We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien Chiang Mai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Le Meridien Chiang Mai to your Saves list
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   108 Chang Klan Road,Chang Klan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Hot Escapes
Ranked #22 of 330 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2011

We stayed at the hotel for 4 nights in late November. The rooms were excellent. The bed was comfy & bathroom was fantastic. We could watch TV from the bath as there was a speaker for the TV in the bathroom. The view over the mountains was excellent. Breakfast had a lot of variety & was always busy. The free wi-fi was very handy as well as the business centre, although the computers were quite slow. The location was fantastic, as others have said before. There a great food court in the Kalare night market. We also ate a good meal ata near-by restaurant called Ping Ping.
The only disappointment was the temperature of the pool was too cold for my liking. I am not keen on swimming in pools that have no heat. It was great to relax poolside, however both me & my husband didn't swim due to the temperature.
I would stay at the Le Meridien again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinoLindner, Hotel Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Mai, responded to this review, January 15, 2011
Dear Ozzaboz,

Thank you very much for your detailed review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the location, view, bed, bathroom and breakfast.

Thank you for your remarks regarding the pool temperature. We are currently in the winter season and the pool temperature is between 22 C – 24 C during the day. General guidelines suggest a pool temperature between 24 C – 26 to be comfortable, so it is indeed a refreshing experience at the moment. Most times of the year our pool reaches the suggested temperature levels since the air temperature is usually higher, however I’ll discuss with our Chief Engineer in our next product development meeting.

I’m glad to hear that your travel schedule might bring you back to Chiang Mai again. My team, and I, would be delighted to welcome you back to Le Meridien.

Warm regards

Tino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    853
    495
    142
    32
    9
See reviews for
269
668
120
135
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

We stayed here for New Years Eve and into January in a suite on club floor.
The hotel looks and feels refurbished. Arrangements through Starwoods were smooth as usual , concierge contacted us before hand to arrange transfers /New Year Eve dinner. Suite was excellent , only minor point - to close blinds next to the very large bath you have to climb across the bath itself - not easy when getting older! Bed was superb. Club lounge good .
New Year Eve meal was o.k. . buffet in the Italian restaurant, but it was compulsory as with most hotels at that time of year .
We ate at the Italian restaurant on another occasion and the food was good but not spectacular.
Spa - very professional , used it twice , some treatments seem reasonable for hotel prices, some very expensive , but the experience was good and nice treatment rooms.
Concierge arranged golf trips ,including transport , with reductions at one of the courses very efficient.
Breakfast in club lounge is very limited, downstairs in main restaurant it is extensive but can be busy if you hit it at same time as a tour group ..
The hotel is ideal for the market and walking around the town .

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinoLindner, Hotel Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Mai, responded to this review, January 8, 2011
Dear BellaMBJ

Thank you for your time in posting your review about Le Meridien Chiang Mai on Trip Advisor.

I’m delighted to hear that you had enjoyed your stay and were pleased with the Suite and facilities. Thank you for your suggestions regarding the blinds, breakfast selection at Club Lounge and food at Favola Restaurant.

It’s been a pleasure having you as our guest and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Tino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2011

The hotel is located right next to the night bazaar with many shops and bars in close proximity. It seems relatively new and all areas were clean and well kept.

Most staff were pleasant and helpful, the only exception being the concierge. We asked for help with arranging a driver for a day to take us sightseeing but the concierge merely dialled the number and handed us the handset - not what we expected.

Breakfast was a haphazard affair with huge crowds seeming to arrive at once. Although there was a good selection, a lot of the food that should have been hot was cold or lukewarm.

As mentioned by a previous reviewer, the hotel is popular with large tour groups and public areas can feel crowded and noisy.

The best feature of this hotel is most definitely its location.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinoLindner, Hotal Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Mai, responded to this review, January 8, 2011
Dear Soho77,

Thank you for posting your review about Le Meridien Chiang Mai on Tripadvisor.
Your comments regarding the breakfast are well noted and have already been passed on to our culinary team. I have also discussed your comments with our Concierge team for improvement and may I offer my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused.

On a positive note, I am glad to hear that you had enjoyed the rest of your stay with us and were pleased with the service of our associates.

Once again my sincere apologies and I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back at our property. My team would very much like the opportunity to restore your faith in our services.

Kind regards

Tino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

great position, fantastic breakfasts, just as one would expect of a 5 star hotel.
remember the price quoted doesnt include taxes but u get used to that.
Would stay there again for sure

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinoLindner, Hotel Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Mai, responded to this review, January 8, 2011
Dear sydneydavid56,

Thank you for your time in posting your review about Le Meridien Chiang Mai on Trip Advisor.

