market visit was informative, as it exposed us to raw spices and varieties that we are not generally exposed to in the West. Seeing the raw ingredients, made a bigger visual impact than if we had just stayed at the school all day and will help as I shop for ingredients in the future...I have already successfully tried one of the recipes on my own, well, with the help of the recipe book they provide at the end of the class!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    314
    6
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Pleasant and informative afternoon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We started in a local market where Mr. Kong, our host, introduced and explained us about a variety of traditional and local vegetables, fruits, cereals, nuts, and some other picturesque elements. Illustrative, at least. As a negative point it was sometimes difficult to hear all explanations, also taking into account the public noisy place.

The school is simple but comfortable. After arriving there the process is quite fast and you get yourself with your hands fully occupied in a matter of minutes. But we would like to highlight one point - the school should have a stronger concern about washing hands - for example suggesting loud and clear that everyone should go wash hands before commencing cooking......

The "kitchen class" have a nice mirror on the ceiling where we could see the ingredients and all the cooking process, but there was no exhauster, which we thought important specifically for the frying. Awesome point was that there was a lot of "experimentation" where we could try out the level of condiments we want to use before doing it ourselves.

The staff is very pleasant and willing to help in anything they can. Then, after a few hours and 5 different (delicious) dishes, I find myself as an acceptable first-time-cook. Thank you Thai Orchid Cookery School!!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“lovely place to experience to learn Thai cusine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Its great place to have experience of Thai cooking, very nice family run cookery school. Lovely people and very good teaching!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best experience of our trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

My girlfriend and I booked onto the morning course, and we couldn't be more glad that we did! Kong and his sister were amazing hosts, both having excellent knowledge of the food they cook and the techniques they teach. On top of this they are both so pleasant, and accommodate to everyone's tastes - if you don't like an ingredient just say and it's either left out or, more often, substituted for something else. They are full of top tips and suggestions as to alternatives if you think you'll have trouble sourcing ingredients back home. The cookbook included in the price is a great keepsake with all 19 recipes. The course was 1200 baht each and we initially thought this was a bit pricey compared to other courses but it is absolutely worth every penny as you have a ball and learn a useful skill to take back home. All in all, an outstanding course!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Could not have been better!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Kong picked us up from our hotel at 3pm, we met the group and began the experience with a trip to the market which I didn't expect to be as interesting as it was, there were lots of fruit and vegetables that I was unfamiliar with and Kong provided some interesting information about the produce. Kong is a really lovely guy, a good teacher and his English is perfect. The class size was small with only 10 people which was great.

The school was very well set up, initially Kong demonstrated the dish, with a mirror suspended from the ceiling so we could see into the wok, and then we tasted his dish before moving into the courtyard we we were each given our own cooking station and ingredients to replicate the dish.

I do not like spicy food and I am vegetarian and they catered to all my needs brilliantly, both in demonstrating a vegetarian/ non spicy version and then giving me alternate ingredients. They also gave suggestions of substitute ingredients we could use if we had trouble finding the Thai ingredients in our home country.

There were several helpers that assisted us while we were cooking, stepping in at just the right moment before I messed the dish up! They got the balance just right between prepping the ingredients so it wouldn't take too long and so that it would be fun but at the same time we enable us to feel as though we had created the dish not merely put it together.

We also received a booklet full of Thai recipes to take home. I could not recommend it highly enough! It is was enjoyable, educational, well organised and relaxed.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Orchid Cookery School also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Thai Orchid Cookery School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai Orchid Cookery School, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Thai Orchid Cookery School to your Saves list