We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien Chiang Mai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Le Meridien Chiang Mai to your Saves list
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   108 Chang Klan Road,Chang Klan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Hot Escapes
Ranked #22 of 330 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Clinton, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2011

If you want to be in the hub of a lot of activity, this would be a good place to stay; amid markets, good restaurants and local buzz.
When we checked in the lobby area was very noisy, full of tourists that had just arrived by coach – same went for the breakfast area in the morning.
We tried the spa and both my wife and I must have been allergic to the spa product used – I ended up seeing a skin doctor in Bangkok who gave me some cream that soon cleared up the rash I had.
The concierge was excellent – helped us find our way to the points of interest that we visited.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinoLindner, Hotel Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Mai, responded to this review, January 15, 2011
Dear NormD,

Thank you for your review. I’m glad that our Concierge was very helpful to you and please note that I have already shared your comment with our team.

As I would like to know more details about your experience as well as the Spa treatment, I have already sent you a message via the message function on Tripadvisor.

With best regards

Tino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    853
    495
    142
    32
    9
See reviews for
269
668
120
135
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

We stayed here for 3 days and 2 nights and were gutted to be leaving. Chiang Mai is an amazing place and the Le Meridian made our stay that much better. From the moment of arrival at this amazing hotel we were greeted by welcoming staff. The service here is second to none, we had lots of questions of things to do, and places to eat and each were answered without hesitation.
We walked into the room and had a lovely view from the 9th floor of the mountains in Chiang Mai, the room itself was spacious and very clean. The monsoon shower was excellent as was the large bath tub. The beds were some of the most comfortable I have ever slept in.
The concierge at the hotel was excellent, they organised taxi's, made restaurant bookings and looked after our every need.
Breakfast was one of the best I have experienced, a wide variety of food and drinks to choose from.
Didn't get enough time to make use of the pool, however it did look amazing.
I will definitely be visiting the Le Meridian in Chiang Mai again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinoLindner, Hotel Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Mai, responded to this review, January 15, 2011
Dear NanzM,

Thank you for these generous and gracious comments – and for taking the time to post this review on-line. I’m so happy to know that you enjoyed our service. I shared your comments with our team (which I always do) and they beamed when they heard your warm words.

Thank you also for your comments about the room, view, bathroom facilities, beds and the Concierge…..which I have certainly passed on.

We hope to be at your service in the not too distant future.

With kind regards

Tino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

We stayed three nights here, over New Year's Eve, and thoroughly enjoyed this lovely hotel. The location in in the middle of Chiang Mai, and perfect for the night market, and close to everything. The room was on the small side, but very comfortable, well designed and decorated, and even had a closet room with safe, shelving, and iron/ironing board. The pool deck is gorgeous and you can swim while looking west toward Chiang Mai. Breakfast buffet was excellent, with good western and eastern options - be warned: go early, as the tour groups swarm in there and it gets a bit too crazy. Laundry Note: we had our laundry done at a small shop outside the hotel - step outside the hotel, turn right, and see the Internet/Laundry sign. The woman running it actually saw us with bags, pointed up at the laundry sign and smiled. Laundry was 20 Baht/kilo...what deal.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinoLindner, Hotel Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Mai, responded to this review, January 15, 2011
Dear Blondesteven,

Thank you for your kind comments and for taking the time to post this review. I am happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I am delighted to know that you enjoyed the room facilities, pool and location. The view from the pool is indeed spectacular featuring Doi Suthep mountain; the sunsets at the Pool can be a great experience. Thank you for your comment regarding the breakfast arrangement and I will discuss with our Food & Beverage team.

Thank you again for taking the time to post your feedback, which is always valued and appreciated.

We hope to welcome you back to Le Meridien Chiang Mai in the future.

With kind regards

Tino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2011

We stayed at the hotel for 4 nights in late November. The rooms were excellent. The bed was comfy & bathroom was fantastic. We could watch TV from the bath as there was a speaker for the TV in the bathroom. The view over the mountains was excellent. Breakfast had a lot of variety & was always busy. The free wi-fi was very handy as well as the business centre, although the computers were quite slow. The location was fantastic, as others have said before. There a great food court in the Kalare night market. We also ate a good meal ata near-by restaurant called Ping Ping.
The only disappointment was the temperature of the pool was too cold for my liking. I am not keen on swimming in pools that have no heat. It was great to relax poolside, however both me & my husband didn't swim due to the temperature.
I would stay at the Le Meridien again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinoLindner, Hotel Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Mai, responded to this review, January 15, 2011
Dear Ozzaboz,

Thank you very much for your detailed review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the location, view, bed, bathroom and breakfast.