It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and services during your stay. It’s great that you would like to return and to give us the opportunity to look after you again. Please do not hesitate to contact us for your future booking.

Kind regards

Tino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010

I chose to stay at Le Meridien in Chiang Mai for four nights in December 2010 because I was able to redeem Starwood points that covered the full cost of my stay. The hotel turned out to be a good choice. Although it is located outside of the old town (as MANY hotels in the area are), it was very conveniently located - directly next to the Night Market which is a major attraction, about 10 minutes walking from the old town and two minutes from Tai Pae Road which is a great shopping street where you'll also find trek operators.

Once you step inside Le Meridien, you'll feel right at home with Starwood - the decor is pretty much the same as all other Le Meridien properties I've stayed at. It is clean, modern and nicely decorated. The concierge is extremely helpful in booking activities around the area. The pool is a great retreat, with comfy lounge chairs and a great view... I almost missed taking a few hours at the pool and was so happy when I decided to check it out! I only ate breakfast at the hotel, and the buffet was very nice.

The only drawback I can think of at this property is that they book large tour groups (50+ people) so there were mornings I came down to the lobby and it was literally a zoo of people; on one occasion, they did not have enough room in the restaurant for me to eat breakfast so I had to sit at the bar at the Italian fine dining restaurant which was a little weird.

But overall, it's a great value option in Chiang Mai - you'll be comfortable and well taken care of!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinoLindner, Hotel Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Mai, responded to this review, January 3, 2011
Dear YellowRoadWanderer,

Thank you for your stay with us and for taking the time to post a review. I’m delighted to hear that your stay at Le Meridien Chiang Mai was comfortable. It’s great to read that you enjoyed the décor, location, views and Pool. Special thanks about your comment regarding the Concierge which I have certainly passed on.

Our guest mix is indeed very diverse, from holiday travelers to business travelers, Conference- and leisure group guests. Even our hotel has 384 Rooms and Suites but the architects kept the lobby a little smaller to give guests the feeling of intimacy and allow our guests to mingle and meet. Hence it fills quickly even when a small group is waiting for departure.

My apologies for not having provided a convenient seat for your breakfast on that occasion and I will discuss with our Food and Beverage team about alternative arrangements.

We hope to see you soon again at Le Meridien Chiang Mai and wish you a Happy New Year.

Kind regards

Tino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010

Good view - we got a connecting room with mountain view

value for money - definite 5* that comes with an hour of free wi-fi for stay in guest

Accomodate into fine details with very comfortable/clean bed, slippers, shampoo/bath soap etc/etc....

Location - superb, just stone throw away from night market with plenty of fast food, restaurrant nearby

Except MINUS point for noisy air-conditioner...

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinoLindner, Hotel Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Mai, responded to this review, January 3, 2011
Dear SGX,

Thanks you for choosing to stay with us recently and I do appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with other reviewers on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to note that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the room, location and value for money.

The entire team at Le Meridien Chiang Mai looks forward to welcoming you for another stay.

Happy New Year

Kind regards

Tino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010

Staff was very accomodating - very quick to respond to all requests
Pillows were heavenly - felt like we just kept sinking, sinking, sinking in.......
Large bathtub with separate shower located by "window" to see into bedroom - there was also a speaker in the bathroom and you could get a nice bubble bath and watch TV at the same time! (bring your own bubble bath though)
Location was excellent - right at the beginning of the night market and walkable to many restaurants and shops - never needed a cab.
Excellent breakfast - more than anyone could eat in one sitting - especially enjoyed the morning juice shooter when checking in for breakfast. Would definately stay again!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinoLindner, Hotel Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Mai, responded to this review, January 3, 2011
Dear 5Kimba5,

I really enjoyed reading your review, especially that our associates provided you with good service.

We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay, the pillows, location, the breakfast and the bathtub. Soon we will launch our new “bath menu” with 4 exciting choices of different bath oils with matching food and beverage offers. We are currently finalizing the design of the menu and it will soon be available in our rooms.

I’m happy to read that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Le Meridien Chiang Mai again in the future.

Happy New Year!

With kind regards

Tino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Meridien Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Chiang Mai

Address: 108 Chang Klan Road,Chang Klan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#11 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#13 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#16 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#22 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Chiang Mai 5*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ideal destination for savvy travellers who enjoy the mixture of Le Meridien's European heritage and local Lanna style to deliver a contemporary cultural experience. The hotel's 383 guestrooms, overlooking Doi Suthep Mountain range, are equipped with broadband internet and offer a modern entertainment experience centered on a high-definition LCD television. A perfect location adjacent to the famous night bazaar will ensure guests encounter the vibrancy + energy of Chiang Mai, just at their doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood APAC, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Le Meridien Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Meridien Chiang Mai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien Chiang Mai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.