We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cheap £15 a night, lovely large air con rooms, very helpful staff and a good nights sleep!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Dome Residence

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Dome Residence to your Saves list
The Dome Residence
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Soi Plub Plueng, Huay Kaew Road | Chang Phuek, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #156 of 330 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very cheap £15 a night, lovely large air con rooms, very helpful staff and a good nights sleep!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2010

We chose this hotel because of the good reviews and it really paid off. We were initially booked in for two nights and we were then going to look for another hotel, but we didn't need to. We initially had a double room for £15 a night which was perfect, very large bed, desk, wardrobe, fridge with 2 complimentary bottles of water a day, balcony and great shower. When we decided to stay longer we upgraded to a deluxe room, which is double the size with a sofa. The staff (despite some not speakting great english) have been beyond helpful. It is in a great part out town as it out of the main tourist area so there are genuinely good thai and other cuisine restaurants arouns including your own night market accross the road at the shopping centre! It costs under 100 baht (£2) to get into town from here, but we ended up hiring a scooter for the day which was amazing, at £4 a day from shops all over town its certainly an experience not to be missed! Great hotel, would definitiely stay again, though it would be good if they were able to serve some kind of breakfast and free WIFI would be a plus, though at 100 THB a day its fine!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    16
    11
    4
    4
See reviews for
2
12
16
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Barbados
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2010

We loved this hotel! We stayed here for five nights and stayed in the deluxe room which was 900 THB a night. The room was absolutely massive! There was an ultra comfy king size bed with really comfortable soft pillows. There was AC, large fridge, hot water and TV. We also had a balcony which looked out onto the mountains. There was a dial up connection for the internet but it was very unreliable and there was a charge for using it.

There was a couch and coffee table in the room too which were actually quite far away from the bed as the room is so big!

The bathroom was a good size. The room and bathroom were both really modern and very well maintained.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is located just down a little soi off the Huay Kaew Road. It's about a twenty five minute walk to the centre of the old city but only a short drive in a tuk tuk or sawngthaew. There are some nice restaurants nearby one, one in particular called the Lemongrass Restaurant. It has a great menu which is really cheap and is run by a really nice local couple.

We loved our stay here in The Dome and would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san carlos, california
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2010

Great place, great price. A deluxe room with mountain and park views a small kitchen and the best staff in Thailand. An amazing deal at under $35.00 a night. In a nice area away from the touristy night market. lots of great restaurants and shopping at your doorstep.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2009

The Dome is a relatively new hotel, so has clean, bright, modern, comfortable rooms. The staff are eager to please, so ask if there is anything missing. The cost is in the moderate range of prices depending on what is included. The hotel is on the perimeter of the city, so a trip to the tourist markets will require a taxi or songtheaw ride which costs less.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gaysianboy
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2009

I originally made an online booking for another place about 2 mins down the road from The Dome - this turned out to be a serious mistake! I stayed the night, but the next morning I got up and went off looking for an alternative. With in a short time I came across The Dome and all I can say is thank God! I asked to see the rooms and chose a VERY reasonably priced deluxe suite with a nice mountain view, balcony, etc. and as fast as I could, checked out of the other place and moved to the Dome! Well, what can I say - my stay was great. The reception staff are fantastic and helped me out loads. The place was virtually brand new at the time and so everything was spotless and very comfortable. The location is great to get into the city, Doi Sutep, the Univeristy, etc., though I never managed to pronouce the Huay Kaew road properly so always had to show the hotel card to taxi drivers or ask for the 'Chiang Mai Orchid Hotel' and then direct them down the road about 30 secs further! Overall, HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

  • Liked — New, very clean, excellent value, friendly and spacious rooms.
  • Disliked — No safes in the rooms or safe facility at reception for storing valuables.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Laurel, NJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2008

Phenomenal staff and accomodations it's a shame that this place doesn't come up when searching for places to stay in Chiang Mai. I was a victim of the airport closure and found myself in Chiang Mai a few days longer than expected they accepted a "walk in" without any hassle showed me several different types of rooms / apartments and within 15 minutes I had a place to stay. Internet access is available for 100 Baht per day and there is a small cafe onsite. Within walking distance to the mall and many different bars and restaurants. I will definitely consider a return stay at "The Dome".

  • Liked — Staff and cleanliness
  • Disliked — Location was a bit far away from downtown attractions.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2008

The Dome residence, Chiang Mai, Thailand
I was there with a group of friends in Oct, 2008 for holidays..... we found this place by accident, it's just a block from a big shopping mall, Kad Suan keaw on Huay Keaw road, so we just dropped by to check, we impressed with the friendly front reception and the rate is so reasonable, we pay 700 baht for a new, neat, clean, comfortable and very trendy modern Thai style room, with so easy to access most of tourist attractions in Chaingmai, also tons of shops, coffee shops and restaurants in the area, that make our trip so convenience and much easier!! A must stay place in Chaingmai
Pat, Bangkok, Thailand

  • Liked — the style, cleaness, safe and conveniece
  • Disliked — nothing can think about
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Dome Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dome Residence

Address: 1 Soi Plub Plueng, Huay Kaew Road | Chang Phuek, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #156 of 330 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Dome Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Dome Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dome Hotel Chiang Mai
Dome Chiang Mai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dome Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.