Thank you for your remarks regarding the pool temperature. We are currently in the winter season and the pool temperature is between 22 C – 24 C during the day. General guidelines suggest a pool temperature between 24 C – 26 to be comfortable, so it is indeed a refreshing experience at the moment. Most times of the year our pool reaches the suggested temperature levels since the air temperature is usually higher, however I’ll discuss with our Chief Engineer in our next product development meeting.

I’m glad to hear that your travel schedule might bring you back to Chiang Mai again. My team, and I, would be delighted to welcome you back to Le Meridien.

Warm regards

Tino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

We stayed here for New Years Eve and into January in a suite on club floor.
The hotel looks and feels refurbished. Arrangements through Starwoods were smooth as usual , concierge contacted us before hand to arrange transfers /New Year Eve dinner. Suite was excellent , only minor point - to close blinds next to the very large bath you have to climb across the bath itself - not easy when getting older! Bed was superb. Club lounge good .
New Year Eve meal was o.k. . buffet in the Italian restaurant, but it was compulsory as with most hotels at that time of year .
We ate at the Italian restaurant on another occasion and the food was good but not spectacular.
Spa - very professional , used it twice , some treatments seem reasonable for hotel prices, some very expensive , but the experience was good and nice treatment rooms.
Concierge arranged golf trips ,including transport , with reductions at one of the courses very efficient.
Breakfast in club lounge is very limited, downstairs in main restaurant it is extensive but can be busy if you hit it at same time as a tour group ..
The hotel is ideal for the market and walking around the town .

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinoLindner, Hotel Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Mai, responded to this review, January 8, 2011
Dear BellaMBJ

Thank you for your time in posting your review about Le Meridien Chiang Mai on Trip Advisor.

I’m delighted to hear that you had enjoyed your stay and were pleased with the Suite and facilities. Thank you for your suggestions regarding the blinds, breakfast selection at Club Lounge and food at Favola Restaurant.

It’s been a pleasure having you as our guest and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Tino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2011

The hotel is located right next to the night bazaar with many shops and bars in close proximity. It seems relatively new and all areas were clean and well kept.

Most staff were pleasant and helpful, the only exception being the concierge. We asked for help with arranging a driver for a day to take us sightseeing but the concierge merely dialled the number and handed us the handset - not what we expected.

Breakfast was a haphazard affair with huge crowds seeming to arrive at once. Although there was a good selection, a lot of the food that should have been hot was cold or lukewarm.

As mentioned by a previous reviewer, the hotel is popular with large tour groups and public areas can feel crowded and noisy.

The best feature of this hotel is most definitely its location.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinoLindner, Hotal Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Mai, responded to this review, January 8, 2011
Dear Soho77,

Thank you for posting your review about Le Meridien Chiang Mai on Tripadvisor.
Your comments regarding the breakfast are well noted and have already been passed on to our culinary team. I have also discussed your comments with our Concierge team for improvement and may I offer my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused.

On a positive note, I am glad to hear that you had enjoyed the rest of your stay with us and were pleased with the service of our associates.

Once again my sincere apologies and I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back at our property. My team would very much like the opportunity to restore your faith in our services.

Kind regards

Tino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

great position, fantastic breakfasts, just as one would expect of a 5 star hotel.
remember the price quoted doesnt include taxes but u get used to that.
Would stay there again for sure

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinoLindner, Hotel Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Mai, responded to this review, January 8, 2011
Dear sydneydavid56,

Thank you for your time in posting your review about Le Meridien Chiang Mai on Trip Advisor.

It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and services during your stay. It’s great that you would like to return and to give us the opportunity to look after you again. Please do not hesitate to contact us for your future booking.

Kind regards

Tino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Meridien Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Chiang Mai

Address: 108 Chang Klan Road,Chang Klan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#11 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#13 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#16 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#22 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Chiang Mai 5*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ideal destination for savvy travellers who enjoy the mixture of Le Meridien's European heritage and local Lanna style to deliver a contemporary cultural experience. The hotel's 383 guestrooms, overlooking Doi Suthep Mountain range, are equipped with broadband internet and offer a modern entertainment experience centered on a high-definition LCD television. A perfect location adjacent to the famous night bazaar will ensure guests encounter the vibrancy + energy of Chiang Mai, just at their doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood APAC, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Le Meridien Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Meridien Chiang Mai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien Chiang Mai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.