We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best stay in Chiang mai” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Awanahouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chiang Mai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Awanahouse
Save
You added Awanahouse to your Saves list
7 Ratchadamnoen Road, Lane 1 | Thapae Gate, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 503 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Sant'Ambrogio di Torino, Italy
1 review
“best stay in Chiang mai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

The GH is very nice and center located, has a cold pool to relax and the personel is very polite and highly professional, I stayed at the top floor on the fan room, I choose it because the price was very good.
compared to other GH it was a better quality on everything and also the guest were nice family and quiete tourists.

Room Tip: fan room is hot during the day but cold at night, if you want a/c pay a bit more and is perfect, I l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    96
    14
    8
    0
See reviews for
49
130
51
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

I was here for 5 night in May 2012 and had a lovely stay! The one person bedroomd was big, clean and had a balcony. The bathroom was good and also clean. The restaurant at the guesthouse was good and the staff was very friendly. I will recommend Awana House to every one who's heading Chiang Mai, Thailand

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

We spent three nights at Awanahouse and were very satisfied with our stay. The rooms were very nice and clean (our room was cleaned every day), with AC, a TV with some cable channels in English, and an extremely comfortable bed. One bed sheet had a stain on it, so we asked for it to be changed which was done without any problems.

The WiFi connection was very good in our room, as there are separate routers on every floor. In addition, the hotel has a pool that is just what you need after a day of sightseeing. A further big plus is the fact that they let you use their WiFi and even the shower after your check-out on the day of your departure.

The hotel also has a restaurant where you can have breakfast and other meals if you wish, however you may find cheaper breakfast in a nearby cafe.

There are many bars and restaurants closeby, as well as other services such as scooter rental, cooking classes, massage centres, the post office and laundry services. We visited all major temples and other tourist attractions by foot, and also the city's night market is still within walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed in this guesthouse for four nights. Awana House is centrally located and is facilitatedbwith a pool, which is nice during the hot days of May! Although the staff was never Rude and was willing to help, some of them came across as a bit unfriendly (never smiling, not always responding to saying hello, etc.).

Our room had both a fan and airconditioning, which made sure the room was cooled. The bed was pretty and comfortable, although a little hard (but I believe that is quite common in Thailand). Further the room looked clean, although the toilet smelled somewhat like old urine, even after it was cleaned, which was unpleasant. In addition, the towels were certainly clean, but did not smell nice and clean.

Further, the breakfast was nice and the hotel offered a lot of choice. the Awana massage salon across the street was also very good! Overall, Awana House is a hotel that delivers good value for money, and with a little room for improvement!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rabertsch, Manager at Awanahouse, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent trip to Chiang Mai. Your valuable comments will be shared among our team. It is a great pleasure to hear that you’re pleased with the location of our guesthouse and that our swimming pool and rooms had conveniently facilitated you during your stay.
Unfortunately the bed was a bit too hard for you. We’ve selected to have box spring mattresses with a soft top.

We’ll surely discuss with our staff to pay attention and be more attentive to respond when guests say “Hello”. However, it is never our standard to disregard guests.

Regarding your remarks on bad odor. Though having the toilets cleaned and still having a bad smell it might be caused by having a problem with the drain, bringing bad air back into the bathroom. We’ll do further investigation to make necessary improvements
Also we’ll have an internal review of the laundry work process, to find out why the towels not have a nice smell after washing.

Please accept our apology for these inconveniences during your visit.
Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs, CO
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

This was my second year at the Awanahouse, and it's a terrific find. Friendly staff, very safe and secure, awesome Internet (had to work a bit while on vacation), small clean pool, in-room safes, air conditioning and great location just inside the old city at the beginning of the famous Sunday market. This is just an outstanding value. Now they have hired one of the instructors from the Thai Cottage Cooking school (Zee), so the food in the little on-site restaurant is terrific, and incredibly affordable. If you're looking for a quaint, convenient, friendly and safe place to stay, you just can't go wrong with Awanahouse. Haven't heard a single complaint from any of the guests, this year or last. I will be back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

I stayed in Awanahouse during the Songkran festival in 2012. The location is great - right next to the Tha Pae gate and the walking street at night, so the whole old town is within walking distance.
The room is good with okay equipments, shower and bed, and I also got a little balcony facing the street, which brings some noise from the new year celebration but luckily not at night.
The staff are really helpful, tho not speaking very good english but you can tell they are trying their best to be welcoming and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

I stayed in Awana House this year in march. I just love this B&B in Chiang Mai. The rooms are big, and lovely decorated they have good beds with good pillows and they are very clean. Staff is always helpfull, and they provide a smiling service. Also a nice Awana massage parlor across the street. They can arrange tours for you with a helpfull driver & guide who knows many interesting things about the area. I stayed there before last year, and can highly recommend Awana House.
Elly Spiering
The Hague
Netherlands

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Awanahouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Awanahouse

Address: 7 Ratchadamnoen Road, Lane 1 | Thapae Gate, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 503 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Awanahouse Hotel Chiang Mai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Awanahouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.