We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When you crave pancakes or a grilled cheese sandwich...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smoothie Blues

Smoothie Blues
32/8 Nimmanhamin Soi 6 CornerRd, Chiang Mai, Thailand
Improve this listing
Ranked #194 of 1,359 Restaurants in Chiang Mai
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Hanoi
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“When you crave pancakes or a grilled cheese sandwich...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

This is the place! Great value for good old Western comfort food! And they'll add avocado to just about anything and still charge very low prices.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    27
    4
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good Place when you're craving for Western Breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

It's the place to go for breakfast food when you want REAL American Breakfast food! They have a great variety to pick from!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“the best for breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

I LOVE weekend breakfasts at Smoothie Blues. The dining area is small so we try and get there earlier during the busy season if we want to sit inside. It's a little tight with our enormous stroller, but never a problem. The menu is ridiculously extensive, and that suits us just fine. As we are only ever in town on weekends we are happy to relax and take our time. The food is excellent, and we find the service top notch, not noticeably slow at all.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Not so smoothie service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

This is a cafe in a great location but suffers from an over loaded kitchen. The menu is to big for the operation. They should concentrate on trimming down on what they offer so they can do what they do best which is smoothies and sandwiches. Very busy at lunch times and it seems to take just ages to get your order. The coffee is filtered I think not what I would call proper coffee anyway. Not bad all the same and worth a visit

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Good bagels, slightly pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

I've been here a couple times. It has good food, no doubt about it. But its prices are decidedly Western. Which is still a great deal, but decidedly not by Thai standards.

Pros:
+ the bagels here are excellent. Probably the best in Chiang Mai that I've had, and I live here and have eaten at dozens of Western style places.
+ Easy to find on Nimanhamein road
+ Atmosphere is pretty relaxing.
+ Non-backpacker location (if that appeals to you). The restaurant caters mainly to ex-pats, however.

Cons:
- Servings are so-so
- Strange breakfast sets mean you may have to order several things a la carte. I like to order pre-arranged sets: you get your coffee, juice, bread item, eggs, etc. all in one price. You don't really have that option here.
- Prices are on the high end for a Western breakfast in Chiang Mai. A number of places on the East moat area can provide better value. That being said, it is still very reasonably priced.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smoothie Blues also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Smoothie Blues? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smoothie Blues, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.