We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Service (Assistant Mgr June)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien Chiang Mai

Save Saved
You added Le Meridien Chiang Mai to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   108 Chang Klan Road,Chang Klan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 331 hotels in Chiang Mai
Chonburi, Thailand
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Amazing Service (Assistant Mgr June)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

This is my second stay at the hotel. I was incredibly impressed at the level of service offered by the property and especially the Assistant Manager Wathanya Tunla (June). I stay at many hotels in Thailand and spend about 60% of the year in-and-out of hotels in Bangkok, so I have an accurate expectation of what to expect.

June recognized us by our prior stay at the hotel, and went above and beyond to ensure we had an enjoyable stay. There was a slight problem, in that there was not a baby cot available. However the next day she personally found us sitting in the lobby and informed us she was able to allocate one. All this while preparing for the upcoming stay of the Lao Prime Minister. I'm sure she had other things to handle, but she still found time to assist us and make us feel welcome.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienCM1950, Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Mai, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear mattfs218,

Thank you for sharing the experience of your stay with us. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed a fulfilling stay and that our associate could assist you with the baby cot issue. We will ensure your comments are passed to all in our hotel with special mention to our Assistant Manager. We look forward to welcome you again soon.

Warm regards,
Gregory Anderson, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,325 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    750
    420
    119
    28
    8
See reviews for
231
579
102
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
The World
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Being a good Starwoods member, we have to check out the Meridien in Chiang Mai. The room are of a good size, not super spacious but decent in all respects. This Meridien is not a resort so you should not expect the same kind super-size room that you would get in the Meridien Chiang Rai for example. However, due to its young age, the decor is more chic and brighter, while still keeping the Meridien clean lines. The bed are as wonderful as always and the amenities are good but not to the caliber of the higher-end Meridien. The pool is nice but a bit small and can get a bit crowed on some days.

The location is excellent, just virtually right outside the night market. On the side of the hotel, you can find a motorbike location where you can rent one for a day and take a side trip to the Doi Suthep to take a cool down from the city heat.

The Favola restaurant is decent if you crave for Italian dinner. The breakfast is also have decent choices. The staff both at the reception and the restaurants are friendly and helpful.

We have enjoyed our stay at the Meridien Chiang Mai and will surely come back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienCM1950, Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Mai, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear terravisum,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking your time to write such a wonderful review.

It is our pleasure to have accommodated you and we are glad to know that your stay and exploration of the city was enjoyable.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards,
Gregory Anderson – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed at Le Meridien Chiang Mai for couple of nights, the hotel is well located, the rooms are quite large and convenient for family, bathroom is spacious, there is even a walk-in closet to hire the luggage. The staff are quite friendly, specially at the Club Lounge. There is a small but good selection of canapes for the evening cocktail with a rotation every night which was great. If you are travelling to Chiang Mai, then Le Meridien is certainly the place to stay in town.

Room Tip: Definitively recommending to get the upgrade for the Club Floor with the access to the Club Lounge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienCM1950, Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Mai, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear SamAtlantis_Bkk,

We are delighted to know that your stay was pleasant and that you enjoyed your experiences at Le Meridien Club.

Thank you for taking your time to share your experience and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Warm regards
Gregory Anderson – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london,England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Nice reception area but could have had more sofa and sitting area.
Speedy check in, friendly receptionist who is willing to help, though no welcome drink as it is a bit disappointed for the calibre of this hotel.
Room is very nice and decorated in neutral tone, very good view of mountain, good shower and all amenities, super comfy bed.
Nice buffet for breakfast and dinner,however the restaurant is a little bit dull in decor.
Pool has a good view of mountain with fully equipped gym nearby.

Room Tip: Recommended higher floor from 16th onward,got better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienCM1950, Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Mai, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Danw4,

Thank you for sharing your experience and we are glad to hear that you had a comfortable stay. Please allow me to share that as a city hotel, we provide in room the voucher for a delicious Illy coffee, redeemable at Latitude 18 bar during guest’s stay, instead of a welcome drink. We appreciate feedback such as yours and we look forward to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards,
Gregory Anderson – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a few days after Le Meridien in Chiang Rai. Very different hotels, LMCR is a holiday resort, LMCM more of a business hotel, however this place is still one of the best places to stay, rooms are big enough, clean and comfortable, Le Meridiens beds and pillows for me are the best available. We didn't eat here as we mainly came to CM to meet up with some Thai friends we met in London, however if the food is of the same standard as its counterpart in CR, especially La Favola then you're in for a treat. One thing you must do is watch the sunset behind Doi Suthep mountain from the pool bar sipping cocktails, they can be spectacular. Didn't interact with many staff as we ate out every night but those we did speak to we're very pleasant indeed. When back in CM will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SutreeyaA, Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Mai, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear LesPaulbkk

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and our signature Le Meridien bed in particular. Thank you for taking your time to share your wonderful experience and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards,
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

One of the most difficult parts of business travel is finding a great hotel in tourist areas. Well, this is it. Excellent rooms, good bed, fast Internet, excellent service, reasonable price... Everything is done very well. They could have remodeled them with a bit better detail, but that is minor. I would stay there again. Looking at the other hotels in the area (was at a conference), this is clearly the best. Do not pay for the breakfast; could be better. The staff are very very nice.

Room Tip: get a mountain (western) view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SutreeyaA, Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Mai, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Exline

Thank you for taking your time to share your experience with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed many aspects of your recent stay and hope to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I visited so many hotels in Chiangmai, and this hotel seems to be on top of them all. The hotel is absolutely typical Le Meridien. It comes with the modern design, in Black & White. The room is big, around 45 sq.mt. The bathroom is very clean, and the amenities are well-equipped.

The location is awesome. It just right in the center of the walking street. There is a Starbucks in a minute of walking distance, which might be a great option for breakfast.

I did try their breakfast and dinner as well. The food was fine, as it could be expected this pretty much everywhere across the Starwood Hotels. One thing is that there were mosquito in the main F&B Outlet; otherwise, I would have none to complain.

This would choose Le Meridien again for my next trip in ChiangMai.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SutreeyaA, Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Mai, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Travlerwhotraveling

We are very glad to know that your stay was pleasant and that you enjoyed your experiences.

Please allow us to share that we have increased our engagement of the mosquito issue by deploying electronic Sonics and other devices to resolve the problem which again has been of a scale that no business has been able to overcome.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Warm regards,
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Meridien Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Chiang Mai

Address: 108 Chang Klan Road,Chang Klan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#10 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#13 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#16 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#21 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Chiang Mai 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ideal destination for savvy travellers who enjoy the mixture of Le Meridien's European heritage and local Lanna style to deliver a contemporary cultural experience. The hotel's 383 guestrooms, overlooking Doi Suthep Mountain range, are equipped with broadband internet and offer a modern entertainment experience centered on a high-definition LCD television. A perfect location adjacent to the famous night bazaar will ensure guests encounter the vibrancy + energy of Chiang Mai, just at their doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Le Meridien Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Meridien Chiang Mai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien Chiang Mai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.