We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lucky find in Chiang Mai” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sawasdee Chiangmai House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sawasdee Chiangmai House to your Saves list
Sawasdee Chiangmai House
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   5 Praplokklao Soi 13 | T.Sripoom, A.Muang, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #75 of 502 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A lucky find in Chiang Mai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2010

I feel so fortunate to have found Sawasdee Guest House on my first visit to Chiang Mai. Great location, clean, spacious rooms, with great bedding and bath but it is the owner, Sam, and his niece that made the real difference in our stay. Courteous, helpful, and generous with their ideas and suggestions on how to get around, where to go, and what to do while visiting. Extra help with how much should be paid for services which can be troublesome in a city of negotiated prices. I especially appreciated the adjacent cafe with free snacks and internet including the laptop.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    48
    12
    4
    2
See reviews for
19
83
30
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norman, Oklahoma
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

This charming guest house furnished in a tasteful décor; with hand-painted murals in each bedroom, and a large mural on one outside wall. It’s ideally located in the heart of Chiang Mai; within a short distance to the “Walking Street Market”, and is next to the Wat Chiang Man, the oldest Temple in Chiang Mai. I was very impressed with their first rate guest services, the comfort, the available all day complementary varieties of fresh fruits. They also provided free WI-FI, and there’s no bike rental fee. Chaing Mai exceeded all my expectations!
I can definitely say “A great place to stay, a wonderful staff, at a terrific price.” It has more unique personalities than a cookie-cutter, and more amenities found in an ordinary chain hotel. The Sawasdee Chiangmai House, a boutique guest house definitely gets five stars!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2010

From the moment me and my father got there we were treated like family. The room was ideal: spacious, comfortable, spotless, and conveniently equipped with all the hot water you could enjoy. The entire staff never seemed to get tired of smiling and Sam and Mo were there for all our needs that made this stay so memorable in my mind. Well done indeed on their part... I wouldn't think of staying anywhere else when I visit Chiang Mai...

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

My son and I stayed here for 6 nights. The two of us have been connected to the hotel-resort industry in Las Vegas, Nevada, for the past 10 years. We know the hotel industry inside out. Sawasdee Chiang Mai House exceeded all out expectations...by far! Our rooms were spacious and spotless. Our bed linens were of high quality and, again, spotless. Speaking of beds...comfy to the nth degree. Plenty of hot water, great A/C system. ALL facilities--again!--spotless!. But I saved the best for last.
Service from the owner, Sam, to the house maids was exceptional and ALWAYS accompanied by a smile. Need scooters to rent for the day (or week)? My son and I were riding around town within half an hour after we mentioned our intentions to Sam. Tours? Cooking classes? Messages? All arranged with aplomb, a smile or two, and accompanied by sage advice. A few hours before we were to leave for the airport, I decided to experience my first ever pedicure. No problem! Tangmo (just call her Mo), Sam's niece, accompanied me to the nearby (two doors down the street) "nail place--beauty salon" and translated my wishes for the salon attendant.
The Four Seasons can learn a thing or two from Sawasdee Chiang Mai House!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

We were here for 5 nights, Sam, Mo and the staff are very helpful & friendly, they advice you where to go, where to eat &……..., arrange the bus or taxi for you at the best price, especially Sam for bought us the chicken rice and porridge for our breakfast and lent us the insect repellent before we went for trekking. We hope to see them again. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xi'n
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

An amazing place to stay, with very large beautiful clean rooms. Wonderfully comfortable beds and all round a peaceful place to relax in the midst of the city. Such good value for money is hard to find. Sam & Tangmo thank you for making my birthday so special!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

rooms; large, cleaned every day, plenty of TV channels and pillows good enough to steal ( I didnt !! )
Sam is at front desk and along with his partner provide everything you need to know with a genuine smile and a desire to get you the best deal around.
location is back from the main drag.... approx 5 min walk to restaurants/bars and 10 minutes to night markets - but tuk tuk away they are the friendly non-threatening type, unlike the BKK boys !!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sawasdee Chiangmai House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sawasdee Chiangmai House

Address: 5 Praplokklao Soi 13 | T.Sripoom, A.Muang, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 502 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sawasdee Chiangmai House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique guesthouse for budget travelers. All rooms are clean and well equipped with teak furniture, air conditioner, refrigerator, TV with cable channel, bathroom with hot and cold water. Coffee, drinking water, fresh fruit, internet and bicycle rental free of charge. To ensure a soothing and pleasant stay the big rooms are quite spacious at 32 square meters with private balcony, are decorated in the old Lanna style with a hand-painted wall mural in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sawasdee Chiangmai House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sawasdee Chiangmai House Hotel Chiang Mai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sawasdee Chiangmai House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.