We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of U Chiang Mai

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added U Chiang Mai to your Saves list
U Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   70 Ratchadamnoen Road | Si Phum, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 353 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“wonderful experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I can't say enough about U Chiang Mai! The location was great, the pool is really nice, and the rooms all have balconies overlooking the pool courtyard. Some rooms even have private "plunge pool"-type areas in the courtyard.

You get a free "welcome drink" from the minibar when you arrive, and free breakfast served all day, anywhere. We had it in our room two days and there was so much wonderful, HOT, food. Really great. It seems that everything was thought of to make our stay great.

I highly recommend this hotel! Also very decently priced!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beachie37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,074 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I spent 3 nights at the U Chiang Mai hotel. We arrived late from the airport and were shown all the areas of the hotel, picked the soaps we wanted to use for our room and then shown to our room. They had upgraded our room as well on arrival which was great! Our room was wonderful with a nice balcony overlooking the pool. Everything was very clean and fresh fruit and water were provided daily free of charge. The Sunday night market is literally right outside the entrance and is very cool! The hotel staff are extremely nice and accommodating. We left Chiang Mai to go to Pai and they offered to hold our large bags for us until we return 2 days later even though we will be staying somewhere else in Chiang Mai (sadly the u was booked). They also have no check out time so we were able to use our room right up until we left the city which was great! Definitely a wonderful hotel in a great part of town, close to good retardants and major temples. We would highly recommend staying there if you can!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danasb788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I spent 3 nights at the U Chiang Mai. We arrived late but were still shown around the property upon arrival. They had also upgraded our room. Our room was fantastic! The breakfast was good and the staff were extremely accommodating!! The hotel is really close to major temples and the sunday night market is literally just outside the entrance! We left there to go to Pai and they offered to hold our large bags for us in their store room until we returned to Chiang Mai even though we would not be staying there again on our return (they were sadly booked). They also have no check out time so we were able to keep our room as long as we needed to. I would highly recommend staying in this hotel in Chiang Mai. It was a great experience!!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

After 3 weeks in Thailand at various locations,chiang mai was our last stop,we booked here purely based on trip advisor reviews and were not disappointed!

This place is lovely,rooms are clean and suitable,bed is super comfy and the staff are so very friendly.They offer breakfast whenever and wherever,it's a continental buffet and you can choose eggs/bacon to be cooked for you.Free wifi as we'll is great to researching the area.Also little touches like free fruit each day and bottled water is nice.

The reception staff were very helpful organising trips,booking taxis and answering our questions.We have stayed in some pretty fancy places but this takes the cake,it's a cute little hidden gem right in the city centre!
10 out of 10 from us!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lozandbrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Great hotel in Chiang Mai right in the center of the old city. We were able to walk everywhere we wanted in the area and the staff were very helpful. The rooms were very nice, upgraded, and clean. The staff were very helpful and the breakfast each day was delicious. Small pool area in the courtyard. Highly recommended for the location, cleanliness, balcony and breakfast.

Room Tip: Some rooms have private pools if you can get them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Clare, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

As part of our honeymoon my husband and I stayed in the U Chaing Mai. In comparison to the other hotels we had stayed in it was bottom of our list. That said however U Chaing Mai has a lot to offer - good central location in the heart of a bustling city, great 24hour breakfast policy. The design of the building means noise is not a problem. The food in the restaurant is tasty and offers good choice. However, there were a few things that put us off. The fact that there was a large gap between the floor and wall directly behind the bed was quite unnerving as we could see daylight and were quite anxious about mosquitoes and other creatures gaining entry at any stage but particularly by night. There were many geckos around the hotel - thankfully none entered the room but we did feel that mosquitoes gained entry to the room as a result of this gap. On arrival we expected a bottle of wine as was set out in the honeymoon package. Instead we were told we could chose something from the minibar which contained beer and soft drinks.No explanation was given. We found the air conditioning to be particularly noisy and it hindered sleep. The decor was not to our personal taste . It was very dark but it was clean. The IPod next to the bed is a lovely touch. The rooms are large and spacious. Fresh fruit was left in our room everyday - again a nice touch. All in all it is a nice hotel and the positives do outweigh the negatives. However the gap between floor and wall freaked us out. We couldn't relax!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Itthipon, General Manager at U Chiang Mai, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Mrs D

Greetings from U Chiang Mai.

May I begin by thanking you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor of your stay at U Chiang Mai. Your feedback is very important to us as it allows us to rectify any issues raised by our guests and maintain our high standards as part of the U chain of hotels and resorts.
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay but must offer my sincerest apologies over the issues you experienced.
I would like to thank you for bringing the gap behind your bed and the noisy air conditioning to my attention. My Engineering Manager is attending to the issues at this very moment and I would like to inform you that the gap is a cosmetic problem as opposed to a structural matter. It is regrettable that you did not mention it at the time as we would have gladly moved you to another room so as to ensure your honeymoon went undisturbed.
I deeply regret there was no wine set up in your room and must offer another heartfelt apology over this oversight. As a U hotel our ultimate aim is the complete satisfaction of our guests and I implore all our guests to mention such issues to either my staff or to me personally so we can handle the situation there and then as we regrettably have no record of you mentioning our error.
May I end by saying that we were delighted to have the honour of serving you on your honeymoon and may all of us at U Chiang Mai wish you and your husband a long and happy life together.

Best Regards,
Itthipon Meesawat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Stayed there in September, all I can say is: what a fantastic hotel!!
Excellent location in the old city, close to many bars, restaurants and stores.
Staff is great, very helpful and willing to support us no matter what we needed.
Room was perfect, large, modern, fully equipped and with private pool, wow!
Definitely recommended!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Henrique2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
2.1 mi away
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
#31 of 353 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 stars 900 reviews
1.3 mi away
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
1.2 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#6 of 353 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 stars 1,797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#19 of 353 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 stars 1,503 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#36 of 353 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 stars 1,407 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#25 of 353 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 stars 2,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to U Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about U Chiang Mai

Address: 70 Ratchadamnoen Road | Si Phum, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#10 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#11 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#13 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — U Chiang Mai 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uncomplicated. Inspiring. You. A low-rise hotel comprised of 41 rooms located in the heart of the city on Ratchadamnoen Road. The Residents’ Lounge to welcome all of our guests is located in the refreshed past residence of Chiang Mai’s governor with a modern Thai accented interior design in keeping with its heritage setting. Only 20 minutes drive from Chiang Mai International Airport and minutes walk to the city’s famous walking streets. Unique concept of service such as 24 hour use of room, breakfast whenever/wherever and U Choose Programme. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your U Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
u Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
u Hotel Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai u Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing