We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good but nothing special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Thaphae Garden Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Thaphae Garden Guesthouse to your Saves list
Thaphae Garden Guesthouse
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   60 Soi 3 Thapae Road , Changklan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #167 of 537 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Reggio Emilia, Italy
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“good but nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stayed at Thaphae Garden at the beginning of January, at the peak of high season for Chiang Mai, a time of the year a little difficult to find good value for money accommodation in this wonderful city as tourists flock from all over the world as well as from Thailand itself. We were told they had two types of accommodations with Ac or fan and that the prices for the first three nights cost almost a 50% more, hence AC rooms were 1090BHT (going down from the third night onwards to 790BHT) and 890BHT for the fan rooms (to go back down to 550BHT after the third night). Said prices were exclusive of breakfast. We opted for an AC room as they have a warmer a cleaner feeling. A flowery patterned wall paper helped giving the room an almost designer feel, flash-packer style describes at best the atmosphere. Many couples and small groups of people, travelling with a backpack but in need of some basic comforts such as a strong jet shower with warm water, clean bed sheets and a chill out area airy and welcoming are most likely to find the Thaphae garden a cool place to stay for a few nights. The location is also very good, only 5 minutes’ walk from the night Bazaar and in the opposite direction from the Wall’s entrance, but its side road address, makes it a quiet place sparing guests from the noise of more centrally located guest houses and assuring a good night sleep. If you can avoid the rooms facing North (the ones above the pool) as the sun never reaches them and they tend to be a little damp. The rooms, furnished simply yet thoroughly, are provided with TV with international channels, free bottle of water and a fridge. A bad score is represented by the staff cleaning the room only every other day, which in my opinion is unacceptable at the price they charge. I stayed at cheaper guest houses which provided daily and exceptional daily room cleaning. The guest house is run by a family, the two young girl and boy speak good English and are able to provide you with info on how to move around town, there is also an older woman (the kids’ auntie) and her husband who must be the actual owner of the place. They are polite but not too friendly and run the hotel's kitchen (open from 7am to 2pm). We only had breakfast there twice (145BHT for American Breakfast) and it was good and cooked with fresh ingredients, although service is a bit slow, but then again if you’re chilling out in Chiang Mai, and I suggest you do, time stretches and regains its real meaning.
Another bad score is the fact the room keys are kept at reception in a bowl, where anyone can have access to them. I suggest you keep the key with you rather than leaving it there, as reception is unguarded after 8pm.
Overall the Thaphae Garden is a good place to stay, a moderately cheap alternative (provided you keep the 790BHT rate with AC) to the many scruffy guest houses you may find for little less. Its clean and near the main markets and also provides trekking and tours, just ask reception. During my week in Chiang Mai I also had the opportunity to see other guest houses and small hotels with similar prices and I can say that although the TG is a good choice, I am not sure I would stay again.

Room Tip: avoid the rooms above the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    74
    33
    13
    8
See reviews for
22
66
28
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

Staff were friendly...always loved a chat. Every morning free bananas from the madame personal stash. Always helpful. Definitely worth the money. Went to Koh Lanta after and stayed at the Lanta Riviera this place was the complete opposite, def missed Thaphae garden and it's staff a lot more as result.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Our stay at the Thaphae Garden Guesthouse was friendly, clean, tidy and comfortable. It was ideally located, close enough to the old city, but far enough away for a quite restful night. Plenty to see and do from temple visits to Thai dancing dinner show as well as the fabulous night bazaars. A big thank you to our host Jame and his family. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Hill, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed here for the last four nights.
Location: close walk to thapae gate and night bazaar but quiet and serene location
Staff: read bad things on here about staff. Yes owner was quite cold but definitely not pushy, rude or unpleasant. The girl on front desk speaks good English and the owner should treat her better than gold, as she would be the saving grace for this hotel.

Price: very reasonable for location
Room: great in all respects- they had fly screens western toilet, door lock. Only downside is no fridge and the hot water is terrible- take an off peak shower to get warm to hottish water. Tv reception Is pretty bad

No complaints all round was great place

Well maintained and for this price you

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Just spent three nights at this property and it is in a nice location.

And, thats about it.

I cannot compliment anything else. Beyond the obvious lack of cleaning in the bathrooms and rooms even more disappointing was the obvious lack of integrity and professionalism demonstrated by the manager. She appears content at making it her business to make a buck forgetting that there is a service expected in return.

At any commercial property no one expects moldy, smelly bathrooms, bedsheets that appear several years beyond presentable use anywhere, and a general lack of concern for cleanliness that could easily be mitigated with an extra 15 minutes of care before the room is turned over to the next guest.

