We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going downhill” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien Chiang Mai

Save Saved
You added Le Meridien Chiang Mai to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   108 Chang Klan Road,Chang Klan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 331 hotels in Chiang Mai
Bangkok
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Going downhill”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel regularly on business for a number of years. The general standard has declined quite significantly in the past two years.
This is now just another hotel. Once it was a home away from home for me. I used to be greeted and treated very well. The staff knew me or they got to know me. Nothing was too much trouble. It was a genuine five star.
Now it is an ordinary hotel where my benefits are "explained to me" upon check in, as if I was a school boy who needs to remember the rules. You can have this but not this; you may do this but it will cost you; if you have any further requirements they can be dealt with at another time and the chances of us agreeing to anything are slim unless you pay.
I think it is about time I changed to another hotel where I can get better service. I did visit two competitive hotels on this last trip and they will definitely offer me far better service and value.
I think you have had your day Le Meridien Chiang Mai.

Room Tip: I had a club floor room but it was not on the club floor. When I went to use the lift to the club fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,326 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    751
    420
    119
    28
    8
See reviews for
231
579
103
117
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This is a great hotel which ticks all boxes. It is ina pecfect spot close to night markets. The breakfast was amazing and the prices for the night buffet and general menu was reasonable. The bar area is a little small but still a nice way to end the day. Rooms are comfortable and well appointed. We have stayed here a couple of times and wouldnt change. We had some major problems with Tour Operator and the Conciege took a great amount of time and effort to help us out.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We arrived at this hotel on a tour with Asian Golf, touted as a five star establishment. Not so. Very average, smallish rooms lacking amenities like drawers to unpack your things into, space on the bathroom vanity, free wifi. Our room lacked a hair dryer and had several burnt out bulbs, which were produced when asked for but still, no hair dryer in a 5 star? The fan on the air conditioner was loud and interfered with sleep. We had come from the Shangri-La in Bangkok and were sorely disappointed in this establishment. However, is in a great location and breakfast was included with our room.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Le Meridien Chiang Mai is a big and beautiful hotel, very nicely decorated and the facilities are outstanding (the gym is more than adequate and the pool is really an oasis, with a nice view on the mountains and a beautiful pool design).
I had breakfast and evening snacks in the lounge, which is just perfect - I highly recommend it if you can upgrade. Having breakfast in the lounge is much better than in the main restaurant (much more intimate, and great views), and the evening snacks and drinks are a perfect way to relax - both the food and the drinks are abundant.
I stayed in an executive suite - the layout is great, and there's a lovely corner bathtub with impressive views on Chiang Mai.
The staff was fantastic, very helpful and at hand. After checking in I had a small problem with my key (first it didn't work, then the door would not lock) and within minutes they solved any problem.
I didn't try the spa, but I trust it must be great. However, if you want to have a very good massage or spa treatment, Zabai is an exceptionally nice spa just a few minutes away and it will cost you a tenth of what you would pay at the hotel.
Just outside of the hotel there are also several places where you can have your laundry done - handy if you have a lot of clothes to wash.
Finally, the cocktails at the bar are worth exploring - they're really good!
A few minor points for the management to consider:
- The air conditioning is quite noisy. At night I would switch the one in the bedroom off and keep the one in the main room, and still the noise was quite high. I don't know if the noise level is the same in every room, but I found it extremely high for an a/c system
- The hotel does not offer the "make a green choice" option (forgoing housekeeping in exchange for a money or points voucher). They should, just like the Le Meridien in Chiang Rai
- The sink water pressure is so high that it splashes and splatters everywhere if you put your hands in the sink. Maybe the hotel should consider installing those little rings that mix water and air to soften the stream of water (and save water too).

There are several small "boutique" hotels in Chiang Mai, so if that is what you are looking for, the Le Meridien might look like a big corporate hotel; but in fact it is a wonderful, stylish hotel where you feel at home both on business or on holiday.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a room with lounge access - it's totally worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This hotel is right in the heart of the night market and very close to everything in the city that you may want to see. The staff at the hotel was great and offered great customer service. They made us feel welcome and always had a smile to offer. Our room was a bit smaller than we expected but was clean and the beds small but comfortable. We had a room with double beds that were really more like a single bed made for one person. Free Wi fi in lobby but would love to have the option to pay for it and use it in our room. Smaller pool area but lovely.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We had a great time at this hotel. We got upgraded to a suite, which was amazing. It was spacious, modern, and had extra touches like an expresso maker. The hotel is right across the street from the night market, which made for very convenient shopping. It was also about a 5 min tuktuk to the riverfront area, which was full of restaurants and bars. This is a large hotel, so may feel a little impersonal, but we loved our room and the location.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We spent three nights at the Meridien Hotel in Chiang Mai, overall the experience was good.
Pros
Excellent room
Central location
Good breakfast
Excellent Italian Restaurant: Favola
Cons
Small lobby and very few chairs
No free wifi intrnet in the room and very complicate to use it in the lobby


  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Meridien Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Chiang Mai

Address: 108 Chang Klan Road,Chang Klan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#10 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#13 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#16 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#21 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Chiang Mai 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ideal destination for savvy travellers who enjoy the mixture of Le Meridien's European heritage and local Lanna style to deliver a contemporary cultural experience. The hotel's 383 guestrooms, overlooking Doi Suthep Mountain range, are equipped with broadband internet and offer a modern entertainment experience centered on a high-definition LCD television. A perfect location adjacent to the famous night bazaar will ensure guests encounter the vibrancy + energy of Chiang Mai, just at their doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Le Meridien Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Meridien Chiang Mai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien Chiang Mai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.