We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good breakfast, great atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Diamond Breakfast Club

Blue Diamond Breakfast Club
35/1 MoonMuang Road, Soi 9, Chiang Mai, Thailand
+(66)0 53 217 120
Improve this listing
Ranked #157 of 1,244 Restaurants in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good breakfast, great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

In a lovely part of the old city behind the Somhet market and close to a number of guesthouses. Good banana porridge and coffee.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    134
    58
    27
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Local, organic, real food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I almost cried on Buddha's birthday when they were closed for the holiday. This place is like an organic food cafe might have been in Portland or Seattle 15 years ago. I love the sesame & flax seed pancake, 'the One' smoothie with mango, banana & spirulina, blueberry oatmeal muffins, avocado chicken sandwich...i could go on. It's fresh, the husband/wife owners are always there and seem kind to their staff. Baked goods arrive from the oven every 20 minutes. The wifi is fast and free. A few mosquitos in the garden in the evening but that's everywhere here. I only look for guest houses in this area because the place is so nurturing after spending 3 months in Asia.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“OK But Not Up to the Local Hype”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Ate here twice. Dinner was OK. Breakfast was OK but unremarkable. Had a chocolate muffin that looked amazing, but was dry and did not taste at all like chocolate. It seemed to be a couple days old. This place seems to be popular, but there are better choices near by.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sipalay Phillipines
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Wholesome Food at a reasonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

For many years I have been visiting this uniqe eatery in the heart of the backpacker's ghetto in the northern section of the moat in Chaing mai- it has never failed. I recently went with some friends from my work. The food was the same consistent, ample, whole food quality I have gotten for many many years. The My only beef at times is the service but it is a different style of place. Do not come here expecting five star service. It is very inexpensive for the great quality shoel and organic food with a relaxed atmosphere. They do not have a large staff of people catering to small things. But once your order is in and it gets to your table, it almost nver disappoints. They have a great selction of healthy salads, soups and sandwiches as well as traditional, yet much healthier versions of Thai cuisine.

On the whole, a visit to Chiang mai without checking out Blue Diamond at least once is a bit of a shame. It is located inside the enchantingly located in the small narrow soi section of Chaing mai's moated city and provides a nice, healthy, and cultural alternative to the myriad of basic eateries in the city. They also have a nice selection of whole foods, baked items, and organic style sundry items for purchase. Only other downside, they are closed on Sundays so far as I still know.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surat Thani, Thailand
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast in SE Asia!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I'm originally from America and I've been living in Thailand for over two years and traveling SE Asia for just as long, and I can honestly say that this is the best breakfast spot I've come across! The food selection, quality of ingredients, and care they put into making it is hard to beat. To add, it's no more than you'd pay at any of the other breakfast joints in Chiang Mai.

I highly recommend the avocado omelette with a cup of fresh coffee! Enjoy!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Diamond Breakfast Club also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Blue Diamond Breakfast Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Diamond Breakfast Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.