We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a Guinness and a pub meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pub

The Pub
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Pub to your Saves list
The Pub
189 Huay Kaew Road, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #201 of 371 Specialty Lodging in Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great place for a Guinness and a pub meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Been going to the pub for years for a pint or three of the black stuff, always lovely, always been around 180 baht a pint. Fish n chips always a favorite for me, but the Irish stew is up there too.
my parents stayed in one of the bungalows for over a month and loved every minute of it, well priced too.
The full English breakfast is always great too, sets you up for the rest of the day.
I've seen reviews that Grahame the manager and staff are grumpy. This must be in the eye of the beholder, if you look beyond your own views you will see they are warm and friendly, always have been.
Plenty of area for kids to play around in outside too, and the chips for the kids always a fave.
Keep up the good work Grahame and co.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    4
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
2
11
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We made an effort to get to this place with an expensive tuk-tuk ride to the outer suburbs. As soon as we entered the door we were accosted by a female staff member and a food menu was thrust into our hands. What we really wanted was a drink - maybe an English real ale. But we weren't given much of a choice. Anyway my companion had an orange juice and I elected to have an apple pie and custard.

Well the orange drink was not juice but over sweetened cordial and water. And my apple pie was actually a lattice tart the party of which was rubbery and luke warm. The custard was hot though.

We consumed these in the back room. A number of obvious expats were there playing chess, but they completely ignored us.

Afterwards we went into the bar area - which again was populated but a few expats - but they too ignored us. And whilst we waited too pay our overly-expensive bill (by Thai standards) the staff ignored us too.

NOT THE WELCOME WE EXPECTED FROM A PLACE ADVERTISING ITSELF AS A ENGLISH-STYLE PUB.

Room Tip: Don't bother ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Yikes. Our driver said he loved going to The Pub on a Friday night and that it was very popular. So, when we were starving one afternoon from being on the go we saw it and decided to stop in for a quick snack. We should have promptly turned around but didn't. Instead, we sat at the bar and had the WORST appetizers in my life: garlic bread with canned mushrooms and swiss cheese which had been made in the kitchen by the little toaster oven which I could see b/c the doors to the kitchen were wide open. The sink to wash all the dishes were right behind me and there were stacks. I highly question the cleanliness of this place. There were a few odd characters in the bar and a tired dog. We left as quickly as possible and were upset for wasting precious moments in such a dump. Ugh. Don't waste your time, please!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We really liked the rooms at The Pub, we had our own balcony and a good sized room with a good bathroom. Grahame, the owner, seemed fairly grumpy most of the time but always served us with what we'd asked for. Recommend if you're looking for a good room just outside of town, right across the street from the Rincome street food night market. Also Grahame did seem friendly with his customers who wanted to drink with him.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryborough Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2010

We stayed at The Pub in November 2010. The Pub was very clean and comfortable, the Staff were great. The price was great. We had a excellent stay and will be back again next year. When Pub was full Graham put us up in his house.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luang Namtha, Laos
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

We stayed at The Pub for one month in August/Sept 2010. We had a lovely bungalow which was like a brand new modern apartment, without a kitchen. Grahame, Tong, Barbara, Top and Aim were great hosts and each morning we were so lucky to be served breakfast which wasn't even on the menu. We like to eat fruit for breakfast when we can, and although this wasn't a standard menu item Grahame said it would be no problem, and for the entire month we got a delicious selection of fruit which was different every day. This really impressed us because it really was going the extra mile to make sure we were happy.

The location itself was great for us. It is outside the walls, in a very quiet area, right across the road from the local night market (no tourist prices!) and right next to a large park. Behind the bungalows is a quiet subdivision with cobbled streets and virtually no traffic which meant it was perfect for a morning run or a quiet walk.

Everything you could possibly need is in walking distance, ATMs, cafes, the park, night market, loads of restaurants and roadside food stalls, a mall, and the lovely mountains. It is on the road to the university and Doi Suthep.

Everywhere in town is a 20B per person songthaew ride away so if you do want to go into town or to the tourist night bazaar it's very easy to do. Songthaews pass by all the time right outside the Pub.

The bungalows themselves are on the quietest part of the property so even though the roadside location has traffic going past regularly, the bungalows are tucked away and we slept soundly every night.

All in all we would highly recommend The Pub. It was totally perfect for our month stay in Chiang Mai and the in-room free wifi internet was excellent. Can't really fault the place at all - we will definitely stay next time we are in Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2010

if you go to chang mai ,on your trip,make sure you search out THE PUB ,you will be glad you did, for around half of what the hotels charge,you can get your little guest friendly
bungalow(chalet) ,i paid 800 tb and that includes bacon and eggs for breakfast.
the big fellow running the place is a gem,as is all his staff ,they go out of thier way to make your stay a pleasant one, i went fishing for giant catfish,caught a few, and at night
i went fishing for other species,had a great time, and i told them i will be back
and beleve me iwill be, in fact i,d go tommorow if i could get away,but that,s life, we live
in hope don,t we.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pub

Address: 189 Huay Kaew Road, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #201 of 371 Specialty Lodging in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect setting for a drink, lunch or dinner or a relaxing weekend break. The Pub's olde worlde charm has been delighting visitors and local expats for almost 40 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your The Pub reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.