We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant value, can walk to everything” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New Mitrapap Hotel

Save Saved
You added New Mitrapap Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
New Mitrapap Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   94-96 Ratchawong Rd | T.Chang Moi A.Muang, Chiang Mai 53000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #159 of 331 hotels in Chiang Mai
bath
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Brilliant value, can walk to everything”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

A chinese hotel in chinatown, first impressions was the corridors looked a bit like a prison but compared to most accomodation it was great value.
Room was cleaned every day, fresh linen, towels and soap.
Basic room and the tea and toast in the morning can be a bit of a scrum but they were friendly and we booked a trip through them that was a lot cheaper than elsewhere.
Can walk everywhere, train station, all sights, reasonably close to the night market which is huge.
As its in chinatown there isnt a huge amount of nearby bars and resturnats but 10mins to tapee gate where millions of places to eat.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    104
    78
    18
    12
See reviews for
6
28
26
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

My partner and I stayed twice at this hotel due to comfort and price.
The bedroom had two singles beds instead of a double but the bedding was lovely and clean and the bed was very comfy.
The rooms could do with a lick of paint but we have stayed in much worse!!!
In our room we had twin beds, a table and chair, tv and a fridge - the hotel provides you each with a bottle of mineral water and soap daily which is a nice touch!
The hotel has a prison like look but is very comfortable and has a lift which is great for guests.
Across the street is a great restaurant and around the corner there is a Tesco Lotus which is very handy for nightly treats!
Chinatown is only five minutes walk away and worth a look!
Overall this is a very comfortable hotel and very cheap - I highly recommend for fellow travellers!!!

Room Tip: Stay in rooms upstairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Rai, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

This was the second time I stayed at the New Mitrapap Hotel, and on both occasions I have been pleasantly surprised. The room was clean and the bathroom was in decent shape. There is no getting around the fact that this is an older hotel, but considering the price (220 to 250 baht/night for a fan room), it is a good value. The hotel is located close to Warorot Market and there is an inexpensive Thai restaurant just across the street. What I like best about this place is that for an unbeatable price you get a very decent room in a decent location.

Room Tip: Avoid the carpeted rooms on the 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

This place wins no prizes for charm,style or ambience but for 230bt a night, 2 mins from Chinatown, 5 mins from the night markets, who cares. If you don't plan spending alot of time in your room it's fine. The rooms are small, but clean & serviced daily.The beds are comfortable & there's free toast & coffee which if you are on a backpacker budget is great.
The corridors look like the open wing of a prison which we thought was funny & my only real criticism is the lack of ventilation so the bathroom smelled a bit.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2011

This hotel very basic, with no frills. But being students looking for cheap accommodation we have few expectations. Overall we were very happy with our experience in this hotel. It was clean and staff were friendly. Location was close to the old city, about a 15min walk. I would stay away from the toast simply because the butter had flies in it and seemed like it had been left out for a long time. It was very good value for money although there was no safe to put valuables. Definitely most suitable for those on a budget, who do not care about aesthetics.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

When booking the hotel on asia web direct I was asked what bedding I preferred at the hotel so I clicked double bed as I'm with my wife, but when i got to the hotel I was told for the price I paid there was no chance of getting a double bed only 2 singles and if I wanted a double bed i would have to pay more but there wouldn't be one available for 2 more days. After bringing the man in reception my computer and showing him the email and the web site stating that there was only one price on the web site and it gave you an option for bedding I was told it was only a request and the hotel had the choice whether or not to give you what you paid for. After having to check in as it was quite late at night I was taken up to the room that other than the clean sheets on the bed still looked like it hadn't been cleaned from the previous guest, not to mention the ant infestation, luke warm water, the shower head that only came up to my arm pit. On the up side you did get clean sheets (even though they were stained) and towels everyday but that was the only thing the house keeping did; the floors were that black by the time we left we had to wear thongs round the room.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2011

We stayed there for 2 nights in December 2010.
The room was not very clean and the shower was useless.
It's farly cheap but I won't stay there again and will not recommend anyone.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to New Mitrapap Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Mitrapap Hotel

Address: 94-96 Ratchawong Rd | T.Chang Moi A.Muang, Chiang Mai 53000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #159 of 331 hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — New Mitrapap Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Some of the features you'll enjoy are Air Conditioning, Television , Bathtub, Shower, Satellite/Cable TV. Comfort and convenience are the hallmarks of New Mitrapap Hotel. Book your room now at New Mitrapap Hotel via our secure online booking form. The first step is to enter and submit your travel dates in the spaces provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your New Mitrapap Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Mitrapap Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.