We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fortunate to have found this location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SakulchaiPlace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added SakulchaiPlace Hotel to your Saves list
SakulchaiPlace Hotel
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   10 Soi. Plubplung T.Changphuak | Muang District, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #159 of 503 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
4.0 of 5 stars 67 Reviews
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Fortunate to have found this location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

This hotel met all of our expectations. The hotel is located on a quiet dead-end street on the NW side of the old city. The hotel provided a clean, safe, enjoyable atmosphere for the three weeks we stayed there. The hotel is staffed by a competent and professional group of people. No question or request is too simple or tiring for the staff to act upon in a quick manner. My hat is off to Ms. Roongtiwa and her staff of professionals. I must say the hotel is located in an area that some may not find convenient, but we found this to be the perfect location for a nice, quiet, comfortable place to stay and I strongly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The 4th floor have the higher end rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    26
    8
    10
    1
See reviews for
8
23
15
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Thailand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

stay here last week of Oct 2011, not so nice reception, inconvenient lift (a door lift for two floor), so not recommend for heavy luggage. hotel is 95% finish-built. some part under construction (parking). bad parking surface. breakfast extra. good points: very clean (floor, bed sheets, curtain etc.. because they are new fresh furnished...), small kitchen corner in each room, boiler for tea & coffee. easy to get red taxi to town or university, very close/walking distance to Nimman Rd where yuppies do shopping. you cannot complain for this price, will recommend friends.

Room Tip: get room North side, 3 or 4th floor for less noise, far from lift door (lift bells).
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

Whilst at first glance, this place looks great, it has awful management.

Firstly, in the superior and deluxe rooms, the windows are locked (by management) and anyhow have no mosquito screens,... so the rooms stink of smoke and food and whatever else.

The reception staff are very friendly, but most speak almost no English and seem to have absolutely no say as to what happens. For example, forget getting a room change if yours stinks.

One of the reasons I decided to stay here is that it has an in house restaurant. The food is not bad, but they (obviously under senior management) change there closing time completely randomly every single day. Some days before 5pm, some days 6pm, whilst officially it's supposed to be 8pm. Basically whatever management feels like. So if you've planned to eat in,..... surprise surprise every time!

Also, regarding the food, they almost always get the order wrong, unless you're fluent in Thai. Resulting in higher costs.

The wifi works, but is an absolute pain, because you have to get a username and password for every device you want to connect every day. This can waste a lot of your time, never mind the annoyance.

As mentioned, the general staff are friendly, but management treats you more like their employee than their customer.

The curtains don't block out any light, so if you fancy sleeping later than day break, good luck at this place.

The reason for my writing this review is because I'm staying here at the moment... I payed for a month in advance, and every day presents new frustrating incidents, and I'm not a difficult customer.

I was also ripped off by this place with laundry,... and I'm very used to Thailand.

I could go on, but if you want to be in this area, which isn't bad, I'd recommend looking at the dozens of other options within 200 meters.

I hope management reads this review and fixes what is simple to do, which would make the place more in line with the other reviews written about it.

Room Tip: If you don't like the stench of smoke, or not having fresh air, double check the room they offer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

We stayed about a month in this tranquil hotel just up a short scenic lane off the hustle of the main road. So near yet so "far away" in that it is a refreshingly quiet haven to return to at the end of each day, with its spacious and clean rooms. We were so pleased with our room which was located at the back of the hotel and had a wonderful view of the trees and jungly bush which gave some lovely entertainment with its bird and squirrel life. The fridge in our room was a bigger fridge than the normal bar fridges found in hotels. Bottled water and delicous coffee was supplied daily, together with excellent room service. WIFI reception is quick and reliable. Getting out and about and around from the hotel is so easy with tuk-tuks/sawngthaews (ph. song taw) easily accessible on the main road. Tops supermarket at nearby Central Mall is just a fabulous supermarket with a foodhall serving tasty and inexpensive meals if your budget doesn't allow for daily restaurant visits. There are some superb restaurants nearby in the Nimanhaeman area. If you're a Christian and want to attend fellowship/service try The Gathering at 10.30am Sundays at the Lotus hotel just down the road (5 min walk). Last, but definitely not least, I must mention three wonderfully beautiful people who are Rabbit, Amp and A at reception. No day is complete without their wide lovely smiles of greeting and, of course, they were always so helpful and super-efficient... we miss you all xxx until next year :)

Room Tip: Request a room at the back from any one of the fabulous trio - rabbit/Amp/A - at reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

My friend recommend me this hotel. It a very wonderful place I have ever stay. Staffs are very nice and friendly. Food is very good and reasonable price. There is free wifi and free coffee with 2 bottles of water in the room.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2010

We stayed here for eight nights. We viewed the rooms before booking and were very impressed. We were shown two different types of double rooms- one for 450 THB a night and the other for 550 THB night. All had AC, fridge, hot water and TV. They were both spacious with the 550 THB room being more spacious as the price difference would suggest. We chose the 550 THB room.

The rooms were immaculately kept with really good storage. The bathroom was good but was a wet room which is the norm in Thailand. There was also tea making facilities in the room. There was dial up internet in each room but it wasn't very reliable and was only available at a cost.

The staff were all very nice and helpful. The hotel was in a good location- it's down a short road off the Huay Kaew Road. It is outside the old city walls so is about a twenty five minute walk or else less than five minutes in a tuk tuk/sawngthaew.

There are some nice restaurants nearby -one in particular called Lemongrass Restaurant which is run by a lovely local couple. It was very cheap with great food and good portions.

We were very happy during our stay here and it has turned out to be one of the nicest hotels we stayed in throughout our time in South East Asia so far.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SakulchaiPlace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SakulchaiPlace Hotel

Address: 10 Soi. Plubplung T.Changphuak | Muang District, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #159 of 503 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — SakulchaiPlace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes off Huay Kaew Road in downtown Chiangmai, Sakulchai Place provides comfortable accommodations with easy access to tourist attractions, an on-site restaurant and massage services. Sakulchai Place is a 5-minute walk from Kaad Suan Kaew Mall and a 10-minute drive from the many cultural tourist attractions like temples. Rooms at Sakulchai Hotel are spacious and air-conditioned. They are equipped with a cable TV, fridge, minibar and coffee/tea maker. They come with private bathrooms with hot/cold shower. Services at Sakulchai Place include airport shuttle services, laundry, car rental and fax/photocopying. There is also a tour desk at the hotel. Klua Sakulchai Restaurant provides Thai and western dishes. Room service is also provided for the convenience of guests ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your SakulchaiPlace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SakulchaiPlace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.