We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Value in Chang Mai” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kavil Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chiang Mai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kavil Guesthouse
Save
You added Kavil Guesthouse to your Saves list
10/1 Ratchadamnoen Rd. Soi 5, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 330 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Brisbane
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Value in Chang Mai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012 via mobile

This is definitely the best value for money place in Chang Mai. The place is clean, the owners are super friendly and the location is very very central. I paid 200 baht for a twin fan room with ensuite and hot water. All other places are charging approx 150 more for the same facilities.

I also had to use the printer facilities at their new guesthouse.. Kavel 2. This placed looked really nice and had a younger vibe to it... I think the rooms there were about 50 baht extra a night because its newer.

Without hesitation would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    22
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
25
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

We stayed here for four nights during our travels in Thailand and loved it. The couple that run it are amazing and so friendly and helpful. They helped us arrange all of our trips as well as our onward travel in Laos, but were never pushy about selling us things. The room was basic but clean, spacious, always had hot water and most rooms seemed to have views over the street (ours did) as opposed to the view of a brick wall that we all too often seem to get in budget hostels!

The location is good (in the heart of the 'old town') and on the same street as a nice little cafe where we had breakfast, lunch, dinner and drinks at various times and near to a choice of cookery schools.

The range of activiities on offer in Chiang Mai is amazing. We did elephant riding and Thai cooking, but could have stayed for another week to do more!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend and I spent 5days at Kavil and were really impressed!

Lily the owner and her beautiful little dog Habu was really really friendly and made us feel more than welcome!

Location was great, in the main square and walking distance from everything you need!!

Right next to Baan Thai cooking school and an AMAZING restaurant called Peppermint!

I would really recommend staying here to anyone, such a nice place!!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012 via mobile

Such a great and cheap guesthouse! My friend and I were dyin to stay here after reading the reviews and unfortunately it was full when we arrived. We had to stay down the street for our first night in Chiang Mai but luckily snagged a room here at the kavil on day two. By far an upgrade from Your House and cheaper! Such a bang for yOur buck. 250 a night for two beds, a fan and a private bathroom. The lady is super sweet. Just don't book a day trip through her, very overpriced!! We booked the exact same excursion down the street for 400 baht less! My words of wisdom: sign up for baan Thai cookery school across the street...totally worth it!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011 via mobile

This guesthouse is just perfect! The rooms are basic, BUT very cheap and really clean. So really good value for your money! Also location is great, central within old city, good restaurants nearby. Arrange your daytrips via the guesthouse, since you get discount. Also, the owners are really friendly and make you feel like home.
Try their breakfast as well, the best i had in Thailand!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yoro-cho, Japan
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

We found and decided to stay at Kavil guesthouse since a guesthouse we booked messed up our reservation and there was no room for us. The location is great. Very close to the Sunday market street. Nice cafe, laundry, moterbike&bicycle rent,... we could find everything what we need for our stay within one minute walk. The owner is very friendly and helpful. Although the bed was a bit too hard for me, the room was spacious enough and good for the price B350 with AC.
Great place for budget travelers!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

Cheap, great location, nice staff, clean and cozy rooms. no complain.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kavil Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kavil Guesthouse

Address: 10/1 Ratchadamnoen Rd. Soi 5, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Kavil Guesthouse Hotel Chiang Mai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kavil Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.