As for the integrity issue..
I wonder if the manager ever returns the upfront $500 BHT cash deposit required for use of the room key for guest that check forgetting to ask for it back.

And, when we checked out and requested a taxi be arranged the manager attempted to keep $250bht of the key depsoit to "pay the taxi" I requested. Knowing this seemed odd especially since we were told to wait out by the road with my $250 bht in the managers purse back at the hotel. When the taxi arrived I was able to communicate enough with him to understand he expected $250 BHT paid by me. When I returned to the manager (back at the hotel to get the taxi fare she withheld she immediately and without hesitation handed me the money not unlike someone who got caught and they know it. SCAM blinkers going off here.

The management needs to spend more time cleaning and less time scamming.

There are many more guesthouses in this location. Keep looking is my recommendation.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Techasith Y, Manager at Thaphae Garden Guesthouse, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear all readers,

Regarding to the review above, we would like to explain what the situation happened like as below.

Thaphae Garden Guest House provides cleaning service or changing fresh towels in case of no need cleaning and offering complimentary items per day. In this case, we cleaned the guest’s room as usual follow by the guest house cleaning standard and we do all the same procedures for all rooms.

By the way, we are so sorry for could not satisfied the personal cleanliness judged by personal eyes. During three nights stay with us, the guest house never ever had any complaint or consult of dirty room or items in the room from guests but we had the generous communication to them instead. This may cause unknown dissatisfaction of guests toward the room. In contrast, we are thankfully for giving us this review so we’ ll be more carefully and double check the property as well.

About the integrity issue regarding to the key deposit (THB 500) and the taxi fee, this must be misunderstood between guests themselves and our staff. The night before check out, guests requested us to provide transportation back to the airport early in the morning at 6.00 a.m. and they’re informed at THB 250 for the transportation fee (the red mini bus) and we ordered it that night to the driver that we usually called for our early check out guests. Around 6.15 a.m., guests came down to check out and our morning staff’s deducted the transportation fee from the key deposit as we usually do so she returned them money THB 250. After that, she called to the driver to recheck if he’s almost get to the guest house. As our place located inside Soi number 3 (side street) and up front Soi is alley blind, so we told the driver on the phone to wait for guests at the entrance of Soi 3 so the driver easily to go around and park the mini bus. Once the driver parked the mini bus but he hasn’t walked to our building yet, guests walked to the driver and told him to take them to the airport. As the driver could not speak English very well but he familiars to the common conversation, he told to guests the price “THB 250” as normally he told to any passengers (we asked the driver about this situation after that.) This might cause misunderstood that guests thought we are not going to give money to the driver but keep it because the driver told them the price, or they may not trust us to hand money to the driver.

As Thaphae Garden Guest House experienced in accommodation and tourist industry over than 20 years, the business could not grow up and stable until now without integrity and honesty.

Last but not least, we are frankly accepted all valuable comments and reviews for improving our property and service. We are accepted personal opinions that everyone has the right to think and analyst and we are continuing to serve our customers and do our job the best we could.

On behalf of Thaphae Garden Guest House, we are thank you to all guests for staying with us.

Yours sincerely,
Thaphae Garden Guest House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

This place is reasonably priced and located near Thaphae Gate, Sunday Walking Market & Night Bazaar. Pubs, eateries nearby hotel. Hotel is in a small alley, away from the noisy crowd.

However the bed and bathroom were old and run down. Bed was so soft, bed sheet was torn. Shower tap weak and water not hot enough occasionally.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limoges, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

This hotel is clean, reasonably priced and ideally located to explore Chiang Mai or the Night Bazaar on foot. The owners are friendly and helpful, there's a swimming pool (cold but nice when you're hot) and snacks can be ordered from the breakfast/cafe area. We've already recommended it to friends.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thaphae Garden Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thaphae Garden Guesthouse

Address: 60 Soi 3 Thapae Road , Changklan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #167 of 537 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Thaphae Garden Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thaphae Garden Guesthouse offers you a choice of well equipped fan or air conditioned rooms at a budget price. Situated only a few minutes walk from Chiang Mai's Night Bazaar and Tapae Gate. Thaphae Garden is Chiang Mai 's best located Guesthouse. This Chiang Mai guesthouse is close to all Chiang Mai's attractions but well set back in a quiet lane just off the main Tapae Rd. Thaphae Garden Guesthouse offers travelers with a fantastic range of facilities and services including a swimming pool to compliment the clean, modern rooms and great location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Thaphae Garden Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thaphae Garden Guest House Hotel Chiang Mai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thaphae Garden Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.