We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, service is a bit random” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taste from Heaven Vegetarian Restaurant

Taste from Heaven Vegetarian Restaurant
237-239 Thapae Road, Chiang Mai 50230, Thailand
+66 89 951 1167
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #457 of 1,361 Restaurants in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 stars 175 Reviews
Price range: $1 - $4
Cuisines: Thai, Vegetarian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Taste From Heaven has moved and improved. Great vegetarian and vegan dishes: Thai and Western severed from 10am to 10pm, 7 days a week. Serving late breakfast, lunch, dinner, light meals and snacks and of course smoothies, shakes, coffee tea and a wide range of alcoholic beverages to accompany your meal.
Chiang Mai
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good food, service is a bit random”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

The food dishes are always good here - we go regularly. The service is sometimes good, sometimes not. The waiters are sometimes over-the-top attentive, and other times hard to find; other times very 'slow' to understand what's going on - maybe they're just new or overwhelmed with the number of dishes in the menu?!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    37
    26
    19
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Could be much better”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I tried it twice this week and ordered different dishes each time. The food is overpriced ( a coconut juice was 60B) and under-spiced. The place seems aimed at a tourist crowd and making bland food in order not to be too spicy for this crowd. The atmosphere is pretty blah. I would avoid it. If you want a great vegetarian restaurant in Chiang Mai go to Anchan.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food rubbish service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Firstly the food deserves 5 stars. Lovely, lovely vege Thai food.

The main problem is the service.

I'm not one for fussy service, but some service would be nice. They appear to have imported 2 surly teenagers from the UK to wait tables.

From the moment you arrive, and get ignored, wait 15 minutes to order and then only after having waved several times to get their attention. Chatting and looking on Facebook seems slightly more important.

We ordered 2 starters and 2 mains. My wife's main arrived in about 1 minute. Then 15 minutes later her starter. Then someone else's dessert. Then both of my courses together.

Once again the food is great. Go if you don't mind being ignored and don't care if or when your food arrives.

So I waited 5 minutes whilst the waitress worked out how to open the till and refrained from leaving a tip.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“CHANGED OWNERSHIP AND THAT'S WHY NO GOOD.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We have been here many times over the past years and so good, For sure the best restaurant in CM.
We went again April 17th. I found out the owner an Englishman and Thai wife and no longer there,He was passionate about helping Elephants at Elephant nature park and vegetarian foods and i spoke to him on a number of times.
THAT'S WHY THE REVIEWS AS SO BAD AND THIS NOT LIKE BEFORE,
The service is terrible and so unfriendly and the food not the same. The lady i think the new owner cant speak English and to busy chatting to staff and having fun , Not serving customers when they come in the door and slow to get a menu ( 15 minutes )
Music terrible and not good for veggie place.They not know anything about the Elephant nature park as my friends wanted to book a trip.
They had no beer or cake that i wanted and much of the food not available,
Even the feeling like before was not there,
when the bill come up much was missing as they not take the order correctly, i told them they had missed 3 main course from the bill and they not understand what i said ,so we had much of our food for free lol
My wife was sad not to chat the owner before as we loved this place,
WORST TO COME. I WENT TO TOILET AND STAFF WAS EATING MEAT IN THE BACK GARDEN .
AND DRINKING.

I wont come or recommend this place to anyone again, SHOCKED TO SEE THE CHANGE.

This is not the real Taste from heaven

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McAllen, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent food priced right”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

Definitely will go back this trip great food for the price doesn't get any better Location near Thae Pae Gate on the left side of the road very close to the temple

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taste from Heaven Vegetarian Restaurant also viewed

 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Taste from Heaven Vegetarian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taste from Heaven Vegetarian